We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting and facilities with potential.”
Review of Elfordleigh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elfordleigh Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great setting and facilities with potential.”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed one night over Christmas in a superior room. The leisure facilities (which we understand have been updated in the last couple of years) were very good. The golf course is challenging and well maintained. The place is in a wonderful and quiet setting. Food was very good and the staff very helpful and attentive. The superior room we had was very big and beautiful as was the bathroom. The room was in part of the original building and overlooked part of the golf course. We did not think it was worth paying the extra for the superior room - particularly for one night. The carpet was stained and in need of replacement and the furnishings in the room and the decor needed updating but the room was generally clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was very good but the towels were in need of replacement.

Having said all that we would probably use the hotel again and would not be put off recommending it to others. If, in due course, the owners can update the rest of the hotel and rooms to the same standard as the leisure facilities then it will be a must for more visits.

Room Tip: Standard rooms in the extension are better value particularly for short stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkAlan_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    130
    86
    50
    27
See reviews for
93
138
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night in September as we were passing through

Good points
Access to the Pool, Sauna, Gym were included in our overnight stay and the facilities are very well maintained.
The grounds are beautiful and the golf course looked very inviting if I had my clubs
Good English breakfast no queing in the morning.

The bad
The room was in dire need of renovation, the mattress was so soft it was more like a hammock.
The wardrobe was broken, the wall paper pealing, bathroom was mouldy.
When we stayed there was a wedding on, when it got to 1am had to complain as the disco was so loud we couldn’t sleep with earplugs.

We received a letter some months after from the Hotel apologising for the state of the room and the noise. I think after some much needed decoration this will be a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask if the hotel has been recently renovated before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed for one night in October 2011. Chose the hotel as I was with my 8 year old son and wanted a pool to entertain him.
Firstly, the hotel is in a lovely position surrounded by countryside and a golf course. Has it's own fitness centre combined with a pleasant indoor pool. Pool table and golf simulator in the bar area and plenty of large screen televisions.
On arrival we were allocated the 'Troon' room by the friendly and helpful receptionist (all the rooms appear to be named after golf courses). Very spacious with a super kingsize bed and a single but still with acres of room to spare. Large tiled bathroom with bath and seperate shower cubicle and no complaints about the cleanliness. TV a little on the small size for such a large room but nice view over the golf course.
Hotel looked as though parts had been re-decorated of late but some of the decor and furniture is looking a little tired.
Didn't realise that dinner as well as breakfast had been included in the price (£95). Choice of dining in either the restaurant or the bar area but whilst this was a bonus, the food was average at best. Cooked breakfast a little on the mean side with only one rasher of bacon and one sausage. Also told off by the waitress for being five minutes late! (Breakfast finishes at 9-30am).
Overall, can't help thinking that with a little expenditure and better food, this place could be quite special.
However, all things considered when you take into account that dinner, bed and breakfast is provided in the price, it's good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickhilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleighhotel, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your post. Im glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here at the Elfordleigh. I would like to inform you that since your visit we have addressed certain food quality issues and have made significant changes, one of which is a change of meat supplier. Now the majority of our meat is reared within 35 miles of us. Redecoration continues to improve our bedrooms and public areas. We hope we can welcome you back to the Elfordleigh in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Our party of 18 Ladies enjoyed a Golf Jolly in early October.
A very interesting, undulating, testing course, particularly as there had been heavy rain before our visit, but the views made it worth the effort !!
All agreed the location close to Plymouth and Dartmoor was good and with included use of all the Leisure facilities was excellent value.
Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, but net curtains in the ground floor rooms would be nice. Food good - range and Dinner choice pre-selection meant we were all served promptly - not easy with a large group.
Staff and greenstaff were welcoming, friendly and particularly attentive when we had a couple of minor mishaps - their concern was very much appreciated.
Admin staff were very helpful with the group booking arrangements.
Happy Golf Organiser

Room Tip: We were quite happy with rooms allocated on 2 floors - liked the Golfing naming touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleighhotel, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your post. We are delighted that your party enjoyed their stay and look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed for several nights at the hotel which is in a great location, rural but close to Plymouth, ideal for exploring dartmoor and parts of devon and cornwall. We made much use of the lovely pool, sauna, steam room, and two jacuzzis, free to hotel guests. There is plenty of choice for breakfast, hot and cold, although service some days took a little longer due to staff shortage. Room had nice tv and was good size. Could have been vacuumed again. Communal areas looked good. Pleasant staff smiled and dealt quickly with all requests and any concerns. Especially happy at the value for money due to less than half price offer prices!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whichplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleighhotel, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your post. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please do not hesitate to give us a call to receive our latest offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Elfordleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed one night and that was enough, we were visitig family and friends what a disaster, great location though, this could be a great hotel if they tried

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicelady96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleighhotel, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Feedback from our customers is vital to us at the Elfordleigh. We are always looking for opportunities to improve on the standard of service we offer, and endeavour to meet all our guests expectations. If you could forward further details with regards to your stay, i would really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed one night in October, location and rooms ok, but bath towels were very small and no shampoo available. Evening meal was ok for the price, but my breakfast was very poor, bacon and sausage were re heated and not very well. Only appeared to be one girl waiting at breakfast, she was trying very hard but over stressed. As we were being treated by friends, I didn't feel it was appropriate to comment at the time. But unless pushed, will give it a miss in the future. I grade it as poor for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piethatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
5.2 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfordleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Property: Elfordleigh Hotel
Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing