We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Future Inn Plymouth
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Fairly easy to find from the ferry. Excellent amount of private parking. Modern, clean and spacious - especially the room. Shower over bath rather than step-in, if that is an issue for you. Efficient, polite staff. very international, corporate atmosphere, but none the worse for that. Good, varied breakfast, though rather confusingly arranged - staff could have done more to guide customers as to where everything was, e.g. bizarrely, I didn't find the cereals section until after I'd had my cooked items. Overall price good for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any with step-in shower, if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRCman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review.
We are grateful for your kind words regarding the quality of our rooms and helpful staff, this feedback will be passed on to our team.
Your comments regarding breakfast service will be looked in to by our restaurant manager, to improve the service we offer.
We hope you choose Future Inn for your next visit to Plymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is very clean, comfortable and well run. The restaurant however is quite different. The food is fine but the service abysmal the staff appeared to be untrained, unhappy, confused and unsupervised. I felt sorry for the hotel reception staff having to constantly apologise for the restaurant. Someone needs to git a grip on the situation.
Fran

Room Tip: 4th floor has good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to hear you found your room to be pleasant and the food nice.
However, I would like to apologise for the service you received whilst dining with us.
I have discussed your comments with our restaurant manager, as this is not the standard of service we pride ourselves on offering.
Thank you once again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently visited this hotel for a short stay attending a local wedding.
After we found this hotel, the sat nav thought it was on the other side of the road?, on arrival all looked good.
Reception was OK, the room was fine with two double beds.
Then we went down for dinner.
What a shambles. Menu looked reasonable but service pretty poor. Long wait to take order, long wait to get food, staff looked unhappy.
When to food finally arrived, it resembled a fast service food establishment, over cooked, too much horrible potatoes, dry and very little veg and overall looked and tasted poor. No nicety or wanting to eat what was in-front of us.
Ghastly.
Breakfast the next morning about the same, a coach party had took most food and replenishment was poor. Not much variety, also cold coffee from a tired water flask.
Bye the way, bar drinks cost £28.00 for 5 adults, a rip??
The next morning breakfast was a little better but try and find a table that was cleaned and laid up. The coach party had left and most tables were dirty with no one clearing up.
As a hotel, there are only two main service offerings, the room which was ok and the restaurant which needed major sorting out. I feel you should take note and eat somewhere else.
In this day of customer care and service, this restaurant must be avoided.

Room Tip: Any building corner rooms or a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westwood_ho68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review.
I am concerned to hear about your experiences whilst dining in our Fishbone restaurant.
I would like to apologise for these issues; we pride ourselves on offering excellent service and I am disappointed that on this occasion we have not met those standards.
Your feedback has been passed to our restaurant manager, who will look in to these shortcomings to ensure they do not happen again.
Thank you once again for your feedback, and we hope you choose Future Inn Plymouth again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is immaculate, modern, with large rooms and great powerful shower. I enjoyed my stay.

However the food there is criminal. 45 min wait for a medium rare steak which was overdone. Corn fritters without corn. Awful service. Let down!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
Firstly, I would like to say how pleased we are to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and clean.
I am concerned to hear the issues you encountered whilst dining with us. I will discuss your comments with our restaurant manager to try to ensure this does not happen again.
I am very sorry for the problems you had whilst staying with us, and I hope this does not deter you from staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After reading some reviews I was a little apprehensive about staying at the Future Inn, however all 4 staff I spoke to understood and were fluent in English and more importantly helpful. The room was spacious, with Dartmoor seen in the distance, even the aircon worked and was powerful enough to cool the room down very quickly. Wi-Fi was free with no need for a password. The rooms were well equipped with Coffee making facilities, plug sockets (at least 6 spare) , Large TV, and free bottle of water. The toilet behind the door in the bathroom wasn't a problem and the shower gave Hot powerful showers very quickly when turned on. Even though it was 9am on a weekend, everything at Breakfast was replenished quickly if it ran out and all was hot. The Food quality at breakfast was OK, not bad but not brilliant either.
The decor in my room(4th floor) felt modernish (or at least 1990's onwards) and would not look out of place in a modern European Hotel.
On the downside, the bed was a little on the soft springy side, although not enough to prevent a good night's sleep. The doors to the room when opening and shutting are a little loud, so other guests coming and going may keep you awake. But these are minor gripes. For the price and what you get, I would stay again.

Room Tip: North Facing rooms overlook dartmoor in the far distance. The main road is on the west side and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We are very grateful for the kind comments regarding our staff and the amenities in your room.
We pride ourselves on offering a comfortable stay for our guests, and I am pleased to read that we achieved that during your stay.
We hope you choose Future Inn for your next visit to Plymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I felt I had to write and congratulate the management and staff for the well run hotel we are staying at. Booked for a week including breakfast (breakfast is brilliant, good variety of food, hot and cold) and have really enjoyed our stay. The only problem has been the restaurant service and quality of the cooking, but this problem was dealt with by Janet, the Food and Drinks service manager who was most apologetic and dealt with our complaint marvelously. Our room was well presented and very clean and we do thank the duty manager for the fridge we needed for my friends insuline. On the whole, if your looking for a clean, decent hotel...look no further..you wont be disappointed at all

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank railman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I am very pleased to read that for the duration of your stay you found the hotel to be clean and the staff pleasant.
I am glad to hear that Janet resolved the issue you had whilst dining with us. I will pass on your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days while he was working in the Plymouth area. It was a great hotel from upon check in until we left. The lobby area of the hotel is very big and spacious as well as the lifts. Our room was also very big with a two seat couch, large desk and drawer space. The bed was very comfortable and it also had air conditioning which is so important for me, we also had the option to open the windows if needed and it was quite throughout the morning and night with it open when trying to sleep. The room had bottled water for us and we got a new one each day. I left a note one day for a bit more decaf coffee and milk and they left us more then enough! The bathroom also had a lot of space and has the heated towel rack. Large wardrobe with plenty hangers, iron and ironing board. The whole room was also very clean and had so many outlets to charge our electronics (we have tons) this was nice to see. The TV is a smart TV which was cool to play with for a little while but nothing special. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant called Fishbone. Delish food as well, quick service and they were fine with splitting the check for business purposes with no problems. We did not think the food was expensive at all. We also had breakfast here and it was the best breakfast I've had from all the hotels we've stayed it. You pay £10.00 for buffett breakfast that included fried and scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, beans, black pudding, mushrooms, fried bread, a range of fruit, yogurt and much more. The restaurant is even open for lunch. We didn't have lunch there. There is even a McDonald's walking distance (across the road) if you prefer that as well as a KFC and Pizza Hut down the street from there. Very convience. Though this hotel is not close to the Hoe or Barbican you can still take a cab if need be or drive yourself, it isn't far at all. this hotel has free parking so you can come and go as you like with no issues. We will come back and loved our stay here. Oh there is also a coke machine, snack mach and Ice machine on the first floor if needed. There is also a wash room for guest to use their washing machine if you need to wash your clothes and a small work out room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilleBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlymouthManager, Front Office Manager at Future Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review.
We are very pleased to read that you found every aspect of your stay matched your expectations.
We pride ourselves on offering an excellent service for a competitive price, and it is great to hear that you agree.
As a customer looking to return to us, we would recommend joining our Future Club Rewards scheme; it is free to join and you gain rewards just for staying with us. If you would like more information you can visit our website or ask one of our front of house team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,571 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,028 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
3.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Future Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Future Inn Plymouth

Address: 1 William Prance Road, Plymouth PL6 5ZD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#6 Business Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £51 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Future Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Future Inn Plymouth boasts 143, spacious, air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms equipped with all the modern convenient amenities you would expect of a quality upscale hotel with exceptional value for money. Future Inn Plymouth is in the perfect location for both business and leisure travelers to Devon and Cornwall. Dartmoor National Park, Plymouth City Centre, Plymouth Hoe, Historic Barbican, Sea Front, Fish Market, National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth Dome and the Theatre Royal are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Future Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Future Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Future Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Future Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing