We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polite take-away, efficient but the routine canon of Indian food.”
Review of Papa Raj

Papa Raj
Ranked #144 of 727 Restaurants in Plymouth
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Cornwall
Level Contributor
385 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,323 helpful votes
“Polite take-away, efficient but the routine canon of Indian food.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have relatives close by and occasionally phone to arrange to pick up a takeaway on the way home. This is a small but busy takeaway in a vast suburb. Sometimes parking can be a problem but not so. Ad from mid evening onward. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The menu is not bad although there is nothing out of the ordinary. The cook what British people have come to expect. Prices are about right and cleanliness beyond question. It's a good example of what you would hope for all the way out here on the fringe of the city.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DougalM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Delicious food with everything having individual flavours, fast service & plentiful portions. Nothing to fault at all.
And leftovers for tomorrow :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smokefree27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great every time”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The title says it all.
I have found good Take-aways in the past but they always seemed to have an off day. (Chefs day off perhaps?)
Perhaps Papa Raj have found a great chef and chained him to the kitchen. Although this may breach human rights I am in favour.
Great every time. Top fresh ingredients, prompt and courteous service.
Feeling peckish now, Curry tonight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Suberb.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This take away is the best Indian I know anywhere and we have it in Elburton, Plymouth, Devon. They will adjust the temp of any meal AND you can see them cooking it in the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Was half hr late BUT well worth waiting for! I never write reviews but felt I had to.... delicious!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nurseyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa Raj also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
Plympton, Plymouth
 

Been to Papa Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing