We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest welcome we have received in devon, were coming back”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Kistor gave us a really friendly warm welcome, we were walk in guests and Peter the GM and his staff were friendly, accomodating and extremely helpful at all times.
The hotel is clean and smelt fresh.
The beds are comfy, rooms well appointed with hospitality tray and a proper kettle, none of these tiny little kettles.
Great view of the sea.
Friendly banter was enjoyed and made the stay even better.
The Kistor is a hotel i would recommend to anyone, you are guaranteed a great break.

Room Tip: Great sea views
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dazpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2011

Thank you for your kind observations. A warm friendly welcome costs nothiong and we are very happy to provide that. But hope to continue in the same vein throughout the week. I like to think that all our managers and staff are friendly & helpful. As far as I'm aware every one who works here does so because they enjoy being here. This comes through by the way they interact with guests.I'd be interested to hear of other reviewers comments on this issue.

Thank you.
PS Sorry about the wind!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kistor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

Superb,superb,superb.Can't wait 2 go back. Peter G n mum

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckypete33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

As we approached the Hotel we couldn't miss it as it is painted a ghastly pink colour. We checked in. The receptionist was friendly & pleasant. She suggested that we could change our room to one with a seaview.
We entered the lift which was one of the smallest I have ever been in.
On entering our room we weren't at all pleased. The furniture was battered & scratched. I have thrown away better furniture in a skip!
The shower curtain was filthy. The portable tv only had 2 working channels. The pillows smelt musty. Overall the room was in a desperate need of refurbishment.
We were unable to use the shower for the duration of our stay as the water was either scalding hot or freezing cold. Luckily there was a bath to use.
The evening dinner was appalling. Awful curry flavoured soup which was meant to be spring vegetable. The roast pork was processed & inferior. The lemon meringue was so hard we couldn't cut into it.
The waiters/waitresses were efficient & pleasant. The food did not improve at all for the duration of our stay.
The evening entertainment was dull & boring. The bingo was made more entertaining by the caller.
The breakfast was very basic. Half the plate was covered with fried bread there were no extras like hash browns or mushrooms.
Although the hotel wasn't expensive it should have been at a higher standard than it was. Next door was a Premier Inn which we wished we'd have booked into

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrissy176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

This review has produced a mixture of emotions in me ranging from disappointment to anger.
Whilst I am happy to answer any valid critiicism I really find it quite unbelievable that any one would spend a whole week at a hotel and keep such a ;large range of complaints to themselves, waiting to get home and then write them in to a review site.
I personally do a courtesy visit to each table at breakfast and ask if every thing is OK. If not then action can be taken to alleviate the problem.
There are statements in this review that are absolutely true. We have been experiencing problems with our digital TV channels and have now located the problem and hope to have it fixed very soon. Yes, the hotel is pink, but only on the outside.
The lift holds up to four people and I have been in many lifts which hold two and a few only one. At least under normal circumstances you have the lift to yourself and your nearest and dearest.
The problem you experienced with the shower is easily answered. As many of the rooms have a mixer tap for the shower the water must be mixed to a suitable temperature and then lift the lever and the shower should be just as you like it.
As regards to the meals, we offer a range of starters, main dishes including fish, meat & vegetarian options. We buy all our meat fresh roast it ourselves and slice it ourselves too. Perhaps that's what you mean by processed. I eat our meals and enjoy them too as do most guests that appreciate good home style food.
As you state the hotel is not expensive to stay at and we think the tariff fairly reflects the standard and facilities that we offer.
I hope that this response is helpful and that it answers the main problems raised.
from The Bingo Caller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We had read the reviews and were a little concerned but on arrival it was obvious that the people who had given bad reports would complain for complaining sake. We found the hotel welcoming, the Manager (Peter) could not do enough for us. The other staff were friendly and obliging. Ok the hotel needs a refurbishment but we would prefer homely to showhousey. The entertainment was excellent as was the food.
All in all what do you want from a holiday if not enjoyment and we certainly got plenty of that from the Manager. From the family of 4 in the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davmar1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Thank you, I am delighted that you had a great time. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, room was fine, the food very good and the service in the restaurant was second to none. Our waiter, Christopher, was extremely polite, nothing was too much trouble and he always had a smile on his face. He would be an ideal waiter in a Michel Roux restaurant. The entertainment was very good but the icing on the cake was Peter the Manager calling out the bingo numbers. He was absolutely hilarious, we have never seen anyone like him, he was just like Basil Fawlty, everyone was in stitches. It was a great experience and we would certainly go back just to hear Peter again calling the bingo.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Win S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

Thank you for such a complimentary review. Yes, Krystov is a fine and efficient waiter. He is always the first to arrive for all his shifts in order to ensure that as near perfection can be achieved. However all our waiting staff are great in one way or another and I am proud to have them work here at The Kistor.
As far as Basil is concerned I think that trip to Barcelona did him no good at all! Glad you had a laugh, that's all part of it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My wife and I have just returned from this hotel after a 5 day coach break. We found it very
welcoming and the staff, from the manager downwards very helpful and friendly at all times.It is well placed for the beach and the Marina , Harbour and the Town Centre a short walk away down the Promenade. The Inhouse Entertainment and Happy Hour wre very good also. Unfortunately on the last day we had news from home of an emergency at home but the Hotel Manager was extremely helpful and sympathetic and let us use the Reception Facilities until the situation was resolved. A big thankyou to all concerned,and we would certainly return to this location.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLLandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2011

Were all pleased to hear that your mum was safe and hope the stay in hospital is a short one.
Thank you for your kind words and we certainly look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We had organised a holiday for 19 senior citizens, some very eldely and some disabled. The care and attention could not have been better. The position of the hotel was its selling point and we were not disappointed. The rooms were good - some excellent. Some were on the small side for this type of guest and all bathrooms seemed very small and inconvenient. The food was plentiful and well cooked. The service in the restaurant cannot be faulted. It was always very speedy and professional. The restaurant staff were well trained and friendly. The manager, Peter, was always helpful, friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank VonViva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Thank you not only for the review but also for being such fun throughout your stay.
Yes, it is true that some of our bathrooms are quite small. The reason is that iwhen the hotel was converted from a Victorian Villa it was not the norm to have en suite rooms. Shared bathrooms were the thing! However as we became more sophisticated and demanding en suite rooms became a necessary standard. So, some rooms were enlarged and some rooms lost space in order to accommodate the bathroom.
As a consequence some of the bathrooms as you say were created out existing space and are not terribly huge but are functional, however not all are suitable for disabled guests.Upon booking it is always advisable to make it quite clear what specific requirements need to be met.
Generally though a good time was had by all despite the bathrooms! Take care and we all look forward to another visit soon!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#43 of 87 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#20 of 87 in Torquay
1,129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#85 of 87 in Torquay
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing