We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turkey and tinsel 2012”
Review of Howden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howden Court Hotel
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Have just returned from a 5 day holiday at the Howden court hotel with a group of 7 .We had a great time there with peter gail and brian.Peter and brian kept us entertained all week.The food was excellent.The hotel was decorated beyond our expectations.The rooms were spotless.Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank observer595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you so much for your excellent TripAdvisor review. We hope to meet guest expectations especially so on one of our themed breaks. Our 'Turkey & Tinsel' breaks give a taster for the real event. Christmas is alive and well at Howden Court Hotel. We look forward to greeting you all again in the near future. Have a great 'real Christmas'. From Peter and all staff at Howden Court Hotel, Torquay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

Just spent 4 days at this hotel - a lovely friendly family feel, spotlessly clean and warm. Hotel is well situated for a short walk to the seafront and the town centre. Puts on nightly entertainment (real fun).We stayed on a bed n breakfast basis. Food was plentiful, beautifully cooked and hot. Couldn't fault anything. Staff were welcoming and always cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Torquay as excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, and even tho it looked out onto the road there was very little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJSSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you very much for your great review. We aim to provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere with a good standard of hosting at the same time. The cleanliness of any establishment is important but especially so in a hotel. A guest bedroom is an extension of a persons home, albeit for a short period. We are really pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back to Howden Court Hotel in the near future. Thank you again for your fanatastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

5 of us visited the howden court hotel for 4 nights from the 24th sept 2012 and what a fantastic hotel this was and one of the best i have visited and cant believe its only a 2 star when it should be pushing towards a 4 star status.
On arrival my parents were welcomed by pete who was very knowledgable,friendly and very helpful so couldn’t ask for anymore in this instance.
The rooms were very clean and well maintained as everywhere else in the hotel which shows what good staff they have to maintain these high standards.
The food was very good with 3 choices for starter and main course so plenty of options for even the fussy eaters out there.as for the entertainment it was excellent with live acts 3 nights which was different to other hotels i have stayed at in the past and that all came down to brian someone who was passionate,dynamic and creative and also fantastic with the guests and got them to join in and bought them out of their shells and made them feel special so a big well done to brian.
as the hotel ticked all the boxes we asked pete if we could stay another night as we were having a great time so this shows what a great hotel and atmosphere it holds
this hotel does lots of themed breaks from the 60's to turkey and tinsel breaks so this gives you pleaty of chances to visit this great hotel

well done pete,brian and team for a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theentrepreneur1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

A fab review, thank you very much indeed. It is always nice to receive a compliment and especially from new guests. We do aim to provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere and will try our very best to help create a holiday experience for all the right reasons.
We look forward to greeting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A number of guests in our cohort were in the process of planning to return to this hotel as we were departing, and this says nice things about the Howden Court experience.

I was impressed that the proprietors both served and ate the same food as us. Good food too.

Key to our holiday was the transport element, for which I particularly praise Kevin.

The lady on reception was really helpful, and we returned to a pristine room after each day out.

Beneath all the light-heartedness, it became pretty clear that the entire team had put immense thought and effort into delivering the service.

This is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajaxSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you so much for providing a great review. You gave particular praise to our driver Kevin - we will pass on your comments. As a family run hotel we will often eat with our guests in the dining room, if there is a table available. This way you can enjoy the atmosphere that can often be found when guests are having a good time. Obviously there is also the added advantage with the fact that you have no washing up to do!
Once again, thank you for your kind words, we look forward to greeting you at Howden Court hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My return visit to this hotel and was better than before,Peter and Gail are some of the best hotel owners you can meet.
Food was was the best i have ever had allways fresh and cooked to perfection,will be returning again next year ,good nights entertainment and a good laugh

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Another appreciative guest who as taken the time to write a great review. Thank you so much. New guests are always welcomed but those guests who keep returning really do make us feel that we are offering them a service they want. We will strive to continue providing the same standards and will try to exceed these standards when ever we can. We look forward to seeing you return to Howden Court Hotel in the near future. All the best for now.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just returned from our weeks holiday and have had a fab week. Travelled by the Hotel coach driven by Kevin. Two of our party had never been before so was not sure what we were letting ourselves in for. On arrival we were welcomed by Peter and Tony who soon made us all feel at home. Varied menu everyday home cooked food and plenty of it. Gail, Peter and all the staff were very helpful and caring. Entertainment of some sort every night with Peter and Brian playing a big part in entertaining us. We have never laughed so much as we did during our stay here and the laughter continued right up to our departure. Thanks everyone for all the hard work that was put in to making this a great week to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianao63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Many thanks for providing this excellent review. We always appreciate it when a guest spends time and effort to give us a 'pat on the back'. Needless to say we would love to see you return to Howden Court Hotel in the near future - bring along some friends or relatives so that they can join in the fun. Once again, many thanks for your kind words of appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just returned from holiday had such fun. Their motto is arrive as strangers leave as friends and this is certainly the case. Two of our party had never been before and were apprehensive but we were soon made to feel at home.
Entertaining us were Brian and Peter supported by a few outside performers, we haven’t laughed so much for a long time. Everyone is friendly and helpful; the hotel is very clean and well decorated. The breakfast is excellent and evening meal home cooked using fresh ingredients.
Thanks for a great week and everyones hard work

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Yet again another guest has taken the time and effort to respond on TripAdvisor with a great review. We do aim to make everyone's stay at Howden Court a memorable one. You stayed with us during our 'Caribbean Theme Week' and joined in the fun on 'Pirates' night. We would love to see you return for one of our other theme breaks, I suggest the 'Swinging 60's' would be ideal - fun dressing up in the era and great music. Once again thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#76 of 85 in Torquay
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden Court Hotel

Address: 23 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Business Hotel in Torquay
#20 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £29 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing