We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Plymouth
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Hotel is well situated for access to Plymouth Hoe, The Barbican and shopping area. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Although there is no on-site parking there is a car park opposite only charging £6.00 for 24 hours.There is no restaurant but there are several within a few minutes walk.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location is very good , the parking is £6 per day ( on a privately run car park across from the hotel ), very friendly staff , the room was clean and very basic, the room was very hot even with the fan on and the window open, the window did not have any privacy curtains so every time we got changed we had to draw the curtains making it hotter and darker we had to shut the window at one point because people in the surrounding rooms were very noisy, the women above us started to sing not all of the tune but just one bit over and over again, we were expecting some noise as it's in the city centre but that noise was expectable even the seagulls screeching , we didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that, the bed was hard and not as comfortable as advertised, make sure you carry your room card with you as it's used to operate the lift

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hettylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this hotel for one night as we were sailing to France early the next morning.

The book-in process was fine and location ideal, however that's where the positives end.

The heat in the room hit us as we opened the door. Naively, I suppose, we felt that it was due to it being a scorcher of a day.

We left our bags in the room and went straight out to one of the nearby places for food.

When we returned, the room was even hotter and there was no air conditioning whatsoever.

Fear not though, thoughtful staff at left one solitary and pathetic fan, which made absolutely no difference.

I went down to reception but there was nobody at the desk.

We have two young children and luckily they managed to get to sleep initially but woke up regularly through the night, soaked with sweat.

The wife and I had very little sleep due to heat- the window quite rightly only opens slightly but that was the only bit of respite we had- when we sat by the window at 3am.

I ventured down to reception again but again, nobody was there.

I would say this was the worst night's sleep I've ever had- if I'd actually had any sleep.

We chose to stay overnight to avoid an extremely early start for the children- we had to be at the docks for 715am and live three and a half hours away. However, in hindsight, the kids would have had a better sleep in the back of the car and I would have at least have had a couple of hours sleep before driving down.

I was going to complain at check out but, believe it or not, there was nobody at reception.

Terrible start to a holiday and will certainly never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Locky395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Sometimes I love the personal touch and other times I prefer the anonimity of the larger hotel.
I had a business trip which involved an early morning and the ease of breakfast and checking out really worked for me, on this occasion.
This TL is centrally located, you honestly couldn't pick a better area. It was a good price. The room was clean and quiet. Hospitality tray, clean sheets and good towels.
I would definitely stay here again when in Plymouth.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RumblesBird04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Travelodge on this experience have definitely upped their game. Apart from price one of the main differences between Tarvelodge and Premier Inns were that PIs are always uber clean.. pretty much always.. its obviously a mission statement for PIs..

Travelodges have been hit and miss.. but on this experience they have obviously got a new policy of making sure rooms a scrupioulsy clean.. I might be wrong, but it seems as no coincidence that they have a 'new look' which apart from new beds includes spotlessly clean rooms...

This was a family room for 2 adults and two kids.. beds were made up ready.. room was clean.. extra coffee making ready.. perfect..
One gripe, is that the wifi which i had paid for was pretty useless.. hit and miss and slow.. but hey ho.. Premier Inns are the same... no hotel has got this essential element of modern life quite right yet..

Central.. a noisey roundabout on a Monday night.. but we didnt mind..No carpark, but the Theatre Car park is manned and secure, so use that.. we arrived at about 10pm.. left at 8.30am.. parking cost 3.60 or so.. so ok

Hope other 'new look' Travelodges are this good.

Room Tip: Theatre Car Park is best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank symbolism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice Clean rooms stayed there for 5 nights doing a family History- clean towels and Bedding every day. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff, who helped and went out of their way to find out things if they couldnt answer our questions..walking distance to the shops barbican- the Hoe... we had a third floor room over the reception area, which was recommended by other reviewer's bedrooms over the other side would be over the varsity bar which gets very rowdy at the weeknds.. Rooms have a fan but can get very hot in summer. we had really hot weather ) not complaining though . the fan made it better, even though the rooms and landings are still very warm. Has Free Wifi for 30mins per day

Room Tip: Over reception not over the Varsity bar and 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights midweek. Close to the theatre and the town. Travelled to Plymouth by train which is a 15-20 minute walk. On checking in - our room smelt of cigarette. The window was open so thought that it was drifting in from below. This was not the case, so requested another room and was duly given a different room without a fuss. As we were stopping midweek we didn't see any trouble but the surrounding area does give the impression that Friday and Saturday nights could be a bit rough with drinking etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Plymouth

Address: Derrys Cross, Plymouth PL1 2SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £35 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Travel Lodge Plymouth
Plymouth Travelodge
Plymouth Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing