We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Howden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howden Court Hotel
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Owners very friendly and welcoming, staff polite and nothing is too much trouble. Home from home atmosphere. Great food, good choice. Enjoyable entertainment each night. Can't wait till we go again over New Year.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    45
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
78
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We go to this hotel very regularly and have never been disappointed. Everything is made so easy for us. Peter, Gail and all the staff are so friendly and obliging you could not ask for more. The rooms are good and the food is excellent. We would recommend the hotel to anyone (in fact we do).We are there for a tinsel and turkey break and also for Christmas and the New Year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean_fletcher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We booked after looking on the Internet . On arrival we thought the hotel had a musky smell and looked a little dated.
We had the evening meal, one word of warning, don't ! The food was awful, worst than hospital food.
They rush you through the meal like they just want to get you out of the way.
They gave us our main course while we were still eating our starter.
Three courses in under half an hour. The guy was helpful but the lady was not very friendly.
The whole place was filled with over eighties.
We could not wait to get out! ! If you'd like a fawlty towers experience then this hotels for you, otherwise steer well clear! Three star no way!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Lovely proprietors, Peter and Gail with lovely family all helping out in restaurant.

Rooms very clean and well equipped.

Menus and service second-to-none!

Private gate down to beach - very safe area for small children.

High standards and very organised.

Hope to return again and soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Our hosts, Peter, Gail and the staff could not do enough for you. If you like a laugh and are willing to mix, then you'll need to take a break to let your chuckle muscles have a rest.. Met by the hotels' coach, we never saw our luggage again until we were in our room. A 5 minute greeting, together with punch, to inform us of the entertainment, meal times etc, then your holiday is what you make it. Food is excellent with man size portions both at breakfast and evening meal. Never did we leave the table wanting more. The hotel is clean and spacious and whilst entertainment is provided every evening, our hosts provided numourous party games for all to take part. We enjoyed ourselves that much, by the Wednesday we had made our minds up to return later in the year for a Tinsel and Turkey break, which we think will be very difficult to equal the break we have just had! We heard that many guests book up to six times a year and one lady has booked a whacking eleven times to return this year. One word of warning!!!! This hotel has its own ghost and it is said, this returns regularly, so you can't get a better recommendation than that. We can't wait to return in November.
Mike & Jane Smith, Derby

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank contactbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We were a party of recycled teenagers, had a great time,very good staff, the owners are excellent hosts and made our stay a pleasure, luckily the weather was very good ,sunny all week. value for money, will be back

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thizle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Most at home in Britain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This is a family run hotel that seems to be geared to coach trips for the over 60's although some couples and families were staying there during our trip The inclusive dinner was good value all things considered and the breakfast was satisfactory. The hotel is quite close to the seafront but a reasonably long walk into town. There is very limited parking and you will probably be asked to leave your car keys at reception as you will double or triple parked. The rooms are very tired and long overdue for a make over, stained and worn carpets with a tatty bathroom. The room had a good (LCD) TV with freeview. All together, disappointing really and I wish I had spent a bit more to stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,879 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,368 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
850 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#74 of 87 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden Court Hotel

Property: Howden Court Hotel
Address: 23 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#12 Business Hotel in Torquay
#20 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Howden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Howden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing