We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

3rd time I've stayed here this summer as I love the area . As advertised the hotel doesn't have air con so if you can't sleep in warm
Weather then don't stay here anyway then moan !!
Great staff always feel really welcome
Just watch the Table Table restaurant service is hit n miss with one of its managers really quite rude . The Hotel is in a fab location I love it there and will defo keep staying !

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank lou_lou_2011_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Really nice and relaxing the breakfast service and food was outstanding. The bed was really comfortable although the room was really hot, fans were provided. Brilliant for getting around in Plymouth along with parking

Room Tip: Very very warm rooms in hot weather but fans provided - facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Overall good in the restaurant. Only criticism is the ridiculous temperature in the room. No aircon and ineffective fan and had to keep the window open.
This was a short break with my sons and the 'boating' location was good and it was only for one night so the impact was not as bad as it could have been.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

These people must have one hell of a heating bill, good job they have 10Kw of solar on the roof !!

We knew the rooms didnt have AC but even at the end of august with lower than average temperatures the room was stifling ! On walking into the room there was a desk fan and a pedestal fan going full belt.

Room was clean, staff very friendly, the room servicing wasnt the best, we didnt feel the bed was made as well as it could have been.

With one side facing onto a busy road it was impossible to sleep with the window open - which didnt help with the heat in the room.

But convenient for the barbican and all the restaurants.

You choose !

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArthwitRail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

OK, the room was fine in general, wifi was ok also but several problems connecting , also frequently disconnecting without notice, some noise from outside for two of the nights stayed out of seven, but beds were not totally satisfactory to say they are the best, I notified the desk regarding this who dropped in with another duvet as requested to make the uneven mattress a little better, I also folded two magazines to make the main bed level.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here overnight on the way to catching the ferry to Spain, having travelled down from near London. This was during a hot spell. Good location, free parking excellent. We use Premier Inn a lot in their family rooms, so having read the blurb on this one, recently refurbished, near a busy road but with good soundproofing etc thought it would be ideal. Checked in , walked into the hot corridor then opened the door into a heatwave room. Went to turn down the aircon and found it didn't have any, just two big noisy fans running flat out in the corner of the room. The room's own display showed 27C. Complained to reception who said they get this a lot, and when refurbished they decided not needed in Britain.... With four of us in the room and fans running it hit 28C overnight even with window open and we had road noise as a result. Complained again in the morning as we all had a bad night, and got a refund promised in 3-5 days, although actually it wasn't processed until after a phone call 3 weeks later after our holiday. Odd as well, no bedside table/ledge on one side of the double for an alarm/book etc. Restaurant was okay, food a bit dry and service a bit slow. Wouldn't use this one again.

Room Tip: Avoid in unusually hot weather.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank TravellersLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We wanted to break our drive down to St Ives and thought we would have a look around Plymouth, having not been there for a number of years. I like Premier Inn hotels as their rooms are very comfy, spacious and well thought out (plugs sockets and mirrors in the right place, good tv and very comfy bed and pillows - the choice of a firm pillow is a winner for me). Lockyers Quay was full on the night of our visit. Room 32a was allocated to us, over Reception and cut off from the other rooms, which was a bonus as we didn't suffer disturbance from other hotel guests. We expected there to be some outside noise, the website makes it very clear that the hotel is on a busy road - we did hear noise from a night club over the road, actually not the club itself but their patrons making a lot of noise as they left, but we just put some cotton wool in our ears and went back to sleep. The fact that you don't have to check out until noon was a real winner too, and breakfast was served until 11am on the Saturday morning we left - al you can eat whether or not you have the full breakfast as my husband did, or the continental breakfast i enjoyed, Plenty of cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurts, cakes, crumpets and limitless tea, coffee and juices. There were some issues when we arrived with a lack of plates and cups but i guess a lot of people fancied breakfast at 9.30am that day. All in al, it was a great stopover an I would certainly use a Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
173 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Plymouth
Travelodge Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel

Address: 1 Lockyers Quay | Coxside, Plymouth PL4 0DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#2 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Business Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lockyers Quay Premier Inn is situated in Plymouth’s City Centre, within 10 minutes walking distance of shops, restaurants and Plymouth’s historic Barbican and Hoe. We have 62 Bedrooms of all accommodation types including facilities for guests with disabilities. All rooms are one price offering great value for families with ample on site parking which can also accommodate large vehicles, please note parking is charged at £5.00 per 24 hours for Premier Inn guests. We have wireless Internet, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers in all rooms along with fans, irons and boards, and bathmats available on request. The Lockyers Quay restaurant opposite the hotel serves our unique 'All you can eat' breakfast from 06:30 – 10:30 Monday to Friday, and 07:00 - 11:00 Saturday and Sunday with lunch and evening meals being served from 12:00 - 22:00. Our location is ideal if you are using the ferry port or train station as they are only 0.5 miles away and most of Devon’s popular attractions are only approximately 30 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing