We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home hotel excellent”
Review of Howden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howden Court Hotel
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Going back to the Howden Court Hotel again in July 2012. This will be our 7th time in the last 10 years. The hotel is very welcoming and Peter and his wife Gail cannot do enough for you as nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean comfortable and have excellent en suite facilities. The food and service are really good (plenty of it too). We travel down on their luxury coach and your holiday starts as soon as you get on board.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We aim to provide a holiday that can be remembered for all the right reasons. To have guests return time and again also gives us confidence to continue providing a service that guests really want and appreciate.
See you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

It's always impressive if people remember your name, especially when the hotel was busy, Peter provided a first class weekend for our party, going the extra mile to entertain us making our stay personal and special. We were treated as valued guests and not commodities as so many hotels do. No bland corporate image here, cosy and welcoming. The food was excellent and the rooms spotless.

Will definately stay again if you'll have us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Sorry for the delay in responding to your great review, I have only recently realised that I can respond to previous reviews! I am not the computer whizkid, I leave that to others. Anyway, here at Howden Court Hotel we all appreciate it when a guest goes that extra mile to let everyone know that they were happy with their stay. We always make an effort to create a fun holiday so that you go away with happy memories. Please return in the near future. Once again, thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful family weekend at the Howden Hotel. We were a family group of 17 of a mixed age group from 3 to 80. Every person had am enjhoyable stay. the Garden rooms were nice and clean and a really good size for family rooms, with the bonus of access to the lovely garden at the back of the hotel. My Mother was incredibly impressed with her stay in the Admiral Room, a lovely room over looking the garden with stunning views out to the sea, she said she felt like she was in the honeymoon suite she never had!
Above all, the stay was made by the wonderful friendly staff. I know it's been said before, but truely nothing is too much trouble. On arrival there is a sign in reception' arrive as a guest, leave as a friend' these are words well said at the Howden Court Hotel.

Room Tip: If you would like a special treat for couple, ask for the Admirals Room. For a family, go for a Gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank primroseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Fantastic review. We aim to provide a service that makes our guests happy. If our guests are happy, so are we. Please return in the near future.

Peter
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stay here with my extended family, 14 members all very happy with not only the hotel but friendly hospitality !! Nothin was too much trouble and always there to help!! Rooms of good standard and garden rooms open up to a beautiful garden. Can't wait to stay again, thank you Peter and family for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasondssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

It is nice to now when a guest has really enjoyed their stay. Tripadvisor can be a good tool to use when searching for reliable accommodation. The existing 'Star' grading system does not take into account the 'atmosphere' and 'Friendly feel' that some establishments can provide. It can be so easy to put down an accommodation, much harder to acknowledge a good one, so for the Howden Court Hotel we really do appreciate it when a guest goes out of their way to praise us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is a brilliant hotel I have been there three times and had a great time every time and will be returning again soon. Everything about it is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room served by a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here when the hotel we had originally booked decided to cancel our booking.

We stayed in the Admiral's Room which has 3 large windows which gives you a sea view. The bathroom was gorgeous with a walk-in glassed shower unit. It was cleaned every day.

The food was lovely and the staff very friendly - you did have to order your evening meal at breakfast but this was fine.

There was limited entertainment in the evening (Feb) but we had a friendly cosy night in with other residents and a singer who did a little impromtu quiz - bar prices were reasonable.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsDisneytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Having been a guest at this hotel when the previous owners ran it (approx 10 years ago). I can say with confidence that the current owners, Peter & Gail Fannon, have made an excellent job turning a slight rundown establishment into a bright friendly environment, with a loyal customer base of 'repeat bookers'. The rooms are all clean (some suitable for people with disabilities) en-suite and equipped with tea/coffee making facilities and a TV. There is regular entertainment during the evenings and a bar with a dancefloor, for those of a more energetic nature. The hotel boasts a lift, a seperate dining room (serving excellent/wholesome food) as well as a tastefully decorated communal lounge, with views over the beautifully landscaped garden. Most of all, the hotel has Peter & Gail. A nicer more welcoming couple you could not hope to meet!! I recently visited there over the Chrismas Period and had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: The Admirals Room is more expensive, with views over the garden, but excellent for a romantic break!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
933 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#73 of 85 in Torquay
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden Court Hotel

Address: 23 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Business Hotel in Torquay
#20 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £29 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing