We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quay 33

Quay 33
Ranked #5 of 713 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Quay 33 Cafe and Restaurant located on Plymouth Barbican with views over Sutton Harbour, just the place to kick back and relax with good local home-made fresh food cooked by Chef Dave Morgan (formerly Chambers and Morgans). Quay 33 is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner and offers an excellent choice of menus. Quay 33 is is run by Dave Morgan and his wife Diane who look forward to welcoming you.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived without a reservation at 1930 on a busy night - the Fireworks Championships were in town! The staff, who were helpful and truly polite, explained that a table would be free in around 10 minutes. A brief stroll around the harbour later and we were back and comfortably seated. A real treat lay ahead: attentive, efficient, yet unobtrusive service and best of all - fabulous food. No complaints and two fully satisfied customers. Thank you!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steps456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,059
    248
    85
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovley food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I went to this restaurant with family, it is a quaint place with great food, I had pate to start and then a confit of duck and both were done to perfection, the duck was soft and melted in the mouth and the pate was soft and came with fresh toasted bread and a red onion chutney that complicated the whole dish. Will definitely go again and at just over £100 for four people including drinks was just right.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I took my family here to eat whilst we were staying in Plymouth for relaxing weekend. The staff were very friendly, prompt and very good. The food was very well received, all our meals were very good indeed and really could not be faulted.

We will book here again next time we travel to Plymouth

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deepdiver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscar1995
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent Food & Top Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have visited Quay 33 a number of times now and usually in a group of 6-8 people and not one of us have ever had a bad meal or poor service. 8 of us had dinner there on Saturday night and it was extremely busy yet we did not have any lengthy waits for anything and the food all came out perfectly cooked and of excellent quality. I usually go for one of the fish dishes and it is to die for. My husband and I personally tried the Treby Arms just 2 days before due to the owner winning masterchef and whilst nice, it was not a patch on the meal we had at Quay 33. Dave Morgan the chef at Quay 33 deserves to win awards himself, nothing is too much trouble the food is top notch, he works the long days and hours himself and personally at the end of the night will come out and speak to customers. Have recommended this place to many business clients and friends and all have thanked me for this. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oscar1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Just excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are only sorry that it took us so long to discover Quay 33. Excellent food, super choice of wines, very good service, really nice atmosphere and a great location on the Barbican. We reserved and that was probably a wise decision. Cannot praise it enough – and certainly for us - the best restaurant in Plymouth.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSH-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quay 33 also viewed

 

Been to Quay 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing