We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
The Lodge (sleeps 4). The sunny open plan living area. The Mews (sleeps 2). The stylish living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
The Lodge (sleeps 4). The sunny open plan living area.
The Mews (sleeps 2). The stylish living area.
Corner Cottage - the spacious living area
Lambside House - the stunning main bedroom (ensuite)
Crofters Cottage - the open plan bedroom and bathroom. Sleeps up to 4 people.
Our private cove - we call it 'the Blue Lagoon'. Only available to guests of Carswell Cott
The children's play area - complete with Alys the Tractor!
The Mews - with 'cow print' antique roll top bath!
Dogs are very welcome in all our cottages (except The Mews).
The stunning South Devon coast on your doorstep
Corner Cottage - the sunny kitchen area, with hand-crafted table seating 16!
Corner Cottage - the family bathroom, complete with antique roll-top bath!
Corner Cottage - the main bedroom
Mothecombe Beach - just a couple of miles away...
Lambside House - sleeps 11/14 in 5 bedrooms
The Mews - the pretty garden overlooking the fields...
Lambside House, sleeps 11/14 people. The living rooms open up across the slate hall.
Lambside House - the sunny kitchen, complete with cherry-red AGA!
Shepherds Cottage - the main bedroom with lovely views across the meadows.
Shepherds Cottage - sleeps 6. The open plan living area
Spring Cottage - the large, sunny kitchen.
The Lodge - the open plan, well equipped kitchen
The Lodge - children's play area upstairs
The Mews - the sunny, open plan bedroom upstairs, with doors out onto the patio...
The Mews - a lovely cottage for couples.
Sandcastles on Bigbury Beach - fantastic for children!
Dartmoor - only a 20 minute drive away...
The Mews - double doors open out onto the sunny garden and patio.
Order a delicious organic Devon breakfast hamper to make your holiday really special!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
grahamb_1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family cottage”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lambside House is a great family home in the depths of the South Devon countryside. Loads of space in the house, very well equipped; well maintained garden for BBQs and for children to run around in. Peaceful quiet location, but a trek to the shops and a 25 minute walk to the nearest beach. Best family holiday home we've stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful holiday, lovely cottage and location”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful holiday, staying in the Lodge cottage. We initially booked because of their dog-friendly policy, as we have found it difficult to find nice self-catered accommodation now that we have a four-legged member of the family. The cottage was clean, plenty of space and had lovely views over a wild-flower meadow, which attracted lots of birds and butterflies. It also had a really well stocked kitchen for a self-catered property. The quality of fixtures and fittings was also good.

For dog owners the cottages comes with a large garden that is secure so you can relax and allow your dog to wander about. All floors downstairs are slate or wood, so easy to clean up muddy paw prints! There are several good dog walking beaches close by, the best being the estuary near Mothecombe beach. In summer though there are quite a few restrictions about where you can and can't walk, so it is worth checking before a day out. There is also an excellent gastropub called The Ship Inn nearby in Noss Mayo, which not only does great food but is also very dog-friendly. Lots of outdoor seating overlooking the inlet and pretty cottages of the village.

Overall I would really recommend visiting if you have a dog or young family. It is a beautiful part of Devon, with excellent local beaches and miles of coastal walks and other activities to do, which can all be accessed easily.

The booking process was easy, we had quick replies to emails we sent to the owners before and during our stay who were always very helpful.

If you are eco-consious then this is also a good place to visit. Ecover products are supplied throughout and you are really encouraged to recycle and compost, with all the necessary facilities provided. The owners also have an organic farm and at the right time of year you will walk past fields of cows and calves on your way to the local beaches. They also put a range of their own organic meat in the freezer (through the Well Hung Meat Company) which you can eat during your stay and their is an honesty box to put money in. There is also a comprehensive box of information about the local area and the best walks, very useful.

The local beaches are beautiful and we didn't see anyone else on them while we were there, which was lovely. They aren't all easy to access though so I wouldn't have though suitable for small children. We also visited the Riverford farm, which is well known for the organic vegetable boxes. You can take a walk for free around the farm to see all the vegetables growing before lunch at the kitchen (also dog-friendly but you must book in advance).

We enjoyed it so much we have booked to return for Christmas with family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views across the wild flower meadow
Liked least: Proximity to another cottage, would have liked to be a bit more isolated.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mthendy
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Corner Cottage - comfort and style!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful week away in November and on the whole had excellent weather. Even picnicked on the cliff tops and beaches. We've stayed at Carswell before, in Shepherds Cottage, so this was the first time at Corner Cottage and it was fabulous. So warm, so much space, comfortable and so well equipped. Did the cliff top walk all the way round to Noss and back via Membland - even the dogs were tired! Two trips to the Ship at Noss and, as always, delicious! Discovered Riverford for the first time and brought lots of stuff home, and their legendary Mince Pies! (Hope to pass them off as home-made!). Katharine is so helpful and a delight to deal with. I hate to recommend this too highly, as I want to be able to book last minute getaways in the future, and don't want to find it fully booked! This part of Devon is truly special to me; all my childhood holidays were spent at Noss Mayo and I have such happy memories of it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and countryside
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
I know what you mean about the Riverford mince pies, they are delicious! We are so lucky to have such a brilliant organic farm shop on our doorstep...

Hope to welcome you back to Carswell Cottages sometime soon.

All the best, Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharolynn
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous getaway and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a fabulous few days in Shepherds cottage.. Despite the at times sideways rain, we enjoyed getting out and about everyday - Bigbury is a must and the walks along the coastal paths are breathtaking...
This is a stunning place to stay for all the family, and after a day out in the country air what a lovely place to cosy in and put the fire on in the evening. The cottage has everything you could need and we cannot recommend this highly enough as a great place to stay!
Looking forward to a return visit...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful location, homely cottage - perfect for the dog!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
Thank you so much and I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay - both 2 and 4 legged! I hope we can welcome you back to one of our cottages soon. All the best, Katherine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax and unwind in the mews”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

just come back from our second visit to the MEWS on carswell farm, a fantastic little place thats the perfect getaway for 2 people ( and a baby this time!) would recommend to anybody who wants a break where you can sit in total peace, walk down to the coast or drive/walk t the local village and buy proper food, plus be near enough to plymouth/torquay to visit the zoos, aquariams houses etc for a nice day
out! 5 stars because they dont let you click 6 ! ******

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2013
Hi Paul, it was great to welcome you and Steph back with the new addition to the family! Next time you come down to Devon you will have to try The Lodge - the perfect cottage for little ones!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilprince...
Hampton, Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for kids/babies and walking any time of year”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We've just returned from our stay at "The Lodge" on Lambside Farm, which is part of the Carswell Farm holiday lets. The lodge is exactly as pictured on the website which is always great, so there were no surprises. We took our 15 month old with us as he settled in straight away and it was well equipped to have young children/babies there. Stair gates top and bottom, anti slip bath mat, toys and plates, cups etc. The Lodge generally was well equipped. I was surprised to find foil and washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets all included in the price. I remember my mum having to packing all this stuff when we were kids. There are three other properties in close proximity, one directly next door. This didn't bother us in the slightest and if anything it made me feel more at ease. I imagine it's great if you are a large family as the other lets surround the large play area with an old Tractor, which our 15 month old loved. I definitely think we will return again as there is just so much to explore in the surrounding areas.
Hamper - we ordered one for two people and it was fab. It was great to know we had 15 less items to buy. The produce was all fantastic and very very tasty.
Equipment - have a good read of the inventory list on the website as you'll be amazed how much you can leave at home i.e. dish cloth, tea towels, washing up liquid, cleaning products, salt and pepper. Excellent selection of coking wear too
Babies - stair gates top and bottom, anti slip bath mat, highchair as requested, cot as requested. Toys and games for most ages, good selection of DVD's and games (board/card games)
Cleanliness - The Lodge was very very clean. I like places to be clean and we've had a few nightmare holiday lets before so this was a breath of fresh air. Bear in mind that people are allowed dogs there so if you're not into animals at all then this is not the place to go.
Temperature - As the Lodge is an eco build we found it stayed pretty warm. The temp was around 8c outside one day and the sun had been out all day and we actually found ourselves opening windows. So it was great, when we arrived in hammering rain, that the Lodge was lovely and warm.
Walks/things to do - The beach is about a 20 minute walk from the house. It's not a difficult walk so it's a must, even on a cold sunny March day. The very last section of the walk requires a little clambering down but we did it with our 15 month old strapped to his Dad's back and we didn't feel in any way it was unsafe. It's just where the final 3 steps have eroded away with time. The views are simply stunning on the way down and if you're as lucky as us you might even get to see a SEAL!
We also went to Mothecombe beach which is a 10 minute drive and accessible with a sturdy pram. It's tarmac all the way down but when the tide is out it's a pretty bumpy ride across the sand! It's a fantastic beach and we hope to return one summer with a bucket and spade!
Pennywell Farm - This was about half an hour away. We did this on a rainy day and it was fine as there's lots of inside activities and when the rain broke there's was lots to see outside as well. You can buy animal specific feed at the ticket desk and, being March, we got to feed the orphan lambs and see ducklings and piglets being cared for. The petting section is great as well and their famed pig racing is great fun. We also got a fair weather pass so we could return any day that week if the weather was better.
Cream Teas - 2 miles away Newton Ferrers is Tea Room on The Green. It's got 5* ratings on Tripadvisor, but sadly it was closed as we arrived too early.
Noss Mayo worth a visit of just for the pubs and the pretty harbor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: knowing that dogs could go in the play area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2013
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for such a lovely and detailed review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with Carswell Cottages and I very much hope we can welcome you back soon.

With best wishes,
Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nimoh80
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you are looking to get away from it all, this is the perfect spot!”
Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

I spent a week in The Mews in November - what a wonderful stay it was. The property is beautifully renovated, so comfortable, with everything one needs for complete relaxation but still maintains a tasteful country style. The owners provided a very thorough welcome pack with tonnes of ideas on how to enjoy the spectacular location. The coastal path is just a few minutes walk away with amazing walking opportunities. The local villages of Holberton, Noss Mayo and Modbury have some great pubs. Luckily the weather was bright and dry for us but The Mews is comfortable enough to spend a rainy afternoon in front of the wood burning stove. Truly a magical stay, highly recommend trying this property out and if you are a larger group the other properties available look equally amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2012
Thank you Naimh for your lovely words and I very much hope we can welcome you back soon for another visit - perhaps in springtime when we have the baby calves on the farm and some beautiful display of daffodils!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing