We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #66 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Haldon Priors in June 2014 for three nights. Ping was very helpful when booking and upon arrival she made us feel welcome. I wanted to stay somewhere with a bit more class so I chose Haldon Priors based on photos and reviews I had read. The price that bit higher but I think it is worth paying that bit more for a nicer setting. The accommodation itself is lovely, very lovely entrance. We stayed in the sea view room over looking the pool which was lovely. The room is really big, it is old fashioned but also lovely. There is a TV in the room. The bed is comfortable. The shower annoyed me slightly. I really like a powerful shower and I couldn't get the temperature right. There is a clean bath in the bathroom too. We ran out of toilet paper and Ping provided a new roll straight away all we had to do was ask.
The breakfast was lovely and the breakfast room is relaxing. I went for poached eggs on toast which were cooked to perfection. Couples in there were chatty. Not keen on the quality of the coffee. I am a coffee snob though. The outside pool lovely. We had to ask Ping for the pool room to be opened. I would rather be able to walk straight in but maybe this is done because of health and safety. The water was too cold to get into the outdoor pool unfortunately. It would have been helpful to know that we could have used the fridge for cold drinks and snacks when sat by the pool. I was told on the last day there is a fridge. Ping is so lovely and really accommodating. I would definitely recommend Haldon Priors and I would go back for sure! I am really very fussy about where I stay when it comes to hotels etc but this suits my standards. Thank you Ping!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kayleighs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Haldon Priors is a villa located in a quiet road away from the hubbub of central Torquay. Within walking distance we used the car. Our room (Seaview suite) was spotless with the usual toiletries, tea coffee etc. The bed was comfy & overall it is very quiet. Ping is a very welcoming host supported by Peanut!. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food -the smoked haddock is especially good. We were lucky to be the only guests there which was nice for us. The weather was mostly good & we didn't have time to use the pools or the sauna.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Everything is wonderful. The whole building is high spec and so very clean. Our room (8) was simply fantastic. Very big with all the home comforts and more! The owner is very friendly and you also have Peanut the little dog to welcome you. The breakfasts are the best we have ever had. Enough parking for everyone. There is a small garden and pool for sunny days. They also provide a fantastic balcony area, where you can sit and drink the afternoons away. Haldon Priors has no bar, so bring your own. Our room had a drinks fridge for it. Located about a mile from the town centre near Meadfoot beach. There is a bus service or you can walk. The walk either there or back from town will involve walking up a steep hill. We simply ordered a taxi (£4.50). Enjoy!

Room Tip: Maybe more money, but go for room 8. However, there is no view from this room, just a very large hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touchline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by the wonderful Becky who immediately offered an excellent standard of hospitality that was maintained throughout our stay.
The accommodation as were the pools and grounds are kept in excellent order.
Peace and tranquillity. The perfect location to re- charge your batteries.
Would without doubt visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 811NeilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at this glorious B&B in Torquay. We had been looking for somewhere to stay that wasn't in the centre of the resort but still gave us easy access to the town should we need it. From reading the reviews on TripAdvisor Haldon Priors Hotel seemed just the place we'd been searching for, and so it proved to be.
From the moment we arrived at the Hotel, when we were warmly greeted by the owner, we felt very relaxed and comfortable. Set in immaculate gardens the rooms and standard of service in the Hotel were excellent. To complement this there was also an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, a sauna, and various terraces with comfortable chairs, tables, sun loungers and umbrellas. Everything was kept immaculately clean and we didn't need for anything whilst we were there. Our breakfasts were of the highest standard, and unlike larger hotels were cooked to order.
We wouldn't hesitate in highly recommending this establishment to anyone who wants 5 star accommodation and service. Haldons Prior is indeed a gem and we look forward to the time when we can make a return visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Adelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We received excellent service with tea on the veranda. There are good views from the room The rooms are good and clean maybe not the most modern but offer everything you could want and most importantly a comfy night sleep. The breakfast was excellent with a good range of continental items and a great cooked breakfast. I would recommend this b&b to anyone

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Deanyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We happened to 'discover' this wonderful gem, positioned in a tranquil leafy suberb of Torquay. The host was charming and greeted us with such a warm welcome. After a long drive we enjoyed complimentary tea and coffee lounging on the beautiful patio. We were shown to our peaceful double room overlooking the garden. Decorated in pastels with ensuite facilities with complimentary tea and coffee. The breakfast was ample we enjoyed fresh fruits, yogurt and of course the full English! It pains me to say that we only stayed for two nights. Would we go back? You can guarantee it. Thank you Haldon Priors for your hospitality. Shhh dont tell anyone we would like to keep this truely delightful oasis all to ourselves.......Mr and Mrs Dunn Kingswinford

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
3,244 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
75 reviews
3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £147 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haldon Priors is a charming guesthouse in Torquay, set within a Victorian villa and situated in a peaceful location with 3/4 acre of beautifully landscaped gardens and just 200 yards from Meadfoot beach.Noted for its warm hospitality, Haldon Priors provides a uniquely relaxing ambience for guests to unwind and restore a sense of well-being.We have indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, with hydro-massage facilities in the indoor pool. The outdoor pool is surrounded by sub-tropical gardens and after a long swim, why not enjoy the comfort of a relaxing sauna!The Hotel has 6 Luxury Bedrooms to offer for our guests. All rooms are individually designed to give that extra warm feeling, they are all equipped with ensuite facilities, television and stereo hi-fi system.For the convenience of our guests, there is free WiFi.We are not licensed, but you are welcome to bring your own wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haldon Priors Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing