We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Drake
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$122
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Invicta Hotel(Plymouth)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Future Inn Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$178
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$180
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Plymouth Derriford Hotel(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$89
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$166
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$85
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
97
36
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
36
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centregreat locationb bguest accommodationlovely staircasenice dining roomelectric showerbreakfast was excellentplymouth hoebarbican areafree parkingfriendly greetingroom was spotlessly cleanfew minutes walkparking on sitelonger staylots of parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I stayed with 10 friends at this Hotel in April for a ladies weekend away and found it to be ideally located - Shopping, Barbican and Union Street are all within easy walking distance. The rooms are clean and clean towels/beds made etc. were done daily.

Breakfast consisted of Full English/Cereals/Fruit Juice and Yoghurt or you could substitute the Full English for something off their breakfast menu - very enjoyable/great cooking. The Hotel Staff are very friendly and helpful and gave us easy to follow directions to where we wanted to go and there are also a range of pamphlets in the reception area. The Hotel reception closes at 11pm but all guests are given front door & room keys on arrival which you keep with you at all times.

NOTE: If you don't remember your key and have to ring the reception bell to be let in AFTER 11pm then you may have to pay a charge of £20.

Couple of minor issues - 1 was that the showers in the rooms were all different and took a little bit of getting used to so that you could get hot water and 2nd was there are no lifts so the stairs maybe a problem for anyone with walking issues.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugarplum67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This hotel has such friendly staff, very welcoming and helpful and very friendly. Breakfast and evening meals are superb, the cooking really is fantastic.
I do not know what on earth the woman before was talking about, she must have been thinking of the wrong hotel, but then if you read other reviews she has written, she has complained about every hotel she has stayed in, fussy or what!!!
Perfect location for the town centre, restaurants etc, all within easy walking distance.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other people, certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Stayed for one night for a visit to the uni, the staff were very helpful and happy to print out maps and lend ironing boards etc. The hotel was about 5 minutes away from the Uni. The room was pefect for an overnight stay with onsuite, tv, desk etc. The off road parking was great as not many hotels in the area offer parking for free. Breakfast was nice and good selection. Overall very satisfied!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gapyear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

My partner and I only had one night there , but found it ideal for the the theatre visit we had planned. The staff were very friendly a helpful and went out of their way to make us welcome.The room we accupied was basic, but clean neat and tidy...bathroom likewise. you get a good breakfast well cooked and plenty of it.My only concern was the tea bags .....have to say I would take my own next time, but would have no hesitation in booking again...and it was nice to be able to park on the premises..a big plus

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musicmanTorquayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Unable to get booked at the Invicta, we were advised to try the Drake which is 50 yards away. Location brilliant for the Hoe. Booking by phone reliable and as requested, nice large, clean room. Bit sparse perhaps but just what you'd expect at the price. Friendly service, good breakfast. Night access by key. I'm getting used to the odd practice of paying on arrival but it seems par for the course down Plymouth way so not peculiar to this hotel. The Drake is exactly what you should get for the price. Not fantastic but nothing amiss for the £60 odd quid a night I paid. Would go again. Oh - and decent parking a bonus (at the rear).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boatdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews