We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Always Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
The Lodge (sleeps 4). The sunny open plan living area. The Mews (sleeps 2). The stylish living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
The Lodge (sleeps 4). The sunny open plan living area.
The Mews (sleeps 2). The stylish living area.
Corner Cottage - the spacious living area
Lambside House - the stunning main bedroom (ensuite)
Crofters Cottage - the open plan bedroom and bathroom. Sleeps up to 4 people.
Our private cove - we call it 'the Blue Lagoon'. Only available to guests of Carswell Cott
The children's play area - complete with Alys the Tractor!
The Mews - with 'cow print' antique roll top bath!
Dogs are very welcome in all our cottages (except The Mews).
The stunning South Devon coast on your doorstep
Corner Cottage - the sunny kitchen area, with hand-crafted table seating 16!
Corner Cottage - the family bathroom, complete with antique roll-top bath!
Corner Cottage - the main bedroom
Mothecombe Beach - just a couple of miles away...
Lambside House - sleeps 11/14 in 5 bedrooms
The Mews - the pretty garden overlooking the fields...
Lambside House, sleeps 11/14 people. The living rooms open up across the slate hall.
Lambside House - the sunny kitchen, complete with cherry-red AGA!
Shepherds Cottage - the main bedroom with lovely views across the meadows.
Shepherds Cottage - sleeps 6. The open plan living area
Spring Cottage - the large, sunny kitchen.
The Lodge - the open plan, well equipped kitchen
The Lodge - children's play area upstairs
The Mews - the sunny, open plan bedroom upstairs, with doors out onto the patio...
The Mews - a lovely cottage for couples.
Sandcastles on Bigbury Beach - fantastic for children!
Dartmoor - only a 20 minute drive away...
The Mews - double doors open out onto the sunny garden and patio.
Order a delicious organic Devon breakfast hamper to make your holiday really special!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
256GCo256
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have stayed at various properties at Carswell and have never been disappointed. The most recent stay was at Shepherd's Cottage. This was our first stay at the cottage and as always for Carswell, the property was spotless and decorated and furnished superbly.

As the weather was sublime we took advantage of the wonderful garden and sun loungers to soak up the rays. (We had a challenging journey down from London the previous day as it was the start of the Glastonbury festival). However a few hours recharging our batteries and we were able to take advantage of the excellent local restaurants. However if you wish to dine in, the kitchen is extremely well equipped and there is a large fridge/freezer to stock up on the excellent local produce (Riverford Farm Shop is a short drive away).

Katherine and her team are extraordinarily helpful and it is a real pleasure to stay at these wonderful properties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent comfort afforded at the cottage and the beautiful setting
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Shepherds Cottage and managed to enjoy the stunning local area and re-charge your batteries! I hope we can welcome you back soon. Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurenpk
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely stay at Crofter's Cottage”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent a wonderful Fri-Mon at the Crofter's Cottage this month. My husband and I just loved the beautiful, clean, and well-appointed cottage, and especially the incredible location and views of the South Devon coast (from the cottage). The downstairs area with the kitchen and living area was very large for 2 people. We enjoyed the wood stove in the evenings (though the damper was a little finicky), and we cooked every day. The stove in the kitchen was working at a really high setting (the main burner), which we didn't realize until late in our stay, and the cooking pans are well-loved, but we made do. We had gotten the breakfast and the barbeque baskets, and I highly recommend them. We basically had only 1 meal out (at a pub on Dartmoor) and 1 dinner that we supplemented with pasta & olive oil from the Riverford Farm shop in Yealmpton (awesome place by the way). The main bed is HUGE and comfortable. The tub is nice, though it was difficult not to have a shower (an attachment would be nice). The toilet & wash basin area is small but adequate. I loved all the different ways to let light in and get the amazing views of the country side from the cabin (rolling hills to the sea; sheep everywhere, awesome rocky cliffs and the South Devon coastal trail that goes for miles in each direction). We hope to return someday, as this was a perfect, rustic, peaceful getaway in a beautiful area of the UK.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and I am pleased you enjoyed the rustic quirkiness of Crofters Cottage! I didn't realise that the cooker was not operating to temperature, so I will certainly have a look at that and get it mended. I very much hope we can welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eppie2015
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulously appointed yet cosy in an amazing location”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in February 2013

I came as as part of a get together of friends. The cottage is ideal as the open plan nature of the living area means everyone bonds together and no-one gets stuck cooking on their own. The cottages are extremely well managed - everything you could possibly need is there. The accommodation is bright yet extremely warm with a wonderful log burner. We visited in February and even at the height of winter the scenery is stunning. You can walk from Corner Cottage to the stunning coastal path and head to pub in Noss Mayo. There are plenty of bathrooms and the bedrooms are beautiful so I would strongly recommend to anyone. This is true Devon but with accommodation that is modern, fresh and cosy all at the same time!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Large light open plan living but still feeling cosy
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrip65
Solihull, West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Mews is an idyllic cottage and perfect for a romantic stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at The Mews - part of Carswell Cottages in January 2015 for a short stay from Monday to Friday. The cottage is in a beautiful and peaceful setting and has been lovingly restored to offer high quality accommodation with all mod cons. The open plan layout gives the cottage a feeling of size and space whilst still being cosy and inviting. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need, the wood burner in the lounge provides a relaxing and warm atmosphere and there is space to relax in the lounge area.

Upstairs, there is so much room, with a huge king size bed which was very comfortable and the bath is huge too - with plenty of hot water to soak away the aches from the long walks!

We walked to the beach from the Cottage (maps and directions are provided) and Mothecombe Bay is only 5 minutes drive. The surrounding area is unspoilt and quiet - but we also went into Plymouth to visit a National Trust property, and the small village of Holbeton as a couple of nice pubs.

Overall, this is a cottage ideally suited to couples who are looking for some time away from the hussle and bussle of life - and you won't be disappointed!

We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Making up the fire in the woodburner!!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReniMcP
Dorset, UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

10 of us stayed at the Corner House. The open plan living and kitchen area is absolutely beautiful. Great layout with two bedrooms downstairs and a bathroom. Three bedrooms upstairs one with ensuing and another bathroom. Everything you could possibly need supplied already - with very well stocked kitchen equipments, washing liquid and even Eco balls for washing clothes! A few things needed fixing such as handle of shower but all very minor. Definitely would recommend it for a holiday rental.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabulousl...
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible location, incredible accommodation!”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Lodge is the most beautiful place, I chose a remote location for a romantic break over new year for myself and my boyfriend. I was not disappointed as The Lodge was everything I could have hoped for and more!
There are so many beautiful surrounding walks which can be easily accessed and Noss Mayo is home to some beautiful seaside pubs.
I cannot thank Katherine enough for making this stay perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
So pleased to hear that your romantic new year holiday went so well and that you both enjoyed your stay in The Lodge. And I have to agree - The Ship and The Swan in Noss Mayo serve fantastic food with a good wine list & excellent local ales!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hglc
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crofters Cottage Wonderful !”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We arrived with our chocci lab who had just had a major op. Such a quaint place.
Milk , eggs , tea , coffee all organic greeted us on our arrival. Everything about the cottage we loved. The log fired hot tub was a challenge for my poor husband so we contacted the farm via email and Katherine came along to see us, such a lovely person. The next day she and a willing helper came to start it up while we went out for a few hours. When we came back it was working !! And lovely it was too so thank you Katherine and helper. Having the cows and sheep as our neighbours was just beautiful and the view to the sea was breathtaking, There's no TV but there is WIFI. I loved the oak kitchen table , well we loved everything. Our dog really perked up being there.
The only thing we would suggest to the owners is to not change a thing it is just beautiful as it is.
We loved it and will definitely be back. Thank you for letting us stay in such a beautiful place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
So glad you all (2 and 4 legged) enjoyed your stay at Crofters Cottage and it was no trouble at all getting the wood fired hot tub going for you. I'm pleased you enjoyed relaxing in it after your day out exploring!
Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing