We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elfordleigh Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Plymouth(Plymouth)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Plymouth Derriford Hotel(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
155
152
94
54
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
152
94
54
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiesoasis spasteam roomswimming poolthree course mealwedding guestsan updatehotel guestsbar menugreat facilitieslarge bathroomone night stayfamily roomfull englishexcellent value for moneygymbrasserie
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We recently went to the Elfordleigh for a family and friends lunch, there were 42 of us altogether.
It was a very cold day, and the hotel had very little heating and we spent a lot of the time with our coats on, we had chosen the traditional roast beef, however when we tried to eat it we were shocked to find it was almost raw, when we complained we were offered alternative meals, but by this time we were put off, and if we had wanted pork or turkey we would of ordered it to begin with. The worst part was, when we complained to the management, no one responded to us, despite several e mails and phone calls, when I finally spoke to the general manager, she was very un-professional, never apologised, I asked for the contact details of the owner, but was told he lived in Hungary and did not understand English ! Will not be returning any time soon.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Firstly can we apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.
We are sorry to hear the room was cold for you during a period of very cold weather. The function rooms do have central heating and double glazing and our Functions Manager will ensure the room is at the right tempature prior and during the event.
Head Chef cooks the roast beef medium to satisfy the requirements of most customers. If it is a little rare then a member of the waiting staff can simply replace it if requested.
We have hosted many Chritmas events this year with lots of satisfied customers and numerous letters of praise regarding the quality of food and service. We are of course saddened to hear your comments.
As you can imagine this is a very busy time of the year for us and difficult to reply to every email and telephone call immediately.
We would of course like to see you again at the Elfordleigh and offer a bottle of wine from the management as a token of goodwill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We booked a long weekend at the Elfordleigh to coincide with a relation's Golden Wedding Celebration.
The room (Sunningdale) was was very large, comfortable and clean but scheduled for refurbishment. It had a fabulous view across the golf course and countryside. The bathroom had a large bath and separate shower.
We dined in the restaurant on one evening with a couple of other family members, all staying there at the same time, and found the table d'hote menu reasonably priced and food good.
The Golden Wedding Celebration meal was very good and the event went well.
Throughout the weekend we were well attended by all staff from the time we arrived to the time we left. They were all helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

When we booked we were promised a room with a view and got a room with a view of beer barrels, but they did change us to a better room, room 22 carpet is threadbare, and furniture is dated, good shower/bath, breakfast was £8.95 extra, but needs to be fresh fruit not tinned at that price, plus don't serve blue cheese for breakfast it was left over from wedding the day before. breakfast room was a bit tired and needs updating

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin_gBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I have stayed here a few times. Our last visit was earlier this year. The staff were great and the food we had was very good. The management left little to be desired and in fact the owner visited and I told him that I thought 'the management' (about 6 in total), from what I observed, didn't make eye contact, smile or indeed speak to any of the guests whilst we were there. The senior manager at that time did speak to me after the owner had spoken to him and I am sorry to read that things do not seen to have improved. We loved the golf and the golf Professional is great. We want to stay again in the Spring and I will keep my eye on tripadvisor. I certainly do not think one should have to pay 'extra' for English Breakfast - that is another thing that I will be monitoring.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret50421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

We read your review with concern as you are a regular customer at the Elfordleigh. A member of the management team will always be available to discuss any issues should they arise and we look forward to your return to the hotel next year. With regard to our current room charges there is the room only option. A full English or Continental breakfast and evening meal can then be purchased and added to the account. This also allows us to offer a very competitive room only rate if breakfast is not required. All inclusive golfing breaks are on offer so if you do have any queries please do not hesitate to ask our reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a golf society weekend with a group of 20,hotel rooms are quite large and very clean,nice veiws out over the golf course.Staff are friendly enough,but at times it seemed as if there was only one person working there.The golf course itself is very nice,well looked after with a different challenge on almost every hole and stunning veiws.Food was good allthough a little bit pricey,as were the drinks in the bar,£8 75 for a double jd & coke and £3 90 a pint.All in all tho enjoyed our time there and would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your golf society weekend at the Elfordleigh.
The food and drinks prices are adjusted according to the time of year. Currently a pint of lager is £3.50 a pint, real ales £3.10 a pint and a double Jack Daniels and Coke £6.75.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews