We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Caravan Park
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet and Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

As there was three lots of caravans travelling together we were put down the far end of the park so as we could be by one another. There are 2toilet blocks with showers and both were very clean and immaculate although they could do with an update. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The Sunday roast is a must. The park itself is quite quiet, and we saw quite a few squirrels and we even saw three deer. There is a lovely walk along the river, and if you had a dog they would have had a lovely time. Sainsbury supermarket is just about a 20min walk away, and the buses to Plymouth are very frequent. All in all a very enjoyable time

Room Tip: We were on pitch 62 which is down the quiet end
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    16
    10
    2
    11
See reviews for
28
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came of the Brittany Ferry and made our way to the caravan site but the road was closed had to turn around in some business car park and asked this gentlemen whom was looking at the sign diversion when we asked him if he knew how we could get to campsite he said he was the owner and would take us and follow him, which we did he even placed us on a hard standing pitch as I was a little unsure that I wanted to be on late arrivals, this service was above and beyond also the campsite is very friendly and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KayTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Four days in a tent no electric hook up required as first time rubbish campers..... But the campsite is very clean the staff were friendly and helpful and the most important thing the shower/toilets were immaculate. Would recommend to friends and will return in warmer weather as good location for days out around Plymouth and Cornwall.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We came to book in advance for a trip the following month but left before doing so. Quite frankly the woman in reception was cold, unhelpful, sarcastic, and downright rude to say the least. You felt as if she was just interested in your money rather than making you feel welcome and making sure your holiday got off to the best start. We left in disgust and booked in just down the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 104Sarah104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had 10 days at Riverside Campsie and enjoyed every minute of it. Bit of a strange approach, but once you are on the site you could be a million miles from busy Plymouth. The toilets and shower block were exceptional. Although we did not use the heated swimming pool it was being enjoyed by many of the holiday makers. We enjoyed the food and the Sunday carvery was brilliant. The entertainment from the very funny Eric Lovaine was enjoyed by us all. Would definitely return to Riverside when we visit Plymouth again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank CRAMBO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Hmmmmmm !!!! first impressions (i wish I`d have took my paint brushes and a gallon of white gloss down with me ) where the hell did all that green paint come from it had to be free because no one in there right mind would really choose that colour. The place looks really tired and needs a face lift, at not much cost it could be made to look really classy. My hubby and I have just returned after a weeks stay, all staff are really nice and friendly as are most of the 6 monthly plus residents who stay there ..
Pool, didn`t really use this but wouldn`t have if it had been scorchio ,as I said looks really tired, Clubhouse needs a face lift it smells of old chip fat that needs changing,windows need cleaning,(cobwebs) curtains need sorting out,omg I could go on . Reception (shop) area, three shelves selling basic essentials, our neighbour went for bread they had none ,my hubby went for eggs they had none (what are basic essentials I ask my self) As our neighbour said its a good job we`ve got a Sainsburys down the road....the showers/toilets spotless cleaned everyday .....we went into town twice (Barbican) nothing on at all going on in the club on site ,, £7-£10 in a taxi this is a must for food and a brilliant night .....I have criticised this site but we would definitely return, the residents are sooooo friendly........ IT NEEDS SOME TLC .................DO IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAKJODES18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This caravan park has all the amenities a family or couple could possibly want for a tent, motorhome or caravan holiday. All the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient whether that be in reception, around the park or in the bar/restaurant. The site is family owned and some people use this site as a stopover for the ferry from Plymouth. The toilet blocks are well cleaned each day and as per any site it is certain members of the public who leave a mess behind them !! The heated swimming pool is lovely when the sun is out and there is also a pool for toddlers. The location is superbly set being surrounded on one side by trees and on the other side the river ( the river Plym I believe) a walk along this river is highly recommended, another plus with the location is the proximity to Plymouth, Torquay and Paignton and also Cornwall. The real gem on this campsite is the glorious food (Sunday carvery especially) and entertainment whether its their own version of Bingo or a comedian or singer. I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this campsite to anyone who wishes to camp in the southwest of England, we have stayed at over 20 campsites and this one will have us going back for more I am sure and the kids loved it more than me !!! May I personally thank Ian, Rachel, Gail, Steve and the rest of the staff for making us welcome and especially for your super attitude towards our foster children.

Room Tip: No rooms only pitches, all are a sensible size and the staff are very good at helping you make this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DorsetPortlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth East Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Caravan Park

Property: Riverside Caravan Park
Address: Riverside Caravan Park Leigham Manor Drive | Marsh Mills, Plymouth PL6 8LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, secluded countryside park which is very conveniently placed, being very close to the A38 and only 3 miles from Plymouth City Centre. Situated in a very pleasant position with plenty of open space on a level, well-drained site, surrounded by beautiful woodlands and bordered on one side by the River Plym, Riverside Caravan Park has been carefully planned so that all the family can enjoy the amenities which are close to hand. We are open all year and welcome motor and touring caravans and tents. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing