We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic week”
Review of Howden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howden Court Hotel
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from a Skittles break. We had a really good time and thought skittles a great way to get to know everyone.The hotel and staff are faultless.
I notice from other reviews reference being made to the Hotel catering for "The older generation"..
Don't be put off...most are repeat bookers and will have a go at anything!! (Even Skittles).
I think it's commendable that Brian calls you by name all week and it is true...You do arrive as strangers and leave as friends.
Looking forward to returning in September for the Country and Wild West Week.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

What a fab review. Thank you so much. You booked for our 'Skittles for Fun' week and everyone did seem to enjoy it - nothing too serious but good fun. There was a really friendly atmosphere during the whole week. We are really happy when our guests are happy!
We look forward to seeing you return in the near future.
Thanks again for taking the time to make your review available to all TripAdvisor viewers.

Peter
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked the Easter Weekend break with Greenline Coaches about 6 weeks ago after a holiday to Sand Bay Holiday village with another coach company got cancelled due to lack of numbers..

I had read the reviews on here so was really looking forward to the break with my mum who is in her 80s. We both had a fabulous time. The hotel was spotless, warm, lovely food, and we really enjoyed the entertainment. Brian and Peter work so well together and had everyone in stitches.

The weather was mixed. Lovely and sunny on the Saturday so we walked into Torquay a lovely easy walk through the hotel gardens and along along a flat private pathway to the sea front. Mum had no trouble at all and when we returned a few hours later we sat for an hour in the lovely garden. It was a real sun trap and so peaceful. It rained on the Sunday and after a short trip out to Paignton we were entertained again by Brian and Peter with an Easter Egg Hunt and a few games. Really enjoyed the evening Entertainment too..

I would not hesitate to return to the Howden Court and will recommend highly to family and friends.

Annie

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

What can I say - another great review. here at Howden Court Hotel we understand how important a holiday is to all our guests. Holidays are special events, people look forward to their holiday with anticipation and apprehension. We hope to provide the right formula to make our guests holiday a memorable occasion for all the right reasons. We aim to cater to all age ranges and we understand that both you and your mom had a great time. Thank you for your praises, we always appreciate feedback. Brian will also be very pleased to have received such a good review along with all staff at Howden Court Hotel.
We hope to see you return to Howden Court Hotel in the near future. have a great summer.

Peter
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We would like to say that we enjoyed our Easter weekend very much.Pete and all the staff were very welcoming friendly and nothing was to much trouble. It was our first stay at the hotel and would stay there again and would also recommend it to our friends and family.The food, cleanliness and entertainment were very good.Great work keep it up.Mr & Mrs R Palin West Midlands.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. You stayed with us during the Easter weekend and enjoyed some good English Riviera sunshine with a bit of rain on the side - that's British weather for you! Thank you for your comments giving us praise in many areas, we do appreciate it when a guest lets us know that we have provided them with a good holiday. We do hope to see you return in the near future. have a great summer.

Peter
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Well Done Howden Court Hotel!!! 40 Very Happy Passengers!!.Great Food,Accommodation,Hospitality with Brain and Peter as Fantastic Hosts.Look Forward to visiting you again, you certainly ticked all the boxes for our passengers.Thank you Greenline Coaches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenlineCoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We really appreciate this review from Greenline coaches because it represents the view point of many guests. In this case 40 people. Coach operators rarely write reviews and so this review is well appreciated. We do hope to provide a holiday break at Howden Court Hotel that gives our guests some special memories.
We look forward to greeting Greenline guests in the near future. Your next planned group holiday with us is in July, see you all soon.

Peter
Howden Court Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Well this hotel is fantastic, made so by a very warm welcome by the owners, superb rooms - would definitely recomend the Admiral room as well as the Studio room after having a look at those - and delicious meals. Everyone was friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. The flat pathway, at the bottom of the garden, was a god send and within less than 10mins we were on the front. This is a true family run hotel who strive to make your holiday a memorable and relaxing one. Have no hesitation on recommending this hotel at all. Can't comment on evening entertainment. We took my parents who are in their 80's and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the warm relaxing atmosphere of the hotel. They had no trouble walking into Torquay via the hotel shortcut! All in all we couldn't have enjoyed our break more. The hotel is a credit to its owners. Well done and thank you so much :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were of a very high standard - the Admiral room - a traditional room with a can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

WOW! What a fantastic review. We really do appreciate guests who appreciate what we do!! Your review really does give us a lot of praise but some of the 'feel good' factor must go towards the great weather we all had in south Devon during early April. Having said that, we do hope to provide a service that includes a friendly, relaxed atmosphere that generally only family run businesses tend to supply. Remember I said generally - there are always exceptions to the rule.
We would hope to see you all return in the near future to Howden Court Hotel.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review.

All the best, have a great summer.

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a cosy hotel run by a family that tries very hard to please. Don't be put off by the facade, inside, the hotel is palatial, warm and very welcoming. We upgraded to the Admirals Room (21) this room is massive, it's full of romantic period furniture complete with a large, comfortable canopied bed. It offers a great view over the beautiful garden and beyond. We had a very relaxing weekend and will certainly return again. Excellent value for money. We arrived as guests but left as friends.

Room Tip: If you want romance and cuddles go for the admirals Room. A very quite south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for your words of praise. We will always try to ensure our guests have a great stay here in sunny Torquay! We hope that we offer guests a good standard of accommodation but with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere alongside. Tripadvisor is a valuable tool for guests to use in their search for the right establishment and is a great platform to provide feedback that can help both the hotel proprietor and any potential new guest.
We hope to see you return to Howden Court Hotel in the near future. If for some reason the Admirals room is not available then why not try one of our bayview rooms, alternatively one of the garden rooms leading directly onto our south facing garden are equally as appealing. The Studio room is also a popular choice, no sea views but this again is a large room and furnished in a more contemporary style.
All the very best.

Peter
Howden Court Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I have stayed at the hotel and it's nothing short of amazing! The staff are ever so friendly and polite, they have kept me entertained all week especially with all Pete and Brian's shenanigans. What also was very surprising was the standard of the rooms they are great especially being a single traveller I had a great size room that was clean and well decorated! There will be no stopping me coming again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Youngladgetsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for giving us such a good review. Although you stayed in one of our single rooms you have stated how surprised you were to find it of good size and nicely decorated. These are both important points to note, only too often do you hear of single guests worried that they may end up in a broom cupboard. Here at Howden Court Hotel every guests is of equal importance. In regards to Peter (myself) and Brian (ents manager,) well we do try to give that extra something to make our guests stay with us a memorable one.
We hope to see you here again in the near future.

All the best.

Peter
Howden Court Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#16 of 86 in Torquay
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden Court Hotel

Address: 23 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#12 Business Hotel in Torquay
#20 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £29 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing