We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

arrived at the hotel, on checking in found out lift out of order, have a husband who is very ill & struggles with stairs, given key to room to find a very very tired looking room, paper coming off walls, thread bare carpets, bathroom was just dreadful, bath was stained. on a plus side, manager arranged a mobility scooter for my husband, breakfast was small but ok, maybe leaving toast on show already cooked when kitchen door open not a good idea, & chef should learn to swear a bit more quietly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
What an angry review! Yes, the lift was broken down and has taken a long time to repair as a faulty part had to be made from scratch as they are no loger available. if you were here you'd realise just how upset we all were at the distress this break caused to our guests. Where possible alternative rooms were offered in one of our other hotels. We could not have foreseen this breakdown as we have a maintenance contract with a reputable lift engineering company and they would have notified us if there had been a chance of this happening.
We have spoken with guests who have had problems and tried to deal with them on an individual basis. I am sorry if I failed in your case to resolve your issues other than the lift but I do need to be made aware of your concerns whilst you are actually in the hotel.
Agreed some of our rooms are tired but it must be said that there is a difference between tired and dirty. If you take the time to read other reviews cleanliness has not been an issue recently. in fact quite the opposite.
I have taken the chef to task but in fairness it is not the chef but a server who has now been suitably reprimanded for loud and colourful use of the English language.
As to the toast issue. It is made in the kitchen and then put into racks prior to being served. Extra toast is always available and you can order what ever you want for breakfast. You can have a large or small one It's upto you. The waiter just needs to know when he takes your order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    99
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
42
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Hotel itself is very well located to the sea front and beach, although it is just a short walk to the harbour and town centre.
The service that is provided by the Hotel staff is excellent. All the staff and management at the Hotel is hospitable and very polite and friendly.
The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard of cleanliness.
The food is reasonably good.
What I liked about the Hotel is that the management and staff at the hotel treated me very well and with respect. The evevning entertainment was excellent.
The only downside of the hotel is that it does need redecorating but its accepetable as it is.

Room Tip: The best rooms attend to be the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catweazle1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you for drawing attention to 3 key worrds that provide us with so many repeat bookings.
Location Service Entertainment All these help bring guests back to us time after time! We enjoy a great location just minutes away from the sea front, bus stops, attractions etc. Our service is legendary and the entertainment is enjoyed by both holiday makers and locals alike!
Great review thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Had another great time here at the Kistor Hotel, Food great, staff very helpful, room or boudoir as they like to call it was very comfortable, and was kept clean and tidy. Very well situated quite close to to centre of Torquay, steady 10 minute walk. hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonic009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Cleer, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My Husband and I and two other couples stayed at the Kistor last year August 2010 for my birthday and our wedding anniversary.
The hotel is in a great position and has the friendliest staff i have ever come across in any hotel we have ever stayed.
If you want the Ritz dont stay here the furniture is not of a five star standard and that is the only negative thing i could think of to say about this hotel.
The money we paid for a 3 night stay was quite frankly amazing value for money. We had a really nice stay and the entertainment was really good just like the old fashioned holiday camp would have been, so much so we actually on ventured out for a meal and then came back to the hotel. I have written this now because i have just read an alarming comment made by customers about the integrity of the staff....let me assure you they are as good as any 5 star hotel infact i would say they are a lot nicer as in friendly, helpful and very accomodating. The bar staff are really friendly and make you want to stay and drink, not to venture down to the town. I would most certainly stay here again and so would my friends. Like I said dnt expect the Ritz and PLEASE think about the value for money you aregetting here...it is I think unbeatable. I am at present trying to book again and we have stayed in the dearer hotels better furniture but that is all!!! Well done Kistor hotel from 6 very satisfied customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room on booking this hotel is very busy and you cant pick and choose when you arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gunning1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for this belated but none the less welcome review. Your observations are both candid and accurate. We do offer great deals representing true value for money. Yes, you can stay in new hotels and pay extra for breakfast, evening meals, with no entertainment or leisure facilities. But, as you know generally we provide all that for less than you'd pay for the room in some hotels. So, another thank you and we hope to provide you with the accommodation you so rightly deserve.
See You Soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have just returned from a lovely week at the Kistor Hotel. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. We had a lovely clean and spacious room which had a lovely view overlooking the bowling green. Our son Adrian who has Special Needs was made very welcome especially by Eileen and thanks to Peter the manager he is absolutely hooked on Bingo. The food was brilliant and so much of it with a very quick and efficient staff. The entertainment was also very good. All in all it was a real value for money holiday and all I can say to the people who moan about this lovely hotel is go to a 5 star hotel and pay their prices. Thanks once again to Peter, Eileen and all the staff at the Kistor Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin5085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you ever so much for the review. It was our pleasure to host your stay here at the Kistor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday.
I hope that graham is practicing his bingo calls so that he could call a few numbers next
year!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We spent a four night stay in the Kistor. The hotel was clean and the bedrooms were clean, however the bedrooms and bathrooms were tired and in need of refurbishment. The food was excellent for the price and the service was friendly and fast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always pleased to hear theses compliments and yes, some bedrooms and bathrooms are in need of some tlc. But that is reflected in our fantastic offers.
We all look forward to your early return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Great hotel, very god service and fantastic food! Great view over torbay form the hotel. Very nice seating area outside. Access to three different pools, and not even very expensive!!

Bernhard

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernhardLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Fantastic review! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#70 of 87 in Torquay
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Property: Hotel Kistor
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing