We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non existent customer care”

Hotel Mount Batten Pub
Ranked #299 of 727 Restaurants in Plymouth
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Non existent customer care”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Visited for a quick drink with family, (all of us are over 21 years old!)
Appalling service by bar staff, very rude and indifferent.

Helpful?
1 Thank justonemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    57
    28
    31
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Much better choices around”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The vast menu size tells you that the food can't possibly all be freshly prepared, even if it was once 'homemade' as claimed. The food is ok but nothing to write home about. The roast of the day was lamb. I think the lamb probably arrived at the pub, vacuum packed in slices with gravy included, just needing to be boiled in its bag. The potatoes were the ready made roast variety - like the ones a certain aunt makes! The burger and chips was just that - no frills. The burger was 1 minute away from being cremated and the chips were previously frozen. Some were golden and others were dark brown (double fried to reheat?). The décor is very 80s and dated. The ladies loo could do with a deep clean and new flooring to at least make the 80s tiles look their best. Overall, slightly pricey for the quality and such a shame, as the setting has potential - views of the water and boats.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank loveholidaysandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food satisfactory - staff poor”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Food was ok however on arrival we had 2 prams and 4 adults. Despite having over 10 tables free in the Carvery room they could not accommodate. When finding a table again 6 staff standing behind the bar didn't even clear the table. After 10 minutes I cleared the table and took the previous customer glasses to the bar.

Food was fine, shame about the lack of helpfulness from the staff.

I would visit again, let's hope the staff are more on the ball next time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Steveocole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

What a place, you can sit down overlooking one of the best views of Plymouth Sound and eat one of the best Roast Dinners you will ever taste. A choice of meats or more than one if you want, the vegetables are lovely and what a choice. Top with rich gravy, stuffing, yorkshire pudding, apple sauce and much more. Why not have a glass of wine, a beer or something non alcholic aswell. You must try this good, wholesome food, I recommend it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fills a need”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Food is excellent and plenty of it. Certainly not inedible as another reviewer mentions. If anything a little too much, so I would rather have less and pay a bit less. Mine was a lunchtime experience and, yes, the staff were a little laid back, but it did not affect the service. Given my age group, and the type of clientele present on a weekday lunchtime, I feel the music was chosen for the benefit if the young staff, rather than the customers. I found it intrusive, loud and unintelligible! I ate there for convenience, as it is near where I live, I will go again, but for convenience rather than enthusiasm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Mount Batten Pub also viewed

 

Been to Hotel Mount Batten Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing