We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff of town centre hotel”
Review of Jurys Inn Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff of town centre hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a good welcome but had a problem with the parking below, which was from a different company. We managed a refund as we booked the wrong parking hours, and the staff were helpful.
We walked to the Barbican for dinner which was convenient and much more character. The wifi was free.

Room Tip: South facing and sixth floor are best. Above that rooms are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayzgoose110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear wayzgoose110,

Thank you for your review, it’s good to hear that the team were able to assist you with your parking problem. If I can be of assistance for future bookings or any other query, I would be happy to hear from you at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards

Donal

Donal Stafford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    916
    426
    136
    74
See reviews for
586
692
139
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights recently, due to short notice I had limited options and really had no other choice but Jury's Inn - so for that this review is a little biased but the comments reflect the service provided for the price paid.

Rooms are large and clean, but dated and tired. I had a street facing room and whilst not under the control of the hotel, the usual "rowdies" provided a constant stream of noise into the early hours - especially on the Saturday night.

Visited the restaurant and was far from impressed, all of us "singles" were seated in the "naughty room" on the right as you enter and ate our meals in lonely silence. The price of which was over the top for very basic fair, but tastey all the same.

Breakfast was pretty decent, but once again at £10 a head, not the best value around.

The hotel has to improve on its information with regards to parking - which is both expensive (minimum £6/night) and hard to locate. The other point to note is that on a Sunday the garage doesn't open until 8.00am and so you have to leave your car "above ground" open to elements and the rowdies if you want an early start.

Bar food and beverages are very average, once again they are well overpriced and the quality of the food (I had a chicken curry which although being flavoursome, was dry and the chicken in huge chunks) was not that great . Take a short walk out of the back entrance (lower level) and within 5 minutes you are on the quayside with a range of bars and some decent restaurants, all at far better prices. (Top tip - Fortune Chinese in Tin Street - entrance as ugly as sin - ignore that and the decor in the stairwell, as the food is great along with the prices )

Would I stay here again ? - really not sure - probably only as a last resort and if I could get a decent rate, as there are plenty of hotels nearby that are much better all round.

Room Tip: I would go for rooms at the rear, not facing the street, as thee will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0mbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear WOmbat,

Thank you very much for submitting such a detailed review. I’m very grateful for the feedback; one result of which has led to us recently updating the car parking information on our website to make it much clearer for our guests.

I would be happy to help with any future booking requirements you may have to ensure you get the best rate possible and would be delighted to hear from you at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com to arrange.

Kind Regards

Donal

Donal Stafford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here four or five nights a week for several months. The rooms and bathrooms were always clean and well maintained. Staff were invariably efficient and friendly, and became even more friendly as we grew to know each other. There was always a huge choice at the breakfast buffet, most of it fine, although hot items were never quite hot enough, and the reconstituted fruit juices were nasty. The decor throughout is blander than bland but this IS a budget operation. It's perfectly pleasant, runs well and represents excellent value for money. I was always happy to return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing special. Not a very beautiful location but very close to the city centre. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the breakfast was decent (if not a little expensive for my taste.) Would definitely use again if I visited for business but not on a holiday.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxehmookau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Excellent position in the City, perfect for shops and theatre. Lovely rooms, good facilities and the friendliest and most helpful staff I've met in an hotel for years. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough! Stay there, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: This isn't an hotel you book for the views because it's in the centre - but for the convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Becky F,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for the terrific comments. I’m delighted you had such a great stay. If I can help with any future bookings, please don’t hesitate to contact me at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards

Donal

Donal Stafford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights nothing great to say about the stay it was just average! Rooms on par with a holiday inn express except you get one of those daft American baths that's about large enough for a child and totally useless for adults. Tried it once and flooded the bathroom! Our room was situated right opposite student accommodation ( so close that you can see and be seen easily!) no net curtains are available so on a lovely sunny day the main curtain had to be closed for privacy..... For heavens sake pls just put
up nets and save on electricity!!
Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight but I have to say that the hotel was completely full so it was understandable. So on the second morning we went to the Blue Bear Cafe situated just at the back doors to the hotel... Much nicer!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonalStafford, General Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Phil 1957,

Many thanks for your review and the very helpful feedback you provided. We would be more than happy to ensure you are allocated a room facing away from the apartment building beside us on a future visit and if I can help with this or anything else, please don’t hesitate to contact me at Donal_Stafford@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards

Donal

Donal Stafford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We booked our 1 night stay very far in advance so got a great deal. The room was very spacious with a large double and a single bed. The room including the bathroom was clean and well maintained. The location was great for us- we parked our car in the adjoining car park and walked to everything we wanted to see... Very close to the barbican which there is a lovely walk round.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Plymouth

Property: Jurys Inn Plymouth
Address: 50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Plymouth offers the perfect city centre location from which to explore the beautiful city of Plymouth. The hotel is right beside the historic quarter and offers an easy 10 minute walk to the city hub which features the Drake Circus Retail Park, the Theatre Royal, the Barbican Maritime Village and Continental style Sutton Marina. The world-famous Dartmoor National Park is a 45 minute drive away. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Plymouth Charles Cross car park, underneath Gala Bingo or at the Drake Circus Shopping Mall opposite the hotel. Our comfortable, newly designed bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Plymouth with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Jurys Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing