We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok fish and chips”

The Great British Fish and Chip Shop
Ranked #6 of 40 Quick Bites in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Visited here a few times staff always polite and 5he food is ok for a harbour side chippy,I would recommend you give them a try

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2018

Best cod and chips I've had in a while. Great staff and perfect consistency for the cod and overall flavour. The only reason I've dropped 1 point is because the mini fish and chips which were £2.40 less than the standard size weren't actually that much smaller and I felt a little ripped off for the price paid for the standard portion - which feels harsh as it was cheaper than my local charges for inferior chips. Lovely overall tho and I whole heartedly recommend eating here

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank venkmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I called in with my parents during a day trip to Torquay. We all had the OAP special which was mini cod and chips, mushy peas, a slice of bread and butter and mug of tea or coffee. It was a good size portion, served really got to the table and really tasty. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kathp320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic chips, crisp, tasty, not greasy. Definitely going back over the spring/summer months . Never had a bad takeaway from here since they have taken over from previous owners.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank nmitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Firstly food was pleasant... unfortunately the pleasantness ended their! Firstly my brother enquired about a meal deal to a male member of staff behind the counter... he replied with ‘you’ll have to ask her because I’m busy!’ Referring to the lady serving another guest at the till... secondly, I had to return the tea because there was a stone in it and finally after the meal the till lady came to clear our plates and I said in conversation ‘it’s nice and busy isn’t it’... her reply was ‘I know, I hate it!’... service with a smile, I think not! I would return only for the quality of the food and given the staff would have it to take away!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 722vincentp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great British Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Great British Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing