We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Sutton Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Blaenau Gwent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Stay at Sutton Harbour”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at Plymouth Sutton Harbour for the UK Firework Championships 2014 on the 12th and 13th August and had a great stay. Hotel is clean with pub next door serving great food and 1 minute from Harbour. What more could you want! Great!
Carlo and Sarah

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    421
    123
    61
    41
See reviews for
369
459
40
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Arrived on Wednesday as a couple for 2 nights. Booking in no problem.
Thursday morning went for shower, we only had 1 set of towels between us, so I went and got another set from reception. Left to go out for day leaving used towels in bath for changing after maid service who were in the corridor as we left. Came back at 1730ish to find room hadn't been done or towels changed, they remained in the bath. Had to go back down to reception to explain room not done and required towels and replenishment of tea and coffee. Which I was given to take back up. Air conditioning in room sporadically produced glugging noise disturbing sleep.
Explained all to manager upon leaving whereupon got 1 night refund. Won't go back there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razorfight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Like all Premier Inns, great location, great value and large, clean rooms. However, our room was really hot. It had an air-conditioning unit, but this had a mind of its own! It turned itself on and off randomly and often reset its temperature to high. Maintenance were unable to fix and we were provided with fans to make sleeping bearable. (The hotel was full, so we couldn't move rooms). The window only opened a fraction, plus we were on the road side, so very noisy.

It's a shame as the staff were lovely.

Finally, both room key cards were deactivated on the final day prior to us checking out.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the sister hotel next door last year and that was great. In this hotel we had a room on the third floor facing the road. Traffic extremely noisy all night with heavy freight driving up and down. Even with the window closed the double glazing did not block out the sound. As the room was so hot we put the air con on. The minimum temperature you are able to select is 19 degrees, too hot to sleep. The real bug bear though was the fact that the air con kept resetting itself to 23 degrees for no reason. We asked maintenance to check it but it still did the same. Also, the Air con would turn itself on too, spooky!

Would stay at the sister hotel next time as very disrupted sleep here. Reception did lend us two fans but they did little to cool the room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here for the last 10 years to watch the fireworks and It has got steadily better. This year air conditioning and insulation on the roadside windows, which have been noisy in the past. Always a superb breakfast. Should not be recommending this as I don't want it to be fully booked when I want to go to Plymouth.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

a 3 night break with breakfast proved to be a super weekend. Hotel staff and location are excellent. The service and professional attitude from the staff was very good and the breakfast choice and quality was really good value. We would certainly recommend a stay at Sutton Harbour.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of July, 2014. The bed was really comfortable, the room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was the best we have had in a hotel, hot and fresh. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The experience certainly surpassed my expectations.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking Sutton Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,294 reviews
3.1 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Address: 28 Sutton Road, Plymouth PL4 0HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#9 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of central Plymouth with marina views, close to the National Marine Aquarium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Plymouth (Sutton Harbour) Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing