We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place loved by all”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Royal William

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Amanda M
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place loved by all”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

As a family with two teenagers we struggled to find a place to keep everyone happy but this apartment definitely ticked all the boxes! From the point of provisionally booking to the minute we left We could not fault anything.
The adults were impressed by the views and facilities and the ' children' were singing the praises of the televisions and wifi! We had a lovely family time together . We will definitely be returning. Thank you for the American apartment feel in the a wonderful Devonshire site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the place inside the part net nod it's location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quinny220
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need in one place”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The flat was well appointed and had a lovely view out over the harbour. There are plenty of places to eat all within walking distance. The city centre is also only a short bus trip or ferry ride. Can't really recomend anything particular to do as I was quite unwell while on holiday. i must say that this wasn't due to the flat I picked up a virus from somewhere. I can say that derriford hospital was quite pleasant and the staff were very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The easy access to many restaurants
Liked least: My illness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot in Plymouth”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed here in September with my son and daughter. It was perfect in every way. We hatd a late arrival and it was no problem. The apartment was very clean and had everything we could possibly need. There are plenty of places to eat and relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth_bake...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment but definitely NOT children friendly”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this apartment based on a search using the filter - children friendly. Unfortunately this was absolutely NOT the case. We travelled with a baby and toddler. The location was fantastic, views stunning, and as we previously lived in Plymouth we were really looking forward to bringing the family there for the first time.

My main issues with the 'child friendly' label are as follows 1) toaster and microwave at toddler height 2) large ornate mirror (seen in photos) not secured to the wall 3) wall to ceiling windows (lovely views) with blinds and pull cords - strangle hazard to children 4) several individual fairly high tiled steps which a toddler will always attempt and often fall down 5) frosted walls in bedroom meaning unable to create dark environment for children to sleep whilst allowing any lights to be on in the kitchen during the evening 6) multiple shelves/tables/decorations at toddler height liable to damage to either property or to toddler 7) highchair provided was filthy. All of the above led to us being unable to take our eyes off of said toddler for even a second or allow her to play leading to a stressful break and us having to come home a day early missing the Christening we went to Plymouth to attend.

That being said - the views are stunning, the apartment was clean and chic, the location is ideal - we would book again if travelling as a couple (hence 4/5) but I strongly feel the label children friendly should be removed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not child friendly
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Hi. Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your comments.

We must stress though that none of our apartments are child proofed. There is no option on Trip Advisor / Holiday Lettings on our side that we can label an apartment as child proofed or not.

Our gallery of photos is a good representation of the apartment and we highly recommend for guests to view the photos.

Our T&Cs are not to accept children under 5 years old without the prior approval of Luxury Sea Views.
We generally do not accept children from baby to 5. Babies we do accept on prior approval.
Cots and High chairs are supplied free of charge if agreed prior.

Children and safety are the sole responsibility of the parents.
As we state none of our apartments are child proofed and we can accept no liability for children, safety and are the responsibility of the parents.
As per our T&Cs. We do not supply cot bedding or baby untensiles.
And apartments not child proofed.

Thank you for your feedback

Luxury Sea Views
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L
Greater Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Royal William is a great place to stay, with plenty of action happening around you in Royal William Yard. The apartment is very comfortable and well appointed, with lovely views.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridieand...
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We enjoyed our stay in this very comfortable apartment, it had everything we needed for our holiday. It was very clean and it was easy to make contact when we arrived. The layout of the apartment meant that where was no window in the bedrooms which is the only quibble I would have. The decor is very modern, not to everyones taste but no problem for a short break.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“University Drop Off”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I was dropping my daughter off for her first year at Plymouth Uni and needed a base. What a perfect place to stay. Very well appointed, clean and extremely comfortable. This is definitely a perfect spot with plenty of restaurants and wine bars right on the doorstep and a very good bus service near to hand too.

I will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing