We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #66 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just spend four days staying at Haldon Priors, to attend a family wedding nearby. Lovely location, and the large front bedroom with view over the garden to the sea was spacious with a really comfortable bed, and every facility you might need. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished, and all the breakfast items were good quality and carefully prepared.
We had a very trying journey down from North Yorkshire but rapidly relaxed in the quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A very friendly welcome, to a superb house and garden, in an excellent location. The room was the largest we have ever stayed in with a lovely view over the garden towards the sea. We had a very comfortable stay and the breakfast selection was comprehensive. We stayed there over my husbands 60th birthday, and it will be an occasion that we will always remember. We hope to return in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having just returned home from our third stay in the last twelve months, I feel that it's appropriate to extol this fabulous establishment. As a couple, we've used Torquay as a regular base for predominantly long weekends, and have stayed in all types of hotels, generally using a minimum of three star rated places and above. There are many that have varied in standard (generally good), but this particular one is without any shadow of doubt the best within the area. The actual hotel itself is set in the picturesque and quieter area of "Meadfoot" , but not too far from the town centre where a pleasant stroll could be looked upon as a task. From the moment you enter the hotel, the welcome is both warm and genuine, and the building itself is stunning in regards to appearance, decoration and cleanliness. Having been lucky enough to stay in three different types of rooms within Haldon Priors, we've been fortunate enough to experience differing views in regards to the sea, gardens and pool areas. All of the bedrooms are finished to a very high standard and are immaculate throughout. Other facilities that enhance the experience at this hotel are a large lounge area, a "sun trap" of a patio, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and an enclosed private garden area. The breakfast served is of excellent quality, is varied enough to satisfy all tastes and served in a flawless, but informal dining room. If you're seeking a hotel that offers a great location, superior quality and genuinely friendly service, then this is the hotel for you.
Paul & Helen Lynch

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet due to the hotel's excellent location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Having a couple of very elderly relatives living in Torquay we took advice from other family members who had visited also in order to visit our Torquay relatives who are now experiencing deteriorating health so we knew before making the reservation that this B&B was very good which proved very true. There was a very warm welcome by the lady proprietor as she showed us to our room. Facilities were excellent and included both an indoor and outdoor pool which due to time constraints we were unable to make use of. The breakfasts offered (and cooked) by the owner were first rate. The charges were modest and we should have no hesitation in returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Our seaward facing room was peaceful with impressive views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We visit on average twice a year and having not long returned from our second visit this year we are still more than happy to return again and again. From being welcomed on arrival, the relaxed atmosphere, the clean and comfortable well presented rooms ( we have tried every one) and the breakfasts offer a substantial start to the day. With sea views from the terrace, we often sit in this sun trap of a garden or swim in either of the pools. A beautiful setting for such a lovely villa. It is truly a privilege to stay in such a wonderful hotel and be looked after by the owners and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

beautiful house , furnished to highest level of comfort .staff very friendly and helpful.

good location but possibly a little far from the town centre if hadn't own transport .

lovely pools indoor and out .

our stay started badly in that the room was described incorrectly on booking.com. also the shower head was faulty . however we discussed our disappointment and moved to a superior room at a price increase we were happy with.

this room was excellent , plenty of space , comfortable bed ,top quality linen, tv etc .

a few things I feel are worth pointing out

the standard double room we booked originally as far as we are concerned is not fit for purpose .it if furnished well but is tiny .to the extent that there isn't room on the floor around the bed to even open a suitcase .

even though you preorder your breakfast for a set time and contents it was very slow in arriving both mornings we were there .

overall we really enjoyed our stay but a few changes would make a huge improvement

Room Tip: do not book standard double
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicocarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have visited Haldon Priors on three occasions and each time the rooms, service and hospitality have been fantastic.. There are great facilities at the hotel which we always make full use off. The hotel is also in a lovely position to appreciated the wonderful views.

This time we had the front sea view room, a huge room with double sash windows each one offering a spectacular sea view. The bed is really comfortable which makes getting out of it quite difficult. There is a full size bath with large shower and ample wardrobe space. The bath robe, slippers and fresh flowers are just sone of the little things that make this such a special place.

Pings hospitality is second to none and the choice of breakfast and service is a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 87 in Torquay
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#4 of 87 in Torquay
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delamere Court
Delamere Court
#28 of 34 in Torquay
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#3 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast

Property: Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haldon Priors is a charming guesthouse in Torquay, set within a Victorian villa and situated in a peaceful location with 3/4 acre of beautifully landscaped gardens and just 200 yards from Meadfoot beach.Noted for its warm hospitality, Haldon Priors provides a uniquely relaxing ambience for guests to unwind and restore a sense of well-being.We have indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, with hydro-massage facilities in the indoor pool. The outdoor pool is surrounded by sub-tropical gardens and after a long swim, why not enjoy the comfort of a relaxing sauna!The Hotel has 6 Luxury Bedrooms to offer for our guests. All rooms are individually designed to give that extra warm feeling, they are all equipped with ensuite facilities, television and stereo hi-fi system.For the convenience of our guests, there is free WiFi.We are not licensed, but you are welcome to bring your own wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haldon Priors Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing