We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great village pub”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mildmay Colours Inn
Ranked #69 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It is very nice to visit a proper pub, real ales and home cooked food by the landlady. We were passing through Holbeton and feeling rather hungry and thirsty popped in. The landlord was very welcoming and helpful, he passed on his vast knowledge of real ales and made our stay enjoyable. We ordered food from the menu and had a great meal cooked by the landlady,well prepared and a full plate as well, she took time to make sure everything was ok, which it was. We were made to feel very welcome and left with every intention to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

This pub used to be the heart and soul of the village. My family has frequently visited 2-3 times a year (normally in summer), and it's got completely downhill. They recently got a pizza menu, and feeling quite peckish I ordered a large only to be greated by what I'd describe as a taster portion(which wasn't very good either!). Some things are so over priced, we were charged nearly £2 for a pint of very watered orange SQUASH. You could buy a bottle of the squash with that. Such a disappointment what has happened to this once lovely pub in the hands of the newish Landlord, who puts all his efforts into the new customers or b&b customers instead of the loyal ones. Such a shame.

Room Tip: Don't go here. ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I recently stayed at Holberton and used the pub most nights.
For a small village Holberton is lucky to have two thriving pubs and may I suggest the Mildmay Colours is more the locals pub, there is a good range of well kept local ales, the food is typical pub style , well cooked and tasty.
The staff are very pleasant and I can see why this pub is so popular.
It would be worth a phone to check when the kitchen is open as it is closed a few nights of the week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyW5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were staying at a B and B in Holbeton and went to the Mildmay Colours a couple of times. The atmosphere was great - everybody we met was friendly. It has the feel of a traditional pub and and the landlord was brilliant - nothing was too much trouble. Our meals were good - fairly traditional pub fare but done well and when we weren't happy with something the landlord was very quick to sort it out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huxleydog72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Visited the Mildmay on Saturday for a meal with friends. There were 7 of us and the food was excellent. It came out hot and the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I ordered the Haddock and chips and it was the best haddock I have had in a long time. Not overcooked and the batter was golden and crisp. Would go back in a flash and hope to visit there again next time we see friends in Holbeton.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank annie2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This typical village pub is located in the quiet village of Holbeton, enjoy a walk in tranquil country lanes, through secluded woodland and find the River Erm, looking to escape the rush for an hour or two? If so this is the place then into the colours for a pint and a hearty meal

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had a sunday carvery which was very ordinary and not particularly good value. This place is in need of a good spruce up/facelift and feels very tired and run down now.
We were disappointed with the service from the 'chef' who was serving the carvery when my Daughter asked for some more potatoes and veg on a return trip to the carvery buffet. When she politely asked if she could have more was told simply 'no'. !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
6.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
8.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,622 reviews
8.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
601 reviews
9.5 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,104 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mildmay Colours Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mildmay Colours Inn

Address: Fore Street | Holbeton, Plymouth PL8 1NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 280
Also Known As:
Mildmay Colours Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing