We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellant hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Future Inn Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Future Inn Plymouth
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Rabun Gap, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exellant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent hotel in a busy area. Had a wonderful time for two nights and excellent food. Had a great time staying here. Very good location for the places we visited and the morning breakfast as very good. Again the usual "powdered eggs" which I was now getting used too. Would prefer the real eggs. Everything was very good at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephrdrexler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We are grateful for the kind comments regarding the hotel and restaurant in particular. Your feedback regarding the eggs will be passed to our food and beverage manager for their consideration.
If you would like, you can also leave a review for the restaurant directly, just search TripAdvisor for Fishbone Bar and Restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    641
    210
    82
    50
See reviews for
530
531
79
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

On a tour with 26 people, we were booked into this hotel. The rooms are nice, but average. The bathroom is a surprise..NO ONE could find the toilet...seems you have to open the door, go into the bathroom, then close the door and the toilet room is revealed. Even our English bus driver called the reception desk to ask where the toilet was located. BUT the problem was with the food. The first night there was a buffet. Steamed fish, no seasoning, chili over white rice, brussel sprouts and cauliflower. I asked for lemon or tartar sauce and they had none. I even asked at the bar, surely they would have lemon or limes..nope, they had had an inspection the day before and were told not to hold over any cut fruit...OK, so why didn't someone go to the local supermarket and buy some more? Next night, we ate off the menu. People at table next to us waited 45 minutes for water and their entree...hamburgers! Guess we were lucky, we only waited 25 min. We noticed that even though diners had left the tables, no one bussed them until the place was almost empty..servers just stood around or disappeared. Also no water to buy so we could have bottled water in our room...they had run out of that as well. Breakfast buffet was a bit better, but no home run there either. It seems no one has trained the staff. They are nice and apologetic, but cannot do anything. I would not recommend this place to anyone. And I know that several of our group are contacting the tour management so no one else has to stay here. Oh, yes, and no help with the bags, even though most of us are seniors.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered whilst staying with us, and take this opportunity to explain some of the issues.
The bathroom door set-up is for space saving; by having that door, both the toilet and shower/bath can be used at the same time with a door in between for privacy.
I am very sorry for the problems you encountered in our restaurant. You are correct in saying that we should have had the condiments you requested readily available. These comments have been passed to our new food and beverage manager, who will implement a procedure to ensure it does not happen again.
With regards to help with the luggage, I am afraid that this is something that your tour company needs to pre-arrange. If they had arranged with us prior to your arrival that porterage would be required, we would be more than happy to do so, however without prior notice we cannot provide porterage for 26 guests.
I hope this reply helps explain some of the issues you encountered, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

You're staying here because you must..... and on that basis its fine. Bland, functional business hotel with a better-than-average formula restaurant with panoramic views of the carpark. Dull but fine.... vaguely negligent staff could be better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review.
I am sorry to hear that you found our hotel to be characterless. Whilst offering a service to our customers we do try to differentiate ourselves from our competitors.
Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you choose Future Inn Plymouth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I first stayed here two years ago when my grandson competed in a swimming meet at the Life Centre, just a few minutes drive away. We loved the hotel then and our opinion has not changed this time around when we came back for the same event.

We got a great deal on a suite and would recommend this to anyone. You basically get two rooms, a bedroom with an enormous king size bed and a huge, adjoining room with arm chairs, dining table and chairs and a very comfortable sofa bed. Both rooms have modern televisions and free wifi. There is also a full size fridge - a great bonus.

The staff were fantastic and very helpful, the rooms were spotless, the courtesy tray was kept stocked and complimentary bottled water was replaced every day. The bathroom was well supplied with good quality toiletries and lots of snow white, fluffy towels.

Food in the restaurant was good but expensive and choice was limited (though the cheese board was amazing - a meal in itself). but there was an 'early bird' offer between 5 and 7 o'clock every afternoon, when you had a choice of ten main dishes for £10 each. Breakfast was fine this time around but a continental option was not offered.

There is plenty of free parking.

All in all, this is a great hotel and I am looking to returning some time soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review.
I am very pleased to read that you liked our hotel enough to return, and that on return we did not disappoint.
Your comments regarding the friendly staff and clean rooms will be passed to the department heads, and this praise will be passed to the staff.
We hope you choose Future Inns for your next visit to Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Future Inn. Both times we had a very comfortable large room with good amenities & friendly staff in this large modern hotel. There is ample parking & reasonable prices. The first time we stayed we were there for 6 nights and had 3 other rooms booked for family & friends as we were got married close by and everyone of our group were complimentary about the hotel. We have only 1 negative comment & that was of the food in the restaurant which was awful. The waiting staff were helpful and tried to solve my complaint. We had breakfast on 1 morning which was not very good either, but we would still return & recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FallenByTheWayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that as a returning customer you still find our rooms and staff to be pleasant.
We pride ourselves on consistently offering a high standard, and it is great to hear that you agree.
I would like to apologise for the issues you have encountered whilst dining with us. Your feedback has been passed to our food and beverage manager, who will ensure this does not happen again.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here during a weekend break to Plymouth. We booked a room here as we got a great discount through Expedia, it wasn't until after making a reservation that I read reviews (risky I know). Most were glowing so I was confident that I would enjoy the experience, and I definitely wasn't disappointed. The check in process was efficient and the staff were welcoming. The room was fantastic; spacious, spotless with great facilities (tea/coffee station, ironing board and iron, hair dryer, heated towel rail, toiletries, free wifi, smart TV, desk, air con, sofabed) which set the hotel apart from other hotel chains that lack basic amenities within their rooms. I also think the rooms would be perfect for longer breaks as they are large with lots of storage space (wardrobe and chest of drawers) as well as there being laundry facilities at the hotel. We slept well, the bed was comfortable, we didn't hear any noise from outside or other guests. We didn't eat breakfast here as we had other plans, but judging by the room service menu the restaurant prices were expensive. However, if the service and quality is on point then it may be well worth it. As for location it's outside of the city centre but within easy reach if you're driving, there's also a McDonalds across the road. Overall we were really impressed and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rls26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I am very pleased to read that you found our staff helpful and room comfortable. It is also great to read that you found all of our amenities to be of use.
We hope you choose Future Inn Plymouth again soon, and if you contact us direct we will match any rate on agency websites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

With travelling with work it can be a bit lonely. From walking through the door the reception staff was so helpful and friendly.
The restaurant food and service were great.
Room very large and clean.
A huge thank you to the man on Reception on Tuesday the 22nd April at night. He helped me with the Internet and went out of his way to print off my boarding pass. I had no idea what to do and he did it for me. He is a credit to your hotel (sorry don't know his name) as were all the staff so friendly.
I will be back and recommend . Thank You

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Seashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review.
I am very pleased to read that you felt comfortable and at home during you stay with us, we try to make every stay as pleasant as possible.
I am also very pleased to read that Karl on the front desk was very helpful. We pride ourselves on having a very helpful and professional team, and it is great to hear that you agree.
We hope you choose Future Inn for your next visit to Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Plymouth

Property: Future Inn Plymouth
Address: 1 William Prance Road, Plymouth PL6 5ZD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Future Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Future Inn Plymouth boasts 143, spacious, air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms equipped with all the modern convenient amenities you would expect of a quality upscale hotel with exceptional value for money. Future Inn Plymouth is in the perfect location for both business and leisure travelers to Devon and Cornwall. Dartmoor National Park, Plymouth City Centre, Plymouth Hoe, Historic Barbican, Sea Front, Fish Market, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Dome and the Theatre Royal are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Future Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Future Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Future Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing