We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than a Travelodge!”
Review of The Belmont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I really liked this place. Lots of character, very good service and a great breakfast. Worth the money.
Quite a long hike up the stairs to our room, but there's a car park out back (for two cars only - we were lucky). Not perfect, but I prefer a bit of wear and tear to a sterile Premier Inn 'everything nailed down' hovel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyboy390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for The Belmont
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed one night in May 2013, and would definitely recomend this hotel to our friends and family. The price suggested it was going to be cheap, cheerful and glad to leave in the morning, how wrong we were, the Belmont ticked all the boxes:
Clean
Friendly
Attentive
Location
Price
and the breakfast we would score a 11out of 10
value for money

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stopped here for three nights in April 2013 and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a homely stay for a very reasonable price. The manager was lovely and cooked us an amazing breakfast every morning - no buffet breakfasts sitting on the side for ages, it was all freshly cooked and we couldn't have felt more at home. She gave us lots of advice on what to do in the local area and was really approachable. The room was cleaned every day and the decor was modern but still homely. We could park outside the B&B to unload the car no problems and although there was a couple of spaces for guests, we decided to park in the street behind cos it was free and easier to get to! It was literally a 5 min walk to the sea front and only a couple of mins to an awesome chippy! Fab location, fab price - would defo recommend!

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading to a superior room if you have walking difficulties or are pregnant (like...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We booked on line with late rooms and it was easy to do, when we arrived we found out double yellow lines on road outside the front, they only got room around the back for 2 cars. We was met by Gary the owner he told us to park in a cul de sac not far from hotel which we did and had no trouble or damage to car. We had upgrade room with en-suite for extra £10 a night, the room was large with double bed the en-suite was clean and nicely done out. Sue the manageress greated us well next morning for breakfast she could not do enough for us, you have orange juice,water, cereals, and a good choice of full english,boiled eggs, scrambled, poached, or you could have continental breakfast on request.Walking into Torquay took about 20 to 30 minutes.Our room was on front of hotel so you do get traffic noise next time will request room at back.

Room Tip: Ask for one on rear,
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHELT1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night with my partner and this would probably be as much as I would be willing to stay. The owners were lovely and friendly, both very helpful and welcoming despite the fact we were their only guests and business was very quiet. It's often easy for a hotel owner to not be as attentive when they have few or no other guests.

The breakfast seems to be something people rave about, but it was honestly nothing special. Portion sizes were pretty average to small, and the sludgy tinned tomato was vile. Perhaps it is better when it's tourist season and they're more keen to impress?

As for the room itself, we were given a slightly larger superior double rather than the standard double without being charged any extra. This was a lovely gesture upon arrival, and the room initially seemed more than worth the small price. However, there seemed to be a bit of an insect issue as there were little dozens and dozens of tiny dead flies on the inside window sill, as well as in the shower basin and toilet. I only caught one or two alive ones but there has obviously been more than that in the past. Me and my partner found it strange that this had been missed, because there was evidence that they had made a clear effort to clean the room before we stayed in it, i.e. the sink was sparkling clean and there were streaks where cleaning fluid had been used on various other surfaces.

I thought the bed was comfy enough but my partner said he thought it was in need of replacement as he woke up with aches and pains in his back. And the noise is a bit of an issue from the busy street outside, I'm surprised they don't have double glazed windows like most other hotels on that road. It seems to be a common complain and double glazing would at least dull the noise a little bit.

Overall, the couple who run the hotel are very friendly and the hotel in January is probably not an accurate reflection of what it is like normally. Having said that, just because it's not the busy season doesn't mean they should give a lower quality service, otherwise they'll be even quieter next year. I might be happy to stay again but only when it's not the middle of winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattBrigden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband and I had the En-Suite Superior Room (No 7) on the second floor. Nice size room with all the amenities you need. Very clean and a comfy bed. Only pitfall was that it was very noisy in the morning due to the traffic (it's a front facing room, second floor) and no double-glazing.

All staff were very friendly, very helpful and very accommodating.

Breakfast - amazing.

Car park - don't bother. There's only 2 spaces at the back of the building and it's tight getting in and out. There is parking on the surrounding roads.

Location - close enough to walk to town, beach, harbour.

We had a good stay. It's a good B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelaohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Although the welcome was friendly and the room was clean and well presented we gave this hotel a 3/5 rather than a 4/5 due mainly to the fact that the toilet which was down the hallway had no sink in it, which meant we were touching 2 door handles with unwashed hands until we got back to our room. We found this a strange set-up and even if there were some hand sanitiser spray it would have been a better experience for us.
We were given keys to both the front door and room so we could come and go as we pleased. This was a nice touch as it meant no curfew.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely and the staff were friendly and attentive.
The room was nicely presented and contained everything we needed. We would return but to an en suite room.

Room Tip: Definitely pick an en suite room. Rooms on the roadside are very noisy with traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#48 of 87 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont

Address: 66 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#19 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing