We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in the area.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay 33

Quay 33
Ranked #5 of 702 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Quay 33 Cafe and Restaurant located on Plymouth Barbican with views over Sutton Harbour, just the place to kick back and relax with good local home-made fresh food cooked by Chef Dave Morgan (formerly Chambers and Morgans). Quay 33 is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner and offers an excellent choice of menus. Quay 33 is is run by Dave Morgan and his wife Diane who look forward to welcoming you.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our visit was on a very busy night because of the firework displays in the City. We were quickly accommodated and advised that service would be a little delayed. However, drinks and the starters came within a few minutes and the main course within 15 mins. The fish pie and the pork belly were absolutely beautiful and served with a selection of fresh vegetables. There were a number of serving staff and they were obviously very, very busy but still found time to check that our orders were to our liking. Quay 33 has a great atmosphere and on the first floor is an additional dining area. The menu is quite varied and the sight of dishes being served to other tables proved to be mouth watering. There are no views or parking but who cares when this form of delicious food is served. Having eaten at other celebrated restaurants in the immediate area - Quay 33 is definitely head and shoulders above. 10 out of 10! The overall cost of two course meal and drinks - £40.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,037
    243
    84
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

beautiful, ambient venue, very shabby chic, lots to keep your attention ticking. The menu very interesting with lots of beautiful choices, You will be checking out every meal that is served just so you know you haven't missed out on some thing !!! The desserts..... I have to recommend the homemade Pavlova, this was the chewiest, yummiest I have ever tasted, you will not want to share this little beauty. Finally the service, impeccable . Love it, love it, love it. Already booked my return lunch !!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kerryh607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived without a reservation at 1930 on a busy night - the Fireworks Championships were in town! The staff, who were helpful and truly polite, explained that a table would be free in around 10 minutes. A brief stroll around the harbour later and we were back and comfortably seated. A real treat lay ahead: attentive, efficient, yet unobtrusive service and best of all - fabulous food. No complaints and two fully satisfied customers. Thank you!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steps456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovley food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I went to this restaurant with family, it is a quaint place with great food, I had pate to start and then a confit of duck and both were done to perfection, the duck was soft and melted in the mouth and the pate was soft and came with fresh toasted bread and a red onion chutney that complicated the whole dish. Will definitely go again and at just over £100 for four people including drinks was just right.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I took my family here to eat whilst we were staying in Plymouth for relaxing weekend. The staff were very friendly, prompt and very good. The food was very well received, all our meals were very good indeed and really could not be faulted.

We will book here again next time we travel to Plymouth

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deepdiver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quay 33 also viewed

 

Been to Quay 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing