We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean”
Review of The Trouville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Trouville
Ranked #90 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Small but clean”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here during January 2014 and was given room 1 on the ground floor, the room was spotlessly clean and had good quality modern furnishings, the bathroom was small but well laid out. No evening meals here but there's a pub opposite which offers a varied menu and the food is good standard. Breakfast is a choice of English or continental and the owner seems happy to provide individual breakfast options. This hotel offers really good value for money. Limited on street parking available if car park is full.

Room Tip: Room 1, although a little small has a double and a single bed and is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    32
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
56
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Was welcomed by a lovely man who was very friendly and told us about taxis and best food places to go. Breakfast was lovely & was welcomed by a lovely women. Loads of variety and very tasty. Will be staying here again when we decide to come to Torquay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Fantastic , Highly Recommended. anyone who can put up with us 3 girls deserves a medal.Excellent value for money .Gary was a fantastic host who will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible... Thankyou Gary .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Comfortable room, great location- about 10 minute walk to the beach and city centre. A bit of a squeeze when it comes to parking if you can find any. Lovely home cooked breakfast and very hospitable hosts. Good value, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windermere
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked this B&B blindly off the internet for a family of 4.
Had a family room which is in the basement. It was OK but was quite damp.Bedding felt damp and the room had a damp smell.The ceiling above the window was quite obviously wet and got worse if we slept with the window closed so we had to leave it open which made it quite noisy as this B&B is on a busy road.
The breakfast was good. Help yourself to cereal and juices. Served a cooked breakfast of your choice. Plenty of toast and hot drinks.
It is located on a road up from the main beach and is probably about 10 minutes stroll into the centre of Torquay. Buses stop near by if you dont want the walk.
Plenty of lovely places to eat for your dinner at night - Beefeater at the bottom of the road, usual chain restaurants nearby too. We had a lovely Italian sitting outside by the harbour one night.
Plenty going on the week we were there as it was The Regatta - air displays - red arrows, fireworks etc.
Boats run regularly to Dartmouth and to Brixham and are cheaper than the bus. We went to both. Also visited Paignton, Cockington and Babbacombe.
The great gorilla trail in association with Paignton zoo was on while we were there so we had great fun trying to locate all of these !
All in all a great place to stay.Gary and Gina are great! Would definitely go back to the Trouville and recommend it to others but would ask for a room upstairs!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just had a week at the Trouville and really enjoyed it. The owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed the last week in August 2013 and the place was full.
Firstly the room, well decorated, clean and an abundance of tea,coffee, milk and biscuits left every day. Fresh towels every day without asking. Shower dated but plenty of hot water, shampoo and shower gel and soap. Room also had a flat screen t v and a hair dryer.
Breakfast was served in the front room. It consisted of cereals, yoghurts,fruit and fruit juice. A full breakfast was served according to your choice. Toast and a selection of jams were put on all tables along with tea or coffee.
There was parking at the rear for 5 cars but we managed to park easily down the road.
There was Internet access which we accessed every day, although at times we found it hard to access from our room we were always able to get a signal in the dining room.
Although the carpets throughout could do with updating I think you see past them when you get to know the people who run the place they truly do make you feel at home.It is a long time since we have stayed in a B&B we mostly stay in hotels that often lack that personal touch.This was a friendly place to stay were guests felt quite at home.
Would we stay here again, undoubtedly, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Torquay, it was so lovely to have a proper British holiday with weather that you normally only get abroad!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 it was at the back of the house and downstairs, very quiet and were glad it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinaliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very nice couple make you feel very welcome. Breakfast was very good. Quite too. hotel not big at all very family like. Central to the centre and beach . Very close to Aztec hotel we went there for a meal and swim deal would recommend.

Room Tip: The hotel is only small we have stayed in two rooms we found them fine for what we wanted
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#103 of 149 in Torquay
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#65 of 149 in Torquay
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#57 of 149 in Torquay
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trouville

Property: The Trouville
Address: 70 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trouville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Trouville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trouville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing