We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but food was very disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Elfordleigh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elfordleigh Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Clent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but food was very disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lovely hotel in beautiful setting - surrounded by the golf course and a on-site leisure club with gym and swimming pool.
Unfortunately the stay was let down by the quality of the food provided. First night the raspberries were still frozen and the carrots were still very hard, second night the vegetables were grossly over cooked. The third night the lamb was inedible due to the amount of grizzle and fat. The last night's food was very good though! I settled for the burger and chips! The staff did try to help as much as they could but after a hard days work, you need is good food.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the Windsor Room - can be a bit noisy if there is a function on though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are sorry to hear your comments about the food at the hotel. Head Chef is aware of the problem and will ensure this does not happen again in the future.
There have been a lot of positive comments about the quality and value for money regarding the food on offer at the Elfordleigh and as we have a very talented and experiened brigade of chefs were quite surprised to hear your comments. We hope you will return to the Elfordleigh and find the quality more than meets your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    129
    86
    50
    28
See reviews for
92
138
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago and was very enjoyable. Spa was excellent (great facial)- read all the negative reviews and they seem ridiculous when you think how good value the place was. Do these people have a life? The staff were great and the food was excellent, both evening and breakfast. Shame more people haven't discovered it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightingPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We got a great deal on this hotel. It is set in a beautiful location and the grounds include a lovely golf course. The room was huge ( a family room ) We made use of the pool and spa facilities and the breakfast in the morning was lovely. The staff were very attentive. I would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TABITHABROON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for one night, played two rounds of golf and also used the swimming pool. Our bedroom was very spacious, clean and comfy overlooking the golf course. We had a nice evening meal in the restaurant and we found the staff to be helpful. The golf course was well maintained with beautiful views and greens to test your putting skills. If I had to pick fault, a bit of TLC to the outside patio area and tables wouldn't go amiss. All in all lovely place to stay, good value for money and will visit again.

Room Tip: Room 30 was good for us, no noise disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very friendly staff throughout the whole hotel.We had a lovely big family room and the bathroom was nice and roomy for the 4 of us. Lovely setting. Great pool facilities. Really lovely cooked breakfast. Managed to get a good deal. Hotel is a little tried and needs a freshen up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with 2 kids. Got good 'buy2,get 3rd free night' deal which was good value in the round. On the down side the hotel needs a massive injection of cash as is very dated. It's OK I guess and would suit some but is very tired/outdated. Our room stink! Very damp (?) smell most of the time not matter what we tried to do to get rid of smell. Think it may have been hoovers they use as was always bad when we returned from a day back to room. On the positive side the grounds of the hotel (golf course) are stunning and go on for acres so the room had a great view. Worth going for the grounds!! Breakfast was good and waiting staff were very nice indeed (especially the bloke waiter who couldn't be nicer!). Desk staff were very kind to the kinds and couldn't have done more for our kids. Gym was OK and pool was great. Altogether a good stay and I know it's easy to say on Tripadvisor that the hotel needs a massive injection of cash (if you are not paying for it!!) but it really does very very soon....

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Hotel was very quiet so despite booking via Laterooms we were allocated a beautiful room overlooking the golf course with a four-poster bed and whirlpool bath.Cream Tea in the bar was excellent and staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.Evening meal was good but restaurant was a bit dated and lacking in atmosphere..Breakfast was freshly cooked-not buffet style.Very impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
5.2 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfordleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Property: Elfordleigh Hotel
Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing