We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derwent Hill apartments”

Derwent Hill Holiday Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derwent Hill Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break at Derwent Hill. In a word "fabulous". The apartment was very well equiped and immaculately clean. We were even provided with a pint of milk in the fridge on arrival. The hosts, Helen and Andy were extremely helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. The garden was beautiful and a safe haven for our 6yr old son at the end of the day. There was also ample parking. We will be returning soon, hopefully for a longer period.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Cannot reccomend these holiday apartemnts enough. Great value for money, excellent hosts in Andy & Helen and nothing was too much trouble for either of them. Lovely personal welcome from Andy who offered to carry our bags up to our apartment where upon viewing we were amazed by the size of the apartment (Flat 5) and more importantly to me was the extreme level of cleanliness.

Another lovely gesture was the welcome pack of tea,coffee and biscuits left in the apartment together with a pint of milk in the fridge.

Again, I cannot reccomend these apartments enough for their level of cleanliness,location, very well equipped and excellent value for money and excellent hosts. Will definately return!

Alun,Theresa & Adam

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

We have recently returned from a short break at Derwent Hills. The apartments are great. My daughter and I shared one apt and my mum and dad were in another. Both were well equipped and extremely clean. The garden is lovely with sea views and there are lots of ball games available. It is about a 10 minute walk to town albeit a steep walk back! Andy sent a text to say our apartment was ready the morning we left and was there when we arrived with a warm welcome. Would recommend to anyone and will hopefully return.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Have just come back from a long weekend in Derwent Hill Holiday appartments, we had a two bed two storey appartment. Helen and Andy welcomed us as we arrived and say us off as we left. A welcome pack was provided and milk in the fridge, this was just one of the lovely touches. The accommodation was immaculate,cleanest i have stayed in, cleaning stuff, cling film etc were all provided.
Would reccommend this to families and couples. Lovely garden peacful and only a half hour walk into Torquay, a little longer back. A bus service opperates frequently, even on bank holidays
would definately go back again

Room Tip: very large on two floors, like having your own house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have just spent a week in Derwent Hill, From booking the apartments to arrival and departure Helen & Andy couldn't have been more accomodating, The apartment was very well set out, impeccably clean and the views from our windows were outstanding.
There was ample Parking and town was only 20 min walk in.
I cannot recommend these Apartments enough. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bezzabear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just returned home following a 7 day break at Derwent Hill. The apartments are located in a quiet area of Torquay on a hillside within a 20 minute walk from the habour and town centre (for the less energenic Torquay has good parking facilities so driving there is easy plus there is a good bus route nearby).

The apartments themselves are very spacious and have a well equiped kitchen. They were also very clean and pleasantly decorated. Our apartment also had a sea view (circa 1.5 miles away) which was very nice.

The heated outdoor pool was very good and on most days we had it to ourselves (it is open circa 3hr per day, normally 14.30 to 17.30). This was set in a very nice garden area where there was also a number of facilities for the children (swings, slides and football goals etc).

There is plenty to do in Torquay and the surrounding area.

We went to Woodlands Theme Park which is 30 mins away by car (this has water roller coasters, pirate ship, various other rides, indoor play area with drop slides and animals etc), on a boat trip to Dartmouth (£13 return in total for all 3 of us) which was a superb day out, on a boat trip to Brixham (£7 return in total for all 3 of us) which isn't quite as picturesque as Dartmouth but is still well worth a visit and Cockington Village (hall, cricket pitch, pub, art and craft shops, various other shops etc) which is within walking distance of the apartments and a must see.

Paignton is a short drive away and we visited the Zoo there which is a very good day out. Paignton also has a number of good beaches and we spent a number of evenings walking along the sea front.

Other things of note are the fish and chip shops in the area which were all very good (we tried a number and were never disappointed), the local fairs and Torquay itself which has a very good shopping centre

All in all a great holiday

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We spent a week in Derwent Hill Holiday Apartments, Torquay and had a lovely family holiday. Helen, Andy and family were so helpful and could not have done more to make our stay any better. They were always able to answer any questions about traveling around Torbay and were able to make really good suggestions for child friendly excursions.

The apartment was spacious and spotlessly clean. Views from both the lounge and bedroom were stunning. It was really well stocked with everything you would need from Iron and ironing table to microwave and Dyson.

We just loved the heated swimming pool. It was cleaned daily and added a real Riviera feel to the holiday! There were plenty of sun loungers and the kids were kept busy playing with the floats, balls etc provided.

There was plenty of parking available within the grounds. We had a great time at Derwent Hill.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fallon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,139 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,011 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 86 in Torquay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#58 of 150 in Torquay
70 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 86 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Hill Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Hill Holiday Apartments

Address: Derwent Hill Greenway Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Derwent Hill Holiday Apartments Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing