We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect night's stay for 7 weary travelers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosaland Hotel

Rosaland Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosaland Hotel
Ranked #68 of 83 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“Perfect night's stay for 7 weary travelers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Terrific B&B! Less expensive than the lodgings right at the water in the Barbican area, but we loved the 15-min walk down there after a long plane right and long drive. Janet (sub for Shaws, who were on holiday themselves) was fantastic - talkative in a good way, eager to please, eager to provide information for the 7 of us (2 families - brother + wife, sister + husband + 3 older teens). Would have even walked us the mile to the cousin's house just to make sure we got there okay! Breakfast was delicious and filling. Rooms were just great! Thank you, Rosaland & Janet, for making our first night in the UK so terrific!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

This hotel was a bargain at £30 for a single room. The bed was comfortable, the towels were nice and I was surprised to have my own shower (room 8) and not have to share. Breakfast was good too. The landlady is quiet and won't fuss over you, but she is certainly not rude and made an effort to talk to me about my stay. I would visit again.

Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytripperLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

We stayed there for a long weekend and had a great time,the people there were really friendly and helpfull and gave us loads of tips of things to do around the area. The place is very clean and the rooms are good and you get a great breakfast. Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

The hotel is very close to the station and university. The reason I picked this particular place was because I read it had a licensed bar and I thought that possibly it might be a relaxing place to have beer and a chat. Unlikely. Nobody ever at serving from behind the bar. Is pretty much closed up all the time. The rooms are clean and tidy and comfortable enough, but there is no real reason to choose this place over all the other small guest houses in the area. The proprietress is grumpy all the time, unfriendly, and makes you feel like you are a great inconvenience to her by staying at the hotel. I felt like she was doing me an extraordinary favour by letting me stay there. Basically not worth the visit. Try some place else unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slyhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

We stayed in this hotel and had good service. The breakfast was nice and the dining room very comfy. The room was cosy; what you'd expect in a B&B in a terrace. Easy walking distance to the University and shops, very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meredith,nh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

The location was, as advertised, close to the train station and the university but that was all that was good about this place. The proprietress is extremely unfriendly. After alerting her to our arrival time, we stood outside on the stoop 15 minutes waiting to be let in. The noise produced by the cleaning lady's music could have woken the neighbors. The shower didn't drain; the bathroom fan didn't work; there were three channels on the TV. There are so many alternatives in Plymouth, don't choose this one!

  • Liked — proximity to rail & university
  • Disliked — proprietress
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank katemiller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2008

We stay for a week and loved it. We were made to feel really welcome and the room was very nice. Will certainly go back.

  • Liked — Welcome and room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EmzoBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gallery Guesthouse
Gallery Guesthouse
#5 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#6 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosaland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosaland Hotel

Property: Rosaland Hotel
Address: 32 Houndiscombe Road, Plymouth PL4 6HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosaland Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Rosaland Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing