We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner Function”

Boringdon Park Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dinner Function”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Attended a recent function dinner based in the upstairs clubhouse. Prices where up there with the best.

Ambiance was quite poor, lots of white neon bright down lighters, virtually no sense of occasion more a college dinner hall. Waiters etc where attired in polo shirts with obligatory name badge and looked utilitarian. Large round table had its full quota attending but rocked badly from the load with the top bending over.

Food was fine, desert was very nice however the coffee cups provided at the end could be used as thimbles. Ridiculously small out of a pretentious tea set, made you feel that you had your lot with the size if cup. Purely token.

There was another area which was cordoned-off to a bigger dining area, that area seemed to have a little more ambiance or possible due to lighting being dimmed.

The bar prices where at the top end.

Ambiance could have been greatly improved by making waiters/waitresses look like waitresses. Also turning the utilitarian light down/standing lights would also have given a sense of occasion.

Could be such a better experience with a little tweaking.

Helpful?
9 Thank Ashley186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    7
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Point of view from a non-member”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have recently been coming up to Boringdon Golf Club over the last few weeks. For me, starting out as a beginner, I have had no trouble whatsoever with the keeping of the grounds, the view of the surrounding landscape, the too much "up and down" on the course and the beginners hitting members with golf balls.
I understand it might be annoying for members to be on the course with beginners, but it should be noted that everyone is a beginner once. The times I have been to Boringdon, I haven't seen a groundskeeper on the course.
It's stated that it's a fairly new course and we have to be patient to give it time to develop. The Golf bar is a great place to have a coffee before going out on the grounds, the quotes on the walls and pictures show a lot of improvement, as this was only built a few months ago.
Talking to one of the members in the Golf bar, and he said there are over 600 members...so surely Boringdon is doing something right?
Take a look for yourself, when reading some of these reviews I was skeptical of taking a look. Now I'm strongly thinking of becoming a member.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better in the area, look elsewhere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This course in now a 2-3 years old and since first playing here the course has shown little sign of maturing and there has been little or no further investment to try and improve the playing conditions. The general state of the course is poor and the greens are awful, but by far the worse thing about the course are the so called groundsman/green keepers. These people are by far and away the most ignorant people that I have ever encountered on a golf course! They have no idea about the etiquette of golf and will continue to work on the greens and all over the fairways regardless of whether they have seen you or not or how long you have patiently waited for them to move, only for you to finally play a shot and have them smirk as you approach them like they are proud to have made you wait!

I feel that this course has he potential in a few more years to become a half decent course, but due to the green staffs attitude and the clear lack of knowledge needed to improve the course, I doubt this will ever happen.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
36 Thank Keels6382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't listen to the bad review its really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Boringdon Park is a good golf course with good potential. Th stile holes are nicely thought out and the value is very good. The range is currently under redevelopment but can still be used. Overall a good new course with stunning views.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank plymouthkid15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
381 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,326 helpful votes
“Been to better municipal courses.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Brought out here by a friend who needed company. On the fringe of an outer suburb this recently laid out course was a disappointment. It still looks like a series of holes laid up and down and squeezed into blamed farmland. There is a bit of a view across dense housing estates, Sainsbury at Marsh Mills, some of Saltram woodland and the Laira estuary of the Plym which more often than not is grey mud. There are no challenges on the course. It felt like a short up and down walk. I take the point that such places have to mature but the signs here are of little planning or moves towards a more interesting future. The course at my children's school near Barnstaple is more interesting than this. The clubhouse facilities at Boringdon are not very interesting or enticing. It might be a cheap option for near beginners if it didn't run the risk of disenchanting them from the sport. I wouldn't return and doubt my friend will continue. It is of obviously comparatively convenient to Plympton but there are more established courses not too far away at Elfordleigh and Staddon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
48 Thank Cr0wM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boringdon Park Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Boringdon Park Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing