We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and simple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Future Inn Plymouth
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice and simple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on business.

Check in was quick and the person that checked me in was very chatty and helpful.

Taxi from the train station was £10

Room is nice and big with one double bed and a sofa. Pillows are good (not too soft!)

Two big drawers plus wardrobe hanging space (with about 10 hangers)

Plug socket next to the bed which is great

Shower is amazing

Hair dryer is good and quite powerful as well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Coddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We pride ourselves on having excellent facilities for business travellers as well as our leisure guests, and it is great to hear you agree.
Your comments regarding the reception staff will be passed on to the team.
We hope you choose Future Inn Plymouth again when you are next visiting for business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    653
    216
    84
    54
See reviews for
541
540
81
434
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Needham Market, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

3 or 4 miles from city centre, but nice and quiet because of that, room was very large and comfortable with a separate sofa. Complimentary bottle of water supplied and biscuits with the coffee/tea. Nice large car park too. Didn't try breakfast as it was £9 per head, or dinner in Fishbone restaurant. The real ale in the bar was not kept very well unfortunately. The lager we tried was fine, but very expensive at £4.30/£4.50 per pint! Stayed 2 nights 25/26 October, really good value for the two nights. Will definitely stay again if the same offer is on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TractorSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review.
We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and to be great value for money.
I am grateful for your feedback regarding the ales and prices in the bar; this will be passed on to our food & beverage manager for their consideration.
We hope you choose Future Inn Plymouth again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Second stay at this hotel whilst visiting son at Uni. Again a clean and friendly hotel with good sized rooms and facilities.
We didn't eat in so can't comment on the fishbone restaurant but didn't look very busy whenever we walked past.
Got a buy two nights get one free with Expedia so price was reasonable. Will always check this one out as an option when visiting again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Faiergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel enough to visit us again.
It is unfortunate that you did not get an opportunity to try our restaurant, however we hope you try it during your next visit.
We hope to you see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I did not stay at hotel but did eat in hotel restaurant. And may i say how shocked i was, after reading such bad reviews, i can not believe i was in same place. I had no wait for a table no long wait for my meal, which the presentation was spot on. Very friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. Definitely recommend it and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank guyb200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Fishbone restaurant and for your kind comments regarding the service in the restaurant and the helpfully staff. I have passed this on the restaurant team.

Antony Hayman
Food & Beverage Manager - Fishbone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tessacate88
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Summary: Overall a clean modern hotel outside the city centre. We stayed here 5 nights and would probably stay here again but eat elsewhere. If the service were to improve I would definitely stay here again.

Location: about 15 mins by car from the harbour but not difficult to find if you have a GPS. The hotel had plenty of free parking.

Check-in: We arrived early and they were happy to hold our luggage while we explored the town for the day in our hire car. Later in the day when we checked in the receptionist wrote the wrong room number on the card which resulted in 3 visits to reception to get it sorted out and with no apology at all for the inconvenience (we had been trying to open another room’s door with our key). There was no porter, but there were self serve trolleys readily available on request.

Room: large and well designed for the business traveller. Comfortable bed but no fridge or safe. The hotel has drink machines and an ice machine for guests’ use. Each room has an ice bucket which we filled every evening with ice for our drinks. The room attendant however refused to empty the water from the ice bucket which we had to do ourselves daily when we returned to the room at the end of the day. I was also unimpressed one day when, on returning to the room, the room attendant had left one of the bed cushions and bed coverings in a heap on the floor and had also left an empty chip bag which had fallen on the floor next to the waste bin. Neither of these issues were a big deal, but it does go to the attitude of staff in the hotel which could be better overall.

Bathroom: Shower over the bath and a towel heater. Large bath
towels. Reasonable water pressure.

TV and Wi-Fi: Free wifi and the internet speed was fine. The room had a flat screen stand alone TV. Free to air channels were all I could find and annoyingly, there was no electronic program guide on the remote control.

Guest laundry: We had been travelling for 3 weeks by that stage and were very pleased that the hotel had a guest laundromat on the first floor. There were two washing machines and two driers requiring two pounds each to operate.

Restaurant: Adequate is the best I can give it for the food and inadequate for the restaurant service. The first night the service was friendly and we chose from the Oktoberfest special menu. Two nights later we went to the restaurant again because we were too tired to go elsewhere and were told they had run out of many of the Oktoberfest items and weren’t offering that menu that day. The waitress was unfriendly, unwelcoming and didn’t smile at all. They were busy, but after waiting an hour and ten minutes for our hamburgers to arrive, we asked them to make it room service instead when it was ready paid the hotel’s Euro 3.50 room service delivery charge.

Check-out: Quick, efficient. The hotel provided comment sheets in the room which we completed. When I asked at reception where the box was to deposit the forms, there wasn’t one. Just hand them to the staff.

Overall a good hotel but in my opinion the staff could use some more training, better attention to detail and better supervision.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessacate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Future Inn Plymouth.
Firstly, I would like to thank you for the comments regarding the quality of the room and bathroom, and guest amenities such as free with and guest laundry.
I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered with our staff during your stay. We have a very thorough and efficient front of house team, and I am sorry that there was an error with your room number. I am also sorry for the poor level of cleanliness in your room during your stay; your comments will be discussed with our housekeeping manager, as this is well below the standard we aim to achieve.
Once again thank you for all of your feedback, and we hope you choose Future Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as a chance to meet our nephew and his girlfriend and see Plymouth. We were provided with a special offer. When we arrived we were very impressed with the size of the rooms and the cleanliness. We had breakfast each day and had one evening meal in the Fishbone restaurant. There was plenty on offer at breakfast, enough to fill us up for the day. We found the taxi service very good and the cost for one into town was less than a bus ride one way into town for four people. We are glad to see they have one in the Bristol area if our nephew and girlfriend ever need to come up this way to see us. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are disabled or have problems getting into a bath, they have eight wet rooms and they are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeweers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.
We are pleased to hear your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the room.
We would highly recommend Future Inn Bristol too, an excellent location.
If you use us (or Bristol) again we would suggest signing up to the Future Club Rewards scheme, just visit our website or ask at reception.
We hope you see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we were attending a dinner and dance. Reception was very friendly with quick check in and out. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable. We had read reviews of the food and decided to eat out, which suited us fine. However, the food at our dinner and dance was not of the standard we expected. I had the Wild Mushroom risotto which was warm and stodgy, not creamy as expected. The starter and sweet were good. Easy bus access into the city. We would recommend the hotel, but not the food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Future Inn. I have passed your kind comments regarding the friendly and quick check in and out, also the spacious and clean bedroom. I have passed this on to the front office and housekeeping team.

Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies about your wild mushroom risotto, I have review the dish and will take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you for taking the time and effort to bring these matters to our attention and that your feedback is invaluable in our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services.


Antony Hayman
Future Inns Plymouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Plymouth

Property: Future Inn Plymouth
Address: 1 William Prance Road, Plymouth PL6 5ZD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Business Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Future Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Future Inn Plymouth boasts 143, spacious, air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms equipped with all the modern convenient amenities you would expect of a quality upscale hotel with exceptional value for money. Future Inn Plymouth is in the perfect location for both business and leisure travelers to Devon and Cornwall. Dartmoor National Park, Plymouth City Centre, Plymouth Hoe, Historic Barbican, Sea Front, Fish Market, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Dome and the Theatre Royal are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Future Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Future Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Future Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing