We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds and brilliant breakfast!”
Review of The Trouville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Trouville
Ranked #73 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfy beds and brilliant breakfast!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We came to stay at the Trouville for a long weekend, and from the moment we got there we were impressed with the hospitality and the friendly atmosphere. The room we had was nicely decorated, with a very comfy bed and memory foam pillows! The location is great, being close enough to walk to the centre of town but far enough away to avoid most of the stag and hen traffic! Gary the owner was very helpful, giving us some good recommendations and serving up excellent full english breakfasts on a morning. We'd have absolutely no hesitations staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsnotpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
54
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed here in March 2013 with my boyfriend for a couple of nights and we had an absolutely lovely time. We booked a double room but they must have been busy when we arrived because we were put into a family room with one double bed and two singles. The rooms are clean and modern and all have ensuites with a shower. We loved our room (number 7) and the cooked breakfasts are delicious! Private parking is round the back of the hotel but there are only about four spaces allocated to The Trouville and that's if guests block each other in, in which case you're asked to leave your car key in your room so they can move your car for someone to get out. I wasn't so keen on this idea but no worries, the road leading to the back of the hotel has free parking and I left my car there both nights and it was absolutely fine. The owner of the hotel is absolutely lovely and will recommend restaurants, days out, etc. for you. We loved The Trouville and will definitely be returning some time in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, lovely people, clean, tidy, no detail left out, friendly, bed & pillows were very comfy, nice and quiet room. Ideal for our short break. Breakfast was immense service was top notch perfect cup of tea!! Not 1 thing to complain about would highly recommend it. 5* from us

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alw772004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

A smashing little B&B in a great location. Rooms are a little on the small side but have everything you need. Tea and coffee (which are replaced daily along with towels), toiletries and a very comfortable bed!
Breakfast was super with a wide range of options from cereal, yoghurt and fruit to a full english. Even did my Fiance a couple of boiled eggs!

Hosts were exceptional and catered to all our needs including fitting my mother into an adjacent room and an early breakfast on our departure day which was very much appreciated.

No hesitation in staying here again and recomending to others.

Thank you for a great stay on a very difficult weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
285 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, whilst visiting friends. Very nice, clean accommodation, with all the usual extras - toiletries, tea, coffee etc. Excellent breakfast choice, served by friendly owners. Will definitely use again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenyazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

after having a disastrous couple of weeks with our wedding, we decided on a short honeymoon to torquay. after using trip advisor after our nightmarish wedding disaster wth another hotel, we weren't taking chances... this particular B&B caught our eye and we booked straight away, totalling £180 for four nights two people B&B, we thought this was a very reasonable price, owners were absolutely lovely and welcoming, letting us know the best restaurants and telling us things there were to do in and around the area. the room was lovely, and the breakfast was gorgeous!! myself and my hubby will definately be back for a visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frog196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

After arriving in Torquay without pre booking anywhere we rang the bell on the 1st one showing vacancies not expecting much. We were astounded at our reception. The owner was mine host exceptional. This is a high end guest house with no faults whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crimdon Dene Hotel
Crimdon Dene Hotel
#27 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#56 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
74Belgravia
74Belgravia
#93 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#60 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trouville

Property: The Trouville
Address: 70 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trouville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Trouville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trouville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing