We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!!!!”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #32 of 764 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our bistrot is housed within Royal William Yard, considered to be one of the most important groups of historic military buildings in Britain. It was built by the Royal Navy between 1825 and 1835 and provided the Navy, at home and sea, with food and drink. Bistrot Pierre’s ‘raison d’être’ is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and tarte au citron with our own take on regional favourites like tarte flambée, Bouillabaisse and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner and breakfast at weekend we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £10.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.50. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That’s why you’ll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

a friend of ours recommended 'pierres' to us. we gave it a go and have been back every month since! it never disappoints!! we have only ever been of a lunchtime which is excellent value for money. the food is always amazing, staff friendly and not in your face. totally relaxed and chilled out atmosphere - love it! highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Glad to hear that you have become a regular at Le Bistrot Pierre. We hope you can come and join us in the evening and try our A La Carte menu at some stage.

Best Wishes,

Dominic Gambarini
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,429 - 1,433 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having had a quick lunchtime snack and a glass of wine one day in passing we decided to return for a proper lunch, good move!! It seems it is necessary to book, which shows the popularity of the venue. A friendly efficient welcome and a comfortable well placed table. Good quick service for drinks and ordering. Excellent food chosen from a broad menu, well presented and ample portions,good wine and all at sensible prices

All in all a pleasant experience, partly down to the attentive staff, we will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 669Mikendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi,

Great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dominic Gambarini
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have eaten here a couple of times and on both occasions the meal was excellent. Good atmosphere but can be very busy so may be necessary to book. Lunchtime menu great value for money. Only downside is the parking in Royal William Yard which is limited and can work out expensive.

Thank The_Dartmoor_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. If you're unaware, we also do a pre theatre menu at £14.95 for 2 courses if you order between 5.30 PM and 6.45 PM (Monday -Sunday) . Look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Dominic Gambarini
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We had a nice lunch today but the service was rather slow. It was quite busy but we were left without drinks for most of the meal. Odd considering the profit margin on drinks for such places!

Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Julian,

Sorry to hear that you felt the service was slow. We try and provide an attentive service but on this occasion we apologise for not achieving this style of service.

On the whole we glad you enjoyed your lunch and hope to see you again.

Many Thanks,

Dominic Gambarini
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Recommended by a friend as a good choice for something a bit special. It didn't disappoint. Surroundings, food and service all first class, well done.

1  Thank janali67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review, I have shared your comments with all the team. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards
Jessica Smith
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing