We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury accommodation”
Review of Villa Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marina
Ranked #18 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottery Saint Mary, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury accommodation”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We came to Torquay to see Ken Dodd, which is a separate incredible experience. The welcome with cream tea and gooseberry jam was wonderful, the bed was soooo comfortable I slept like a log and breakfast of poached eggs with smoked salmon was terrific. Altogether a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
185
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a fantastic 3 night break here. From the moment we arrived until we left, nothing was too much trouble. We were shown our room which was large, airy and beautifully furnished and welcomed with a lovely cream tea in the garden (free of charge!). The beds were really comfortable with good quality bedding. The shower room was spotless (as was the bedroom) and you were again supplied with good quality towels, shower gel, shampoo, hand wash & lotion as well as other little extras. The shower was really good - just the right temperature and pressure. In the room fresh fruit and sweets were also provided in addition to a well stocked tea tray and modern TV with free view. The breakfast menu was extensive and all cooked fresh to order. There was plenty of fruit juices and cereals & fruit to help yourself to also. Again the dining room was spotlessly clean and the china and cutlery of very good quality and the food delicious! The owners Viv and Peter were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Viv remember each day whether we had preferred tea or coffee, brown, granary or white toast and genuinely cared that we were happy with the service and were enjoying ourselves. We can't wait to visit them again! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyjayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I booked last minute for a few days away with my sister and brother in law and was very pleasantly surprised by how lovely Villa Marina was. Viv & Pete were really welcoming and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There were a lot of additonal small touches such as tea and scones when we arrived and fresh fruit in the rooms that made it feel special. It is a bit of a walk into town, but that does help with the exploring!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Tea and scones on arrival and a not half bad breakfast. Good size room and comfortable bed. Viv a very good host. Not a bad location but it is a bit of a walk into the main town but overall a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastyMan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Villa Marina - what a find, wished we were staying longer! Warm welcome from Viv who offered us tea/coffee, scones and jam on arrival. (We declined the scones as we didn't arrive until 16.45 and wanted to eat out in Torquay that evening). Our room was on the ground floor, handily next to the breakfast room - we could truly "wake up and smell the coffee"!! Lovely personal touches like fresh fruit in our room and a bowl of chocolates on the bedside table. Very comfortable kingsize bed in our "Singer" room. (Each room is named after a well-known local family and ours was named for the Singers of sewing machine fame). Everywhere is spotlessly clean and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was the best we have had in a B&B anywhere. Fresh flowers on each table, linen tablecloths and napkins and our "full English" was cooked to order with all local ingredients - the bacon in particular had a gorgeous flavour. On departure, Peter asked us if there was anything they could have improved upon but we honestly could not think of a single thing. Thank you Viv and Peter for a wonderful stay - hope Viv's bad back gets better very soon and Peter, you did a great job serving breakfast whilst she was incapacitated!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandec00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and what a marvellous experience. The owners Viv &Pete couldn't have been more helpful if they tried, everything was first class. The breakfasts were excellent and choice of freshly cooked ingredients was plentiful, anything you wanted in any combination was no trouble.
The rooms (we had a quick peek in them all) were all very exquisite and furnished to a high standard and spotlessly clean.
We felt like we were treated like royalty.
Can't wait to go back again, thanks to you both for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Villa Marina and we have already booked our annual family weekend again for next year.
Viv & Peter are perfect hosts, they make you feel very welcome and nothing seems any effort.
The villa is spotless and very well furnished. The Breakfast is all local produce and cooked perfectly, sets you up until evening dinner.
Thanks again and look forward to next year :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_H686_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#21 of 149 in Torquay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 149 in Torquay
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#13 of 149 in Torquay
311 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 87 in Torquay
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marina

Property: Villa Marina
Address: Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful detached 4**** Victorian Villa provides award-winning guest accommodation exclusively for adults. Enjoy peaceful and calm surroundings, exceptional levels of hospitality and service, and delicious breakfasts from locally sourced produce, cooked how you like. Winner of the English Riviera Tourism Award, Silver Award in the Visit Devon Awards and a "Highly Commended" in the South West Awards. Being also recepients of the coveted Visit Britain Silver Award and the Enjoy England Breakfast Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marina Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing