We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional b + b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drake

The Drake
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Drake
Ranked #17 of 83 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
county durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional b + b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while seeing our daughter who is in the navy the hotel is in a nice location quiet too so sleep is good it's central to all amenities And shops just a short walk away breakfast is very good even enough for me with a good appetite the owners are very helpful all in all a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coneycatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMac, Owner at The Drake, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Augusti and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    32
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
55
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, warm welcome. Great room very clean. Wonderful breakfast. Would recommend this hotel! Hope to stay there again. Close to the Hoe. Good parking. Relaxed atmosphere with good facilities. Friendly hosts ensured a pleasant stay when I was there for two nights.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank beardie341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMac, Owner at The Drake, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your kind comments were much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins, Belize
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had to change our plans and the proprietors were very helpful in accommodating the change. The location is excellent being close to the Hoe, Barbican and shops. It was nice to be able leave the car in the hotel car park and find our way around on foot. The accommodation was clean tidy and value for money. The breakfast certainly sets you up for the day! In short good value, great location, nice owners and recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sittee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMac, Owner at The Drake, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Augustis and I are pleased you found the accommodation comfortable and that you enjoyed the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Drake hotel for one night. Our room was spacious with a newly renovated en suite, very clean and very comfortable. The management were very helpful and the breakfast was superb. Would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Plymouth.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMac, Owner at The Drake, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to post a review. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights beginning of June, everything about this property was 1st class. Nicky greeted us at the door, and made us feel very welcome, it has a very personal touch, very clean, breakfast excellent and in a good position. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mavis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMac, Owner at The Drake, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Augusti and I are happy you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. Your kind comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Drake is exactly what you expect from a 'seaside' Bed and Breakfast: Clean, comfortable, a welcoming friendly 'land lady' and a great location. Ideally situated between the ferry terminal and the Barbican. Unfortunately I cannot comment on the breakfast as we stayed out way too late partying and could get out of bed in time to have breakfast and check out at 10am.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMac, Owner at The Drake, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully, you will stay with us again and next time sample our freshly, cooked to order breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while on a business trip as the usual corporate hotels were full - happy that I did as the location, personal touch and ambiance of this B&B made my overnight feel more like a pleasure than a chore - during the summer be sure to visit the nearby terrace cafe!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiMac, Owner at The Drake, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hello Adam. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Its good to know we can give the 'big boys' a run for their money! Your positive feedback is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake

Property: The Drake
Address: 2 Windsor Villas Lockyer Street, Plymouth PL1 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Drake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drake is a family-run Guest accommodation offering B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Drake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing