We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howden Court Hotel
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Mickleover, Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

In July 2012, we stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of friends, Oh dear! On arrival, a big notice outside said "Welcome to the Caribbean!" On entering, we immediately noticed what appeared to be a confusion of twin themes comprising the Queen's Jubilee celebration decorations and rather tacky Caribbean mock-ups of palm trees, pink flamingos, etc. Our room was good but that was the only thing we can positively say about our short stay. The food was poorly cooked and certainly not well presented, and on one occasion one of us, because of dietary problems, was not offered an alternative meal (although we were prepared to wait for it to be cooked) and had to eat out in Torquay that evening. Although most of the guests were of the retired age group (as indeed were we) the entertainment could only be described as awful and after the first evening we decided not to join in. The hotel itself needed a facelift and, combined with the general confusion of décor and damp odour in places, made us feel very uncomfortable. Parking was very awkward, particularly as we have a large car needed to transport disabled people and a wheelchair. We decided to cut short our stay (to the obvious disappoint of management) and left without other accommodation to go to. We later found a bed and breakfast place that we can only describe as excellent on all points. Sorry, but we would not recommend the Howden Court to anyone. Our visit, which should have been a well-needed break, was a great disappointment, a waste of time and long saved-up money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StuartNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We are extremely disappointed to receive this review a full 12 months after the guest had stayed. We try our best to make each and everyone of our guests feel at home. We have many guests that return time and again and compliment us on our food quality and constant programme of renovation. At present we have ground works ongoing in the large south facing garden area just beyond the private path that leads you too within 100 metres of Torquays fine sandy beach! This guest did state that the room was good, this provides an insight into what you might expect if you take a well earned break at Howden Court Hotel. Our menu is changed daily and always includes for meat, fish, vegetarian and salad options. Our chef caters to those with special dietary needs such as celiac's, diabetics etc. Something for almost everyone. We have a carpark suitable for a passenger coach and several cars and on occasions we may need to ask guests to double park, in Devon we are probably more relaxed about this situation - leave your keys behind reception and we will move the car for you - no problem.
Finally, if you are using TripAdvisor as a tool for choosing your next break and decide to try a holiday break at Howden Court Hotel in sunny Torquay then remember one thing. If you encounter a problem during your stay then just mention it to Peter or Brian at the time, we will do our very best to put things right. Tell us 12 months later and.....well what can you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    40
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
68
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Torquay, our week long stay for a deservrd break. Fancied Torquay after such a long time since last visited, some 20 odd years ago with our young children.
Picked Hotel Howden Court after seeing an add in local paper re transport to the Hotel with a pick up point in our home city -Sheffield.
Joined the coach on Sunday morning and quickly felt at home with a friendly welcome aboard the coach from 'Keith' our driver/courier for the return jouney and excursions [included in holiday price and optional excursions on the English Riviera]
Although a long day [arrival at the hotel approx 4.00 pm] Keith kept us in touch with his informative dialogue during the journey. A nice touch was to introduce the menu for the evening meal at the hotel, choose personal choice from menu and Keith then 'phoned in' all passengers choices to the hotel ready for ur arrival and evening meal later that day.

Comfortable journey, drinks available on coach with saloon toilet available if needed, although a number of comfort stops on journey were scheduled into the journey to the hotel and on the return journey the following Saturday.

What a week to pick during the early part of June with hot sunshine, very pleasant evenings to walk off the hearty evening meal and have a few drinks by Torquay harbour and other bars in the local area.

The hotel Howden Court was a very friendly hotel with family owners and their children involved with the staffing and present in the hotel as their home also.
Owners very 'hands on' helping with daily and evening duties as well as the organised entertainment programme which we joined on 2 of the evenings.
The last evening of our stay involving a classic Hoden Court version of their 'fun' quiz was good fun followed by a much enjoyed 'Mr and Mrs' contest for 3 of the guest couples from the Hotel.
Yes... we were picked as 1 couple and i have to say, our marriage life passed the test as 'joint' winners!
Good fun and above all a good time had by a mixed list of hotel guests.
The breakfast and evening meals provided a pleasing varied and 3 choices of the 3-4 course menu. Chef gave flair with his local dishes and the seafood lived up to its reputation.
Our rooms were clean, tidy and daily maid visits part of the hotels routine. Nice outside area's in rear garden,patio and accessible garden gate to the bridal path to the main walk into town.
One observation which we mentioned to management on our leave, was that if wanting to use the outside features, we felt it would have been more relaxing with the weather if we could have utilised a 'lounge bed' for sunning as opposed to garden seats/chairs. We felt our holiday would have been further enhanced with this option for our relaxing sun worshipping days!!

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Howden Court, certainly may consider again if taking an break in England and the southern area; with the experience of the break at the Howden Court, the friendly welcome and daily contact with the hotel staff, Howden Court Hotel would be on our list of places to stay. Good value for money.

So; scenery, food, drink,weather, places of interest and our chosen Hotel all very good and well worth a try!!

Room Tip: Talk to reservation staff and discuss individual needs and choose from a number of options for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. Your review was detailed and gave a good account of your holiday from start to finish. We appreciate your effort and time to provide such a nice review. We have picked up on your comment regarding sunloungers. I am now looking a creating a couple of built-in loungers for the benefit of our 'sun worshipers'. Once again, thank you. Hopefully we will see you in the not too distant future. We provide a variety of themed breaks and one of our most popular is our Turkey & Tinsel breaks in Nov/Dec. We have won certificates for our Christmas decorations.
All the best for the future.
Peter
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed at the Howden Court for 1 week at the end of June.
I found it to be a Good quality Family run Hotel with excellent food, clean bedrooms and linen.
Bar prices are on a par with Pub prices in the Town, although slighty limited in choice.
By road there is a steep hill to climb, but a private path is available at the back which is level right down to the Beach road.
I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We believe you were staying at Howden Court Hotel as part of a bowls touring team. You have noted the advantage of our 'private pathway' that takes you too within 100 yards of the beach but also within easy reach of Belgrave, Victoria & kings bowls clubs.
We appreciate your time and effort to create your review. More & more people are relying on tripadvisor before deciding on which accommodation provider.
We look forward to greeting you in the future.
Peter
proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arosa, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

During an official tour in Torquay I stayed here for three days and four nights. It was a very pleasing and comfortable stay from beginning to end. And this was all due to the wonderful guys employed here. They tried their best to provide us the comfort we needed. Rooms, food, décor, facilities all were good and I really enjoyed a lot. Would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calebe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
A great review, thank you for your kind comments. We really do appreciate feedback. Every guest is equally important to us, we always try our best to make everyone's stay a memorable experience for all the right reasons. We look forward to your next visit at Howden Court Hotel.
Peter, proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Arrived 2nd of June 2013 for 6nights BB&EM, it was our 2nd time in the Hotel , which is now diff owners, Peter, Gail his Wife, n 4 off-springs n a little dog , a lovely family . We had a lovely room No14 , very clean, quiet n nicely dec , one of the best rooms we've ever had, n we've been in a few ! We had exc food n plenty of it , location brill , 5mins from beach, on a level private path, n about15mins walk to Town Centre, but u can also catch a bus just across the Rd from Hotel. Also not forgetting all the laughs we had with , Brian the Scot !!!!!! n Peter his sidekick , a truly very relaxing n enjoyable holiday, n made to feel like family, will def go back , highly rec !! Monica n Alan .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for your kind words. I (Peter) am reading this review with Gail and Brian here, it does make us proud when we receive such good reviews. We would love to see you guys return sooner rather than later. Looking forward to the next time.
Peter,
proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed at Howden Court with my wife for 1 weeks holiday in Torquay from 1st to 8th June. As we arrived in Torquay by train at 3-30pm, we decided to walk to the hotel as we had a rough idea where it was, and also to get our bearings. Not knowing we had a long steep hill to climb which was almost to much for my mobility scooter (Shedden Hill) we eventually arrived at Howden Court. On arrival we were welcomed by Peter the owner and shown to our ground floor room, (room 27), perfect as entrance, reception, dining room, lounge and bar were all at this level. The room was not the biggest but very adequate for our needs including the wet room with shower and seat, fluffy white towels and unlike most places proper quilted toilet rolls. As we were only booked in for B&B the breakfast was good, well cooked and hot, plenty of it and a good choice. Entertainment in the evening with Brian and his side kick Peter was always a laugh, with singers on 2 nights. The only niggle if any was the wet room was not always cleaned thoroughly but not enough to complain, the rest of the hotel was spotless. A good friendly hotel where nothing is to much trouble.

Room Tip: Room 27 good for disabled person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We try to understand the needs of those guests with mobility problems and have now created 4 wet rooms within the hotel. We would like to create another in the near future, when sufficient funds are available. We understand that you arrived at Howden Court Hotel via Shedden Hill, however you then took advantage of the private pathway that avoids this hill - it does make life easier for those with and without mobility problems.
We would hope that you return in the future to experience more Howden Court atmosphere.
Peter, proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

With inclusive coach travel the journey and comfort stops were well planned so as to arrive in timely fashion without coach lag. Once luggage on the coach that's the last you see of it until you arrive at your room. Rooms clean, well decorated, beds made daily, towel change as requested. Meals breakfast and evening menu choice. Well presented good quality food with requests for dietary preferences accepted. There is entertainment most nights managed by the hotel entertainments chap, and he is entertainment by himself. The husband and wife owners do get involved at every level. In addition to a free coach trip, there are other optional trips which are regularly changed. Torquay beach is a short walk away through the exclusive pathway at the back of the hotel and the centre is a fifteen minute walk. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, the admiral suite has views over the back garden towards the sea at addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnScott01332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
A great review from one of our guests using our coach facility. Over the years we have accommodated guests arriving by car, train and coach. Our own passenger coach has proved to be much appreciated by those who prefer to let someone else do the driving. Once again we are extremely happy to recieve such a nice review. It makes our job so much more rewarding. Hope to see you again in the future.
Peter, proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#66 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden Court Hotel

Property: Howden Court Hotel
Address: 23 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Family Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Howden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing