We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, take-me-as-you-find-me B&B in gorgeous Devon countryside”
Review of Gabber Farm

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gabber Farm
Ranked #54 of 80 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful, take-me-as-you-find-me B&B in gorgeous Devon countryside”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We arrived to find the front door open and a note from the owner saying "Gone out for the evening. Come on in; you're in room 5", which we found delightful. Our room was sunny by day and at night gave a view of the gloriously dark sky. The country silence meant that we were able to have the windows open all night, which was divine.

Everything was scrupulously clean, if rather cramped: we both brained ourselves on the fittings above the sink and in addition I nearly knocked myself out on the bracket supporting the TV, directly above the tea tray. The bed and the duvet were both narrower than usual (best suited to two small people), which meant that I spent the second night in the spare single bed, which the owner very kindly made up for us - and where I slept very well.

Breakfast was delicious, taken in the comfortable family living room, with local eggs, plenty of cafetiere coffee, and that rare treat, bread cut from an unsliced loaf.

We would be very happy to stay at Gabber Farm again - though perhaps in a larger room!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skylark42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at Gabber Farm. The proprietor was friendly, helpful and welcoming; my room was comfortable, clean and pleasant; breakfast was hearty and delicious (lots of choice too!). It was quiet and very relaxing. I will certainly stay there again – a delightful farm B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I found warm welcome from hosts. En-suite double room (single occupant) very comfortable clean, good hospitality tray well stocked with tea coffee horlicks etc. biscuits.
Had difficulty finding it at first but landlady had printed directions from and to A38, Plymouth and all surrounding beaches etc.
Breakfast was very good exc. choices. I notice in one review about unflexability of breakfast I did not find this so, cooked break. from 8 till 9 everything else was available till later and as this is a working farm, I thought this was fine I also found my host very friendly she works very hard both on the B&B and the farm.

Room Tip: I thought my room was very good It was at the back . It also looked over where the milking sheds wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank splodgealotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Our room was lovely and clean, spotless ensuite shower room, friendly and helpful owner who can't do enough to make your stay comfortable. Also, the best cooked breakfast we've ever had. Short drive to coast paths and pubs. Plymouth an easy drive away. We'll definately be back and wouldn't hesitate to tell our friends about this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smuggums88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

On a working farm and close to nature, breakfast to please even the most discerning. Not five star luxury, but clean and friendly and very convenient for Plymouth area, Dartmoor, Cornwall, Beaches, Wembury surfing and local walks. Country roads need care, but this is not the city. My second year staying for nearly 3 weeks and pleased again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lecturemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Gabber farm, difficult to find with the latter part of the journey being on single track lanes. The room was well furnished, clean with modern ensuite facilities. But the downside was unfriendliness of the host, and the unflexibility of the time of breakfast. This can be used as a good base to visit Plymouth and the surrounding areas, and Wembury beach is a nice little hideaway. Ideally you would use this B&B just as an overnight stop not as a week long holiday as we did. Parking at times was difficult.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjmerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.4 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
530 reviews
5.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
68 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,390 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabber Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabber Farm

Property: Gabber Farm
Address: Gabber Farm Gabber Lane, Plymouth PL9 0AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Gabber Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Gabber Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing