We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“60th Birthday Spa Day - not geared up for such an event.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elfordleigh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elfordleigh Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“60th Birthday Spa Day - not geared up for such an event.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Changing area was down some stairs and along a corridor away from pool/spa and treatment rooms. Forcing 4 of us to walk around semi naked with gowns.

Would not go again.

Very good care taken of us for lunch, again the restaurant was a long walk from spa and treatments. We needed to get dressed and undressed again.

It was a nota seamless and comfortable experience. Sadly asIi'm Newcastle based wasn't able to tour the facility first.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melanie_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We value all comments as we look for continuous improvement.

We were sorry to hear that your Spa Day was not up to your expectations. With regard to the changing rooms, there are various rooms available within various proximity to the treatment rooms.

It was good to hear you had an enjoyable lunch. The Oasis Leisure and Spa is situated in a separate building from the main hotel joined by a corridor requiring a short walk to the restaurant. There are three restaurant areas available providing users of the spa an optional preference where to have their meal.

We endevour to ensure all customers leave the Elfordleigh hotel, Oasis Leisure and Golf Course happy with the facilities,service and would hope to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    125
    84
    50
    27
See reviews for
91
136
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I have never felt compelled to write a review before but I feel I have too on this occasion. I have stayed at this hotel for years on business and travel a good distance out of my way to do so. The question is why? Because it has an O.K. gym and a good golf course that you are not stopped from using on an evening for free.

The rooms are adequate in standard; they are large but tired and need a refit, apart from the showers that are greatest in the whole world. The price that you pay for your room is good value but the cost and quality of the food and drink is simply appalling and the owners are clearly being greedy. Tonight I expressed my opinion that the food was simply terrible and the waitress just laughed and walked off, she made no attempt to resolve my complaints which infuriated me even more.

In conclusion stay for a great value room with good facitlies, especially when you can walk on the golf course for free when the golf shop is closed, but eat elsewhere as the food and service is simply the worst value for money you will ever receive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
We have read your review with obvious concerns as you have been a regular customer at the Elfordleigh.

The hotel is currently undergoing a gradual refurbishment and it appears your recent room has had a new bathroom and scheduled for further updating.

Our aim is to offer value for money and good customer service at the Elfordleigh and our food and beverage manager is currently reviewing menus and pricing.

The handling of your concerns by the member of waiting staff is simply not acceptable and all staff are receiving ongoing training in customer service to ensure these situations are handled in the correct manner. A duty manager is always available to address such issues should they arise.

Please accept our sincere aplogies and we would like to offer a bottle of wine from management as a gesture to hopefully see you return as a valued guest of the Elfordleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel which is part of a popular golf course on the edge of Dartmoor. Our room was large, the bed comfy and the view of the greens delightful. The pool is of a reasonable size and staff friendly. The gymn is big. It is a short distance from the A38 although the lane to it is quite narrow in part.
The only downside is that it could do with a bit of TLC in the immediate vicinity of the hotel - the terrace outside the pool area needs weeding and the broken chairs and sunloungers removed but this could have been due to lack of use over the appalling summer we have had. There was evidence of damp plaster in the bedroom by the window.
On one occasion while we were there, there was only one member of staff in the bar and she was struggling to cope with the bar and take food orders and then take food to tables so there was a long wait to be served but this is a minor point and it did not mar the stay. The only other irritation was that whilst wi fi was free, it was only available in the immediate vicinity of the reception area and even then rather spasmodic so this was a bit tricky as my husband had urgent work to do.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

just stayed for a long golfing weekend.great facilities,food very good and staff very helpfull.rooms very spacious.golf course a bit hilly but enjoyable.would return.as per fles ridden cat he is not but is a lovely silver tabby who is very friendly.hotel is a bit difficult to find via sat nav.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great pool,spa and receptionist,but downhill for the rest of the stay.Tired,shabby room with two single beds pushed together and the bedding did not fit.Extractor fan in en suite bathroom only reachable by climbing on bath,stained carpets and walls,broken furniture etc etc but all minor complaints were overshadowed when we went to dinner in their fine dining restaurant to be joined by a very flea ridden cat!When we complained to waiter about cat ,(and flea allergy,) and lack of hygiene,he stroked it said it had been there 10 years and left it beside us!We retired to bed at this point,avoiding the filthy headboard,and left early next day after cancelling breakfast.This was an anniversary visit as we had celebrated our honeymoon here,but we were devastated to experience its decline from the wonderful hotel it used to be.

Room Tip: be involved in wedding or golf party,management may then care
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed on a business trip. It was sunny and all of the guests appeared to be enjoying their golf. I felt very nostalgic for what the building must once have been. I have no complaints and would like to say how all of the staff without exception looked after me, even helping me to my car with my case.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

yes the hotel is looking tired in places but this didn't deflect fro the excellent service from the staff and the lovely food, really enjoyed our stay,only wish was that breakfast was included in the price!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.4 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#11 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfordleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Property: Elfordleigh Hotel
Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing