We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Fresh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goto Japanese Restaurant

Goto Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 702 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$56
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: GOTO is new Japanese restaurant located in 13 southside street,PL1 2LA. We offer our customers not only traditional sushi, but also new modern style sushi together with other hot Japanese dishes as well. Our core cuisine is based on Japanese authentic recipes, so GOTO's modern taste is never fragile, always satisfies your curiosity as well as your expectations for good quality and value.
Tavistock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

It's my second visit and both times the food was truly fresh. The set menu takes any risk of having something you're not sure on and it's good value too. Ok it's not cheap but when you have the very freshest raw fish presented to you, immaculately prepared in spotless surroundings with great service, it's hard to beat. Love it and I'll be back soon. Thanks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Rockmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    23
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I booked this for a birthday treat for my other half. We had been previously a couple of times and loved it. It didn't disappoint this time either. We ordered a selection of things from the menu. They arrived at the table all freshly cooked and/or prepared. We finished with a plate of sashimi and it was just delicious.It was a Thursday and we were the only ones in the restaurant but it's quite small so that was just fine. The service was charming and we got a complimentary jug of sake which was also good. We've been three times now and each time we go we say we shouldn't leave it so long between visits. Maybe we'll try a lunchtime sometime soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 776 helpful votes
“Exceptional.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Unusually high quality food and service. A well constructed menu which threw up several options that were entirely new to us and absolutely fantastic. Can't afford to come here often but the two evenings we have come were memorable and delightful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 777hettiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Asian food I've had in England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My partner and I went there last night after seeing all the good reviews on tripadvisor. It was a great night, brilliant service. They did bring out the wrong dish at one point but realised before we said anything and the right dish was bought out very quickly, quick enough that our meal was not disturbed. The staff were very helpful and approachable, and the chef came to our table, to see if all was good, which we appreciated. As someone who spent a lot of time in Asia I found the food brilliant, could believe I was back there, which I haven't had in any other English restaurant (granted there is little choice here in Plymouth in till recently). Highly recommended. Don't see why it isn't busier, may be a sign down stairs to make it clearer where it is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Clara821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 752 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Can only afford to come here a couple of times a year but the quality and tastes are superb. The helpful waitress and friendly informative chef help things along. Nothing else like this in Plymouth. Can be quiet but recently there have been many other customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Knackersknowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goto Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Plymouth, Devon
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Goto Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing