We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky to have this cafe in Plymouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Capriccio

Il Capriccio
Ranked #75 of 703 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are open 12:00pm-09:00pm Mon-Sat, but deliver through just eat in the evening. We are all Italian chefs, very passionate about fresh traditional Italian food.We prepare everything as we would do for our own family. We use old recipies from our mums and nannies as well our own creations, but at the heart of it all there is love for cooking and the best fresh ingredients. Our aim is to bring you a little bit of Italy in a relaxed atmosphere at an affordable price.We look forward to welcoming you. Barbara, Roberto, Ramona and Simona.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lucky to have this cafe in Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Another excellent lunch! I started with some focaccia and olives (the waitress even topped up my focaccia halfway through free of charge!), followed by a frittata with three fillings. I also took a couple of slices of their delicious home-made hazelnut cake to go, along with a latte, and I still had change from fifteen pounds. The food is all cooked to order, and the prices are very reasonable for the quality of food. Just wish I was hungrier for lunch, as the pasta dishes look fab!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
15 Thank SRM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    26
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not fast, but excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Although the service is not fast, the food taste sooooo goood! So if you go there, take your time.
The coffee was very good, like an expresso I didn't have for a long time.
The staff is friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
13 Thank JProDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Quirky Italian In Frankfurt Gate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Sweet cafe run by Italians serving a small menu of authentic regional dishes. The staff are lovely and the cakes and ice cream are scrummy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank fourfoot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic anti-pasti”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were a group of 11 with all the potential confusion & indecision! The anti-pasti, especially the Mare ones, were just amazing - you could easily have had nothing else to eat & been well-fed. The pizzas were a little bit disappointing & the desserts just odd! However, it's a great place to go & they serve real Italian food (provided the desserts aren't too experimental). Wine at v reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
14 Thank BigAnnII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,255 helpful votes
“Excellent evening and full too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We came as a group of seven having booked late morning and were lucky because there wouldn't have been room for us otherwise. It cost a touch over £200 including starters mains and puddings, four bottles of wine some real Italian Peroni and some shots to see us on our way. A very pleasant and entertaining evening. We knew they operate a firm first order first served approach and that everything is cooked fresh from scratch. The two ladies were plainly busy without being stressed. They also buy in what they need when they need it. Unfortunately a chunk of the cheaper wines had been cleared out by a hectic Valentine's session the previous night. No matter, there was ample affordable alternatives. We were impressed by the way in which the chefs produced a very wide selection of different dishes for our group all perfectly cooked and presented at the same time. The sea bass was sublime. The various Italian cheeses were in perfect condition and the salads and meats, all that we could expect. We last came here back int the summer and knew that the relaxed family cafe style authentic homely Italian approach was a winner but had not been in for an evening and were pleased that it worked so well. I see that some other contributors have muttered about the slight waits. It seems that they couldn't have read the other reviews or the website. As for us, everything was just the right pace. Not really a downside but until we got used to it, the musical electronic indicator on one or more of the big ovens did jar until we grew accustomed to it. Five well deserved stars for Capriccio. Good to see them becoming established amongst the best of Plymouth's varied and evolving food options.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
17 Thank ChasC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Capriccio also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Il Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing