We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Sound Bites

Sound Bites
Ranked #222 of 727 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Small, friendly waterside cafe offering Full English cooked breakfasts, lunches, sandwiches, cakes, and snacks, some Vegetarian and Gluten free options are available. We have outside seating with wonderful views across the Sound and 2 hours free parking is available. Children and dogs are very welcome.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Just had a bacon sandwich and coffee for less than four quid and in a nice location. Ideal for a working breakfast. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    11
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Saw the food prep and it all looked mouthwatering. Very cheerful staff. Would recommend this little cafe

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Knights_tale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love this place. Good food, high standard of hygiene, and panoramic views of the Sound.”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Good service and plenty of choices on the menu. Food fresh and prepared to order. Love it. If you eat outside, there are views to die for all around. What a wonderful setting to eat a meal. Staff are friendly and courteous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnglor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
379 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Reveals the weaknesses of Tripadvisor”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Sound Bites is currently the 36th best place to eat in Plymouth according to Tripadvisor reviewers as 22 out of 29 reviews gave it 5 stars. About 6 months ago it was ranked about 7th best!

...and it's a caf! (with no accented e.)

This illustrates the flaw in Tripadvisor where reviewers try to rank a caf and a fine dining establishment (such as Tanners) on exactly the same scale. They are as different as chalk and cheese.

I will review it as a cafe (with an accented e), and on this scale I can give it no more than 2 stars.

The cooking is very very basic home cooking without any style or panache whatsoever. Portion sizes are pretty large if that is what you are after and you value quantity over quality. It does all the sorts of food you would expect a regular UK caf to serve. There will be nothing that takes you by pleasant surprise. But it is not cheap.

The coffee is poor and makes Costa look like the last word in coffee quality.

But the place does a job and the staff seem friendly and helpful. What I don't like is that as it is so small it always seems overly crowded and is not a place to relax in. You order, eat and leave. If you want caf quality food I'd rater go to the East End Caf just outside the marina.

I have to say that the 22 people that have given this place 5 stars, that our standards of what we consider to be good food, even for a cafe (let alone restaurant) are poles apart. For 5 starts I would expect food with style, imagination and excellent cooking. I would also expect a really nice environment. Sound bites offers none of these things, sadly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoundBitesPlymouth, Staff at Sound Bites, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear TravelNutBristol,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Sound Bites. I agree, clearly the Trip Advisor ranking system is flawed, there is no way we can, and need to, compare with restaurants like Tanners. What we can do however is clearly display our average prices and our 'cuisine' so people can easily search for the type of establishment they would like to visit. And this is all we can do. It is lovely to receive nice reviews and unfortunately there isn't much we can do about being full and crowded, I think most people will agree this is a good sign.

I think that most people who search Trip Advisor for a cafe are intelligent enough to realise the food on offer is not going to be on the same level as that of an expensive restaurant and I think it's a pity you felt like pointing that out. I recommend in the future you use the price or cuisine guide in the search bar to locate a restaurant more specific to your requirements and review places against each other like for like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice spot for dinner and music”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The Sound Bites Grill was conveniently located near our hotel (Best Western Plus) and away from the tourist-trap of downtown Sedona. Although we had a long wait to be seated (with a reservation), the food was good, the live band was very entertaining and our server was efficient and pleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ncman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sound Bites also viewed

 

Been to Sound Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing