We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly family run hotel”
Review of Elmington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elmington Hotel
Ranked #46 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just back from a long weekend in Torquay having spent four nights at the Elmington. We had a great time and the hotel was well worth the money. Buffet breakfast with endless tea/coffee and toast being offered. A lovely 20 minute stroll along the sea front to Torquay Harbour. Plenty of parking and only a 2 minute walk from the train station. The outdoor pool isn't heated but it still looked very inviting and was very clean and on a warm sunny summer's day would I'm sure have been a perfect place to spend the afternoon. Our room was a double on the top floor (I had asked for a quiet room as I've a very light sleeper), with a lovely shower room. It had to be one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in (and I've travelled quite a bit), The view from our window was superb - across to Torquay Harbour. Overall a fabulous fine, friendly family run hotel and I would definitely go back and stay and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour - the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyg2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed 4 nights sept 2012, booked a superior room well worth the little xtra.will definitlely be returning next year. Highly recommended lovely place full of character.with wonderful helpful staff nothing to much trouble .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirrodger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Good location if you dont like the hussle and bustle of town centre. Nice welcoming hotel, friendly family, and helpful.Our room was very large and had a "see" view. Also beautiful view of the well kept garden. Overall I would reccomend. two things - the outdoor pool was closed(: and the pillows are very uncomfortable,

Room Tip: bring your own pillows!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nells130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was a last minute trip, we found the hosts very welcoming, the location was great 5 minutes from the station and the same to the sea front. The buffet help yourself breakfasts was one of the best of I have had; all set in beautiful landscaped gardens. Plenty of parking with 2 car parks to hand, very good for families with young children and toddlers which there seemed several at the time we stayed ( I wouldn’t take to much notice of Lovefortravels review, mistakes do happen and it always seems to be a catalogue of errors once it gets off to a bad start???! plus folk always seem to exaggerate the truth, this was a help yourself breakfast so all you had to order was tea or coffee for your table, Matthew couldn’t do enough for guests always asking if folk wanted more tea or toast ) so as with some posts on TA remember there are reviewers out there who are intent on giving negative feed back just because they got up on the wrong side of bed! We will be revisiting the hotel again next year for another relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wannaswolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here in August. The hotel was comfortable and good value. We had a wonderful four poster bed room which was nicely decorated and had a view of sea. The breakfast was a buffet of English breakfast and cereal. This is a family-run hotel and very friendly. The walk to Torquay centre is approximately 20 minutes along the sea front and it is a 5-minute drive to Paignton. It is also a very short drive to Cockington but I would recommend running there as there is a pleasant walk along the stream. We didn't use the swimming pool as the weather was against us. The hotel has a good size car park at the rear, near the railway station which was handy.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had booked a 3 day holiday at the Elmington Hotel in April 2012 and had plans to visit the Devon area. We found this hotel through Travelzoo website. We read through all the reviews and finally made our booking here.

Here is our feedback:

On reaching the reception, I was told that they received booking only for 2 adults. I showed the landlady proper printed copy of the reservation which clearly showed booking was for 2 adults and one child of less than 2 years old. She got aggressive with her dialogue and blatantly refused to accept it. The holiday was turning all sour from this stage. My wife asked her if she could atleast put a cot in the room. All the landlady cared was for additional money. I could easily see that was not interested to look at my booking papers from travelzoo website. There was no politeness or basic understanding of giving her customer a good experience. We were ushered to a room at the top floor. The room was so small that we barely managed to squeeze in the cot. To leave the room we had push back the cot towards the wall on the otherside and somehow squeeze to open the door.

The room was half decorated but needs serious TLC, For example the window facing the bed had cracked glasses. We avoid even touching it open as we were worried about it falling apart and hurting our toddler.

The bathroom was tacky. Very small , you could see the drain pipes and the tiles and floor mat were done cheap.

We were quite late by that time once we settled down, we went downstairs to eat at the chinese restaurant in the hotel. We were told that the restaurant is closed and only operates for larger groups. This was a NEWS to us. The only reason we made reservation at this hotel was because we could eat in the hotel with our toddler at night !

Breakfast service was no better. We were ignored at our table while the landlady was busy service others.

On the day of the checkout - 3rd day, the landlady asked me to pay few pounds more for the dirty linen and towels ?? I was furious and fuming by this time as the entire holiday had been spoiled. Why do you charge for 3 nights, when you charge seperately for washing your linens from your customers?

The swimming pool is not heated.

The location is far away from the city center. There are no scenic views of the sea coast.

We eventually called this a bad holiday choice at this hotel and vowed never to book through travelzoo website and get carried away with high ratings from such websites.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovefortravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

On first pulling into car park Liza came to greet us with a pleasent hello and welcome.
To the hotel it has a warm and welcoming and friendly feel, nicely decorated and very clean the room we were shown to Number 17 was a large room with four poster bed and a fantastic view of the well maintained gardens, pool and of Torquay and the bay for which we never tired of, the bed its self was extremely comfortable a briliant nights sleep.
Breakfast there was a wide choice from continental to full English served with a smile from Liza's son Alister very pleasent lad.
Liza is a breath of fresh air always pleasent and smiling nothing to much trouble, at the end of our holiday myself and sue felt like friends with Liza not just guests.
I can't recommend The Elmington enough if you are looking for a relaxing,fun loving place to stay
you should consider this hotel. carl and Sue.

Room Tip: Try for rooms 16 or 17 seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danmanbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#35 of 85 in Torquay
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.5 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#27 of 85 in Torquay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#50 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#28 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmington Hotel

Address: St. Agnes Lane | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £50 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming couples and families, this superb hotel is situated in a quiet location, a few minutes’ walk from Torquay seafront, the town centre, Torre Abbey and the English Riviera Conference Centre. All of our spacious bedrooms have en-suite facilities and are decorated to an excellent standard. Our four poster beds in our deluxe superior rooms ensure a romantic getaway for those who require a relaxing weekend or even a break from the kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmington Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing