We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Trouville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trouville
Ranked #72 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My elderly Mum and I stayed at The Trouville overnight and we wished we'd booked for longer. Our rooms were cosy, comfortable and clean and we had everything we needed. There was a generous supply of everything- towels, toiletries, tea & coffee- and Gina and Gary felt like friends straight away.
We went over the road to the pub opposite for dinner and had good and very reasonably priced food and drink, and in the morning we really enjoyed our breakfast at the hotel.
But the best thing of all was the BEDS- I don't normally sleep well away from home but my huge bed with its memory foam topper was heavenly and I had the best night's sleep in ages!
We'd definitely stay here again and I can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms aren't huge but they're perfect in every other way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
54
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I would like to endorse the favorable reviews of the Trouville. This is a very well run guesthouse, it is spotlessly clean with very good food and very helpfull owners. Its big pluss is its situation,just a short stroll to the promenard and all of torquays main attractions. We parked in the road at the back of the hotel and did not move it until we left for home. Opposite the hotel is a pub called The Old Bull and Bush,They have a good selection of real ales and good food at very keen prices.
We had a very happy weekend,I really recommend the Trouville

Room Tip: All the rooms are fairly small but very well equipped, higher floor is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Rex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coseley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at The Trouville Hotel in Torquay for a weekend with 2 other families 19th - 21st April 2013. Immediately upon arrival we were all made very welcome and Gina and Gary were more than happy to assist us with any queries. The rooms were spotlessly clean all had ensuite bathrooms and were very comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous with more than enough choices for everyone.

It felt like home from home and we will definitely be returning for another visit, but will be for longer next time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone families or couples as it definitely has the personal touch, and is very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area.

We would like to thank Gina and Gary for a wonderful time - The Timbrell family - West Midlands

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We came to stay at the Trouville for a long weekend, and from the moment we got there we were impressed with the hospitality and the friendly atmosphere. The room we had was nicely decorated, with a very comfy bed and memory foam pillows! The location is great, being close enough to walk to the centre of town but far enough away to avoid most of the stag and hen traffic! Gary the owner was very helpful, giving us some good recommendations and serving up excellent full english breakfasts on a morning. We'd have absolutely no hesitations staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsnotpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed here in March 2013 with my boyfriend for a couple of nights and we had an absolutely lovely time. We booked a double room but they must have been busy when we arrived because we were put into a family room with one double bed and two singles. The rooms are clean and modern and all have ensuites with a shower. We loved our room (number 7) and the cooked breakfasts are delicious! Private parking is round the back of the hotel but there are only about four spaces allocated to The Trouville and that's if guests block each other in, in which case you're asked to leave your car key in your room so they can move your car for someone to get out. I wasn't so keen on this idea but no worries, the road leading to the back of the hotel has free parking and I left my car there both nights and it was absolutely fine. The owner of the hotel is absolutely lovely and will recommend restaurants, days out, etc. for you. We loved The Trouville and will definitely be returning some time in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, lovely people, clean, tidy, no detail left out, friendly, bed & pillows were very comfy, nice and quiet room. Ideal for our short break. Breakfast was immense service was top notch perfect cup of tea!! Not 1 thing to complain about would highly recommend it. 5* from us

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alw772004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

A smashing little B&B in a great location. Rooms are a little on the small side but have everything you need. Tea and coffee (which are replaced daily along with towels), toiletries and a very comfortable bed!
Breakfast was super with a wide range of options from cereal, yoghurt and fruit to a full english. Even did my Fiance a couple of boiled eggs!

Hosts were exceptional and catered to all our needs including fitting my mother into an adjacent room and an early breakfast on our departure day which was very much appreciated.

No hesitation in staying here again and recomending to others.

Thank you for a great stay on a very difficult weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crimdon Dene Hotel
Crimdon Dene Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
74Belgravia
74Belgravia
#93 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#58 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trouville

Property: The Trouville
Address: 70 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trouville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Trouville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trouville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing