We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Village pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mildmay Colours Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mildmay Colours Inn
Ranked #69 of 83 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly Village pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This typical village pub is located in the quiet village of Holbeton, enjoy a walk in tranquil country lanes, through secluded woodland and find the River Erm, looking to escape the rush for an hour or two? If so this is the place then into the colours for a pint and a hearty meal

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had a sunday carvery which was very ordinary and not particularly good value. This place is in need of a good spruce up/facelift and feels very tired and run down now.
We were disappointed with the service from the 'chef' who was serving the carvery when my Daughter asked for some more potatoes and veg on a return trip to the carvery buffet. When she politely asked if she could have more was told simply 'no'. !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

If you are looking for five star accommodation this place is not for you but if you are looking for something a little more basic with a matching price tag this is the perfect choice, it is what is says on the tin with the added bous of a Pub, We will use again next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_DIXON1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
833 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

This is a pub which has rooms in a kind of separate stable conversion off the pub car park. On arrival it was a bit confusing as we parked and could see two people sitting in the pub garden, so we got out of the car, tried all the pub doors and it was shut between 3pm and 6pm so we went round to the garden and then they realised we were guests but were not sure if one or two rooms had been booked, although two were allocated and were ready with the key in the door - this couple were relatives of the landlords. The room was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed, tv and tea/coffee making facilities plus ensuite. The tv had Freesat but no instructions how to work it so in the end the owner came and sorted it. The heating was also a complete mystery but worked in the end so they probably need to put a few written instructions in the room. You have to order your cooked breakfast the night before which was a bit odd as there were only two of us staying and I am not always sure what I want until the day arrives. The breakfast was served in a nice room upstairs in the pub and was of very good quality and there was plenty of fresh brewed coffee, plus fruit, cereal and toast available in addition to the cooked breakfast. The couple who run the pub are very friendly. Holbeton is a one horse town in the middle of no where with just a pub, village shop, church and one other restaurant which did not appear to be open. We didn't eat in the pub apart from breakfast. They did offer a menu of standard pub fare but it was a bit uninspiring so we drove into Kingsbridge to eat. The pub is a bit old fashioned and could do with redecorating and a new carpet but overall it was fine for one night but there is not a lot going on in Holbeton. There is quite a bit of accommodation around the rooms we stayed in and there were quite a few comings and goings with cars but it did quieten down at night and I did sleep very well as the bed was comfortable. You can just hear the church clock chime, which it does every hour, and there is a cockerel that likes to crow at 5am but it is not really a problem and did not particularly disturb me. Visitors to the pub use the car park which is just outside the letting rooms and you can potentially hear people leaving the pub. There is no wifi internet access which was a bit of a nuisance and would be a good and useful feature. They do offer a hair dryer and iron/ironing board on request which is helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

We enjoyed staying here and would stay again if we were in the area. It's a good base for the local area, the village is pretty, the pub is excellent - good beer and food and the accomodation simple but clean and comfortable (and warm)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights visiting family nearby.
Felt room was expensive for what it was - £59 per night with any breakfast extra! but this is maybe standard for the area.
Accomodation is in a few rooms - set back in a seperate block behind a pub in the village of Holbeton. The village itself is very pretty with lots of quaint cottages etc but the roads to the village are more or less single track roads with extremely high bankings.

The room itself was quite small but facilities were adequate. The bedding was probably the best thing in the room. The weather was very wet when we visited and I just felt cold. I thought I would have a bath to heat up but the bath was a short shower bath with a step/seat which did not seem to fill up but the shower was okay with plenty of hot water.
The plughole in the sink was horrid!
There was a sign saying to open the windows if using a hairdryer etc incase the fire alarm was set off and as the people in the next room were only feet away I felt I had to wait till a reasonable time in the morning to dry my hair so as not to wake everyone around. It just did not make me feel comfortable at all.
We also found our room unlocked when we came back one day after it had been cleaned.
Overall ok If you need a base to sleep.I may have had a different experience had the weather been nice but would not recommend if you can afford to pay a bit more for something a bit more special.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

Having stayed here on the 30th/31st July I can't understand the last review. This isn't a five star hotel its a pub/hotel in a small village. The rooms were clean and comfortable with big beds. The three meals and breakfast's we had during our stay were really good. The staff were ok and served good beer, the pub atmosphere was exactly what you would expect in a village pub, friendly. From the location you can branch out and find local gems, speak to the landlord, Chris, who is only to willing to advise you.

  • Liked — Relaxing
  • Disliked — The weather during our stay
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastEnd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.0 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mildmay Colours Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mildmay Colours Inn

Property: Mildmay Colours Inn
Address: Fore Street | Holbeton, Plymouth PL8 1NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 280
Also Known As:
Mildmay Colours Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing