We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sensibly priced hotel but without soul”
Review of Jurys Inn Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Absolutely modern, immaculate bedrooms and not bad food but as you enter the foyer and approach the reception desk you are aware that the whole place lacks character. However in the prices the hotel charges you are getting excellent value for money. It is in the centre of the city and within walking distance of so much any visitor would want to see. The historical Barbican is just down the road, Plymouth Hoe is about a fifteen minute walk and the Theatre Royal is about five minutes away. Be warned parking is not easy. Nonetheless Jurys is value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear valerie m,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us in January. I'm delighted to report that since your stay, we have completely renovated the ground floor of the hotel making it a much warmer and more modern space.

We would be delighted to welcome you back so you can review the changes and if I can help with any future bookings, I would be very happy to hear from you at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards

Donal

Donal Stafford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,882 - 1,888 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

excellent friendly staff, good bedroom - nice and clean, parking is terrible with not being able to unload before moving to parking area which was expensive. Bar was often not attended and the drinks were dear. It is very close to the shopping and the barbican .

Room Tip: bed is only a small double though we were told at reception that all rooms we had booked would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank glynceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear glynceri,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for your very positive comments about the team here, it's very much appreciated.

I appreciate your comments on the car park, being a city centre hotel we don't have our own dedicated car park and work with a parking provider adjacent to the hotel. Should you choose to stay with us in the future; there is a drop off area at the rear of the hotel on Bilbury St. which can make things more manageable in terms of loading and unloading.

If I can assist with future bookings or anything else, I would be only too happy to hear from you at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards

Donal

Donal Stafford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I found this hotel to be a good choice. Very central, yes the parking is a bit difficult but that's to be expected in such a central location. The room was spacious and clean, staff were polite and helpful and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 940nonnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We regularly stay at the Jurys Inn in Plymouth, just for a cosy quiet night away, we live locally, care for parents. Parking, booking in. Our room, room facilities, location. We love it, it serves all our needs. Comfy beds, very clean, always enjoy the secure feeling of city hotels. Value for money on laterooms booking is excellent. Staff seem to have very good attitude. Particularly noticed bar staff.

Room Tip: all rooms seem fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanderson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear sanderson23,

Thank you so much for your review and repeated custom, it's very much appreciated. I'm delighted you always enjoy your stay with us and I will be passing your kind comments on to the team here.

If I can ever be of assistance for future bookings or anything else at all, please don't hesitate to get in touch at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards
Donal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A pretty standard hotel, made out of the ordinary by the quality of the staff. I spent 2 nights as part of a business trip and all of the staff I encountered could not have been more helpful. I needed a meeting room at short notice and one was found, cleaned and coffee provided in the space of just a few minutes.
Location is excellent, just a few minutes from the Barbican, University and main shopping centre. Ample parking. rooms are a little small, but perfectly adequate.
Rooms at the back on the 7th floor have a nice view of the harbour.

Room Tip: Rear rooms will be slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Particular staff (will not mention names) were extremely helpful and even went out of their way to assist us. Will go again. Clean and spacious rooms. Safe at night and is located to the city center and the university.

Room Tip: I guess any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Chris C,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It's great to hear the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

If I can be of any assistance in the future, please let me know at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards

Donal

Donal Stafford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Under staffed. But those staff that were there were friendly, smiley and helpful. Full of coach loads of people all going to breakfast at once! Although the staff did separate us this morning which worked, just. The rooms are comfortable and air conditioned. The bath is perfectly sized for me, small and shallow and the hot water plentiful and readily available. The hairdryer burns itself out after 30 sec so you have to dry your hair in stages. Chose a room away from the front, lifts and get as high as you can. I unfortunately have noisy neighbours, the doors slam very loudly. Use the back door if you want the Barbican. I recommend a restaurant in Vauxhall Street which you will come across if you exit from the rear of the hotel at Floor -1. Modern and clean. Free limited Wi-Fi. Don't worry about the time count down it resets itself when you next log on.

Room Tip: High and south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,047 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Plymouth

Address: 50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £57 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Plymouth offers the perfect city centre location from which to explore the beautiful city of Plymouth. The hotel is right beside the historic quarter and offers an easy 10 minute walk to the city hub which features the Drake Circus Retail Park, the Theatre Royal, the Barbican Maritime Village and Continental style Sutton Marina. The world-famous Dartmoor National Park is a 45 minute drive away. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Plymouth Charles Cross car park, underneath Gala Bingo or at the Drake Circus Shopping Mall opposite the hotel. Our comfortable, newly designed bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Plymouth with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Jurys Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing