We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Elfordleigh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elfordleigh Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very friendly staff throughout the whole hotel.We had a lovely big family room and the bathroom was nice and roomy for the 4 of us. Lovely setting. Great pool facilities. Really lovely cooked breakfast. Managed to get a good deal. Hotel is a little tried and needs a freshen up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with 2 kids. Got good 'buy2,get 3rd free night' deal which was good value in the round. On the down side the hotel needs a massive injection of cash as is very dated. It's OK I guess and would suit some but is very tired/outdated. Our room stink! Very damp (?) smell most of the time not matter what we tried to do to get rid of smell. Think it may have been hoovers they use as was always bad when we returned from a day back to room. On the positive side the grounds of the hotel (golf course) are stunning and go on for acres so the room had a great view. Worth going for the grounds!! Breakfast was good and waiting staff were very nice indeed (especially the bloke waiter who couldn't be nicer!). Desk staff were very kind to the kinds and couldn't have done more for our kids. Gym was OK and pool was great. Altogether a good stay and I know it's easy to say on Tripadvisor that the hotel needs a massive injection of cash (if you are not paying for it!!) but it really does very very soon....

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Hotel was very quiet so despite booking via Laterooms we were allocated a beautiful room overlooking the golf course with a four-poster bed and whirlpool bath.Cream Tea in the bar was excellent and staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.Evening meal was good but restaurant was a bit dated and lacking in atmosphere..Breakfast was freshly cooked-not buffet style.Very impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for one night and got an excellent deal through Booking.com.
Room was a little dated, but clean and airy with lovely high ceilings. Only drawback was that the tv was too small and you needed binoculars to see it from the bed.
Lovely views across the golf course.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cenhinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings (a golf course) on the edge of Dartmoor. The facilities were very good - we enjoyed the sauna, steam room and pool. The rooms were large but a bit tired. I didn't find the bed very comfortable and we were overlooking the forecourt and were disturbed by golfers from about 7am. For the price we paid, it was very good and we would stay again but would ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxyNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We were massively mis-sold a 'spa' pamper afternoon, with impressive facilities and a free drink. This was one of the most disappointing experiences of my life. At £16 it was fairly average at face value for use of a pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room, but when we got there, the hideously outdated a low grade facilities made our skin crawl. Having to traipse through reception in your dressing gown, wearing one size fits all flip flops was degrading and especially not great when you're feet are size 12. The facilities we were offered did exist, but they were very basic. The staff all hid down at reception rather than offering any kind of service to customers once you've gone into the 'spa' area. The free drink, was not only a choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate or fruit juice, but you had to get it yourself, from a machine, in a paper cup, from the reception. This is disgraceful. There really are no redeeming features of this visit and it left my entire group feeling disappointed and deflated. The exact opposite of what we came to Elfordleigh to achieve. Avoid avoid avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

We are sorry to have read your comments regarding your Spa Day.
Since your visit the Oasis Leisure has been refurbished including improvements to the swimming pool. Our Head Beautician has recently spent a lot of time in training the staff to ensure the level of service is to the expected level to any visitors to the facility on a Spa Day that will be on going.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I booked a premier room for 1 night to attend a family party. We planned to arrive in the afternoon to enjoy the leisure facilities before the party. We checked in and were given our keys to Room 2. What a huge disappointment that was. Nothing like the photos n the website. Very tired decor, dirty linen, lumpy duvet, cigarette burns in bathroom, mould on outside of shower. We both immediatley presumed we were in the standard room. We went back to reception to enquire if there had been a mistake, but alas no. All they could then offer us was a twin room. We decided to cut our losses and not bother staying there. We returned in the evening for the party, and on the whole our food was acceptable, but alot of people had ordered rib eye steak, and were given something different. The seats and carpets on the function room were stained and in desparate need of upgrading. Very disappointing visit suggest you call The Hotel Inspector for some well needed help.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank suzieq03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
159 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,581 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
211 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfordleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £63 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing