We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded Beach Hut, Perfect in every way!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
The Lodge (sleeps 4). The sunny open plan living area. The Mews (sleeps 2). The stylish living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
The Lodge (sleeps 4). The sunny open plan living area.
The Mews (sleeps 2). The stylish living area.
Corner Cottage - the spacious living area
Lambside House - the stunning main bedroom (ensuite)
Crofters Cottage - the open plan bedroom and bathroom. Sleeps up to 4 people.
Our private cove - we call it 'the Blue Lagoon'. Only available to guests of Carswell Cott
The children's play area - complete with Alys the Tractor!
The Mews - with 'cow print' antique roll top bath!
Dogs are very welcome in all our cottages (except The Mews).
The stunning South Devon coast on your doorstep
Corner Cottage - the sunny kitchen area, with hand-crafted table seating 16!
Corner Cottage - the family bathroom, complete with antique roll-top bath!
Corner Cottage - the main bedroom
Mothecombe Beach - just a couple of miles away...
Lambside House - sleeps 11/14 in 5 bedrooms
The Mews - the pretty garden overlooking the fields...
Lambside House, sleeps 11/14 people. The living rooms open up across the slate hall.
Lambside House - the sunny kitchen, complete with cherry-red AGA!
Shepherds Cottage - the main bedroom with lovely views across the meadows.
Shepherds Cottage - sleeps 6. The open plan living area
Spring Cottage - the large, sunny kitchen.
The Lodge - the open plan, well equipped kitchen
The Lodge - children's play area upstairs
The Mews - the sunny, open plan bedroom upstairs, with doors out onto the patio...
The Mews - a lovely cottage for couples.
Sandcastles on Bigbury Beach - fantastic for children!
Dartmoor - only a 20 minute drive away...
The Mews - double doors open out onto the sunny garden and patio.
Order a delicious organic Devon breakfast hamper to make your holiday really special!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KelvinSal...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Secluded Beach Hut, Perfect in every way!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at the Beach Hut and the weekend was the best we have had in a long time, if ever. We couldn't of asked for more. We love the whole secluded atmosphere with no electricity and internet to get away from the technological world for a few days was heaven.
Walks around the area were great, and to get back to the hut after a hike and have the beach to ourselves was the best experience.
Hot-tub, log burner were a great benefit as we stayed at the start of April which came with the nice sunny days but ever so slightly chilly in the evening, the log-burner came in handy and soon heated the hut up in no time.
The Hot-tub was amazing to use whilst looking up at the clear starlit skies, and I would like to say this experience was enlightened furthermore as the light pollution was very very low, allowing for the stars to shine in all their glory.
We were able to make use of the BBQ on two occasions which was very handy, it is a purpose built BBQ that can be used whilst looking out on the fantastic cove with a dining area to allow for outside seating. The Hut was well equipped for all that we needed and felt like our own little beach hut whilst we were there. We really couldn't fault the stay one bit, and now we have great memories from such a great weekend.

We can't thank you enough for making our weekend the best ever.!

We we be back.!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments and great to hear that you enjoyed our 'dark skies' that we enjoy here - the stars are just amazing! I hope we can welcome you back to one of our 7 cottages at Carswell Cottages sometime soon.
Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela P
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shepherd s Cottage;- Dog friendly cottage by sw coastpath in s Devon”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Ever wondered what it would be like to stay in a cottage on an organic farm with gold award from Green Tourism? Great attention to detail is the answer. Care has been taken not only to qualify for the award but also to make everyone s stay enjoyable-; at the rear door a selection of herbs in pots for cooking, space for drying off dogs, storing boots and macs thro to the kitchen dining living area with newly refurbished kitchen with large fridge freezer, selection of teas and coffee, salt pepper sugar, foil and cling film in drawers and a good selection of cooking implements, wood burner with pile of logs, washing machine with eco balls, dishwasher with tablets, upstairs snuggly beds,and lashings of hot water and even spare toilet rolls. Yes there are various gentle cleaning products around and there are solar panels and a biomass boiler and boxes to sort rubbish but the care and thought taken by the farm s owners makes this a very snug and cosy retreat.
The area around is glorious sandy coves,secluded estuaries and exposed cliff tops. We walked the sw coast path Plymouth to Salcombe it did not disappoint, the dog was in heaven. Out of season the tight lanes are quiet the beaches and cliff tops empty, but there is always a cuppa or a pint somewhere. The beaches are open to dogs Oct to end of April. Some ferries out of season don't run.
There is a good farm shop at Yealmpton and organic meats available from the farm. The Barbie s in the shed. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
So lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the wonderful 'out of season' activities that we have here in South Devon - and the dog can join in as well! Hope we can welcome you all back sometime soon.

Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor B
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed here for my birthday it was perfect the exact mix of cottage and comfort I wanted. Views spectacular remote and secluded. I couldn't of asked for anything better the words fantastic don't do it justice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
Lovely to hear that you had such a great birthday staying at Crofters Cottage (and hopefully enjoying the gorgeous woodfired hot tub too!) and I very much hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

All the best, Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames S
1 review
“Great weekend away with friends”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fanatastic stay at Corner Cottage with a group of friends for a wedding weekend nearby. Beautiful cottage, we loved the open plan kitchen and living room with the wood burner. Great location for walks and nearby pubs. Peaceful location. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
A pleasure to have you all to stay and glad you got to enjoy some of the gorgeous walks straight from the cottage door!
Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theno1ann...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We've been staying at The Lodge for years now, having first stayed at The Mews (also fabulous) before we had our kids. It's in a beautiful, quiet area, tucked away on the farmland yet still within easy reach of local amenities and about 30 mins from Plymouth, with plenty to see and do nearby. The beaches are beautiful and there are loads of walks which we've done to different levels over the years depending on the kids' ages. Each time we visit we either discover a new beach or another lovely village or pub we haven't been to before. The Lodge itself is beautifully appointed and kept in perfect condition. Unlike many self catering places, there are quite a few thoughtful extras such as organic milk, tea/coffee, dishwasher tablets and wood for the fire, to name a few. You can even have an arranged tour of the working farm which is nearby. Katherine is a joy to deal with and always keen to ensure we have a good visit. I really can't recommend it enough - although to be honest, we'd rather keep it just to ourselves if we could!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review and I hope you, the children and the dog discover a few more hidden coves and beaches on a future visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurenpk
NC
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in the world!”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had another spectacular stay the Crofters Cottage for a long weekend in October. I just love the incredible beauty of the surroundings, the particular privacy of Crofters, the lovely hikes, the fireplace...it's just a cozy, wonderfully relaxing and restorative experience. We prepared a little better this time by stopping at the Riverford farm shop in Yealmpton on our way in, and didn't get into the car again until we had to leave on the last morning. They once again left us tons of great meats, veggies, eggs, milk, etc. The fireplace was working a lot better this time; my husband was able to get us lovely fires going each night. We did a hike in each direction on the Sat & Sun we were there; and got lucky with a cloudy and a sunny day, but no rain and not too hot or cold. We love this place and intend to return again as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location- absolutely beautiful!
Liked least: We had a hard time with the stovetop on both our stays- the burners would stay on high regardless of which setting. We were able to use the oven and smaller burners mostly though!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
So glad to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the local organic breakfast, BBQ and cream tea hampers that you had ordered - scrummy! I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Katherine & the Carswell Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattt782
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location and fantastic standard of holiday home”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Tucked away from the busy in tranquil countryside a few minutes stroll from the coastal path. Lovely garden, awesome quality fixtures and fittings, everything you need for a great stay. Recommend the Ship Inn which is about 15 minutes drive for dinner. Great that you get access to a private little cove about half a mile away. Heed the advice of the owners, don't trust your sat nav though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness, cleanliness of home
Liked least: Being picky, beds a little bouncy!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Corner Cottage here at Carswell Cottages - and I totally agree with you, The Ship Inn is a fabulous place to enjoy dinner overlooking the creek! I hope we can welcome you all back sometime soon. Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing